Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: XTL2500 going into emergency alarm upon low voltage.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    SE TN
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts

    Default XTL2500 going into emergency alarm upon low voltage.

    Has anybody seen this happen before? I didn't know if it was firmware related or has just always been there and I never noticed it.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location
    Avalon
    Posts
    1,207
    Thanks
    291
    Thanked 322 Times in 157 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I've seen this on one 800mhz xtl2500 control base, if you turn off the power supply switch with the radio on it would send an emergency sometimes.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks
    798
    Thanked 1,345 Times in 664 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Hmm. I wonder if you can change the polarity of the signal? If the signal is active high (+12V activates it) instead of active low (grounding it activates it) that might make it not false on low voltage, or vice versa. I'm not sure if you can change the polarity but that might help, perhaps?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    SE TN
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Ya I'm not sure what it's doing. I'm going up to the VFD to check it out tomorrow. I just thought I'd see if anyone here has experienced this before. The radio in question is a XTL2500 base station that's on a power supply at the hall. There are also 2 more 2500's in their trucks that are doing the same thing. So should be an interesting morning.

    Thanks y'all.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    SE TN
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    I got it fixed. The channels used are trunking so I went into all of the personalities and in the emergency tab, I disabled Emergency Alarm. Reprogrammed the radio and unplugged the AC side of the power supply and then powered it back on, in order to simulate a switch over to generator power, and no emergency activation upon power up. Interesting things we figure out sometimes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks
    798
    Thanked 1,345 Times in 664 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    So, is that turning off Emergency completely, or is Alarm just the external man-down input?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    SE TN
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    So, is that turning off Emergency completely, or is Alarm just the external man-down input?
    I would assume that disables emergency all together. On this system the mobile and base radios do not transmit emergency at all. I'm not sure why that is, but that's the way it is here. Only portable radios are allowed to transmit emergency alarms. So knowing that I really can't verify if that setting disables emergency all together or disables the man-down input.

    That is something to test out tomorrow on the bench with one of our spare radios.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,416
    Thanks
    3,661
    Thanked 6,329 Times in 1,807 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    What firmware was in the problematic radio(s)? I skimmed over the firmware release notes, but didn't see anything related to low-voltage/false emergency. Maybe this is a new bug?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    SE TN
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    They were all version 10.00.00 host and dsp. Old as crap as far as I'm concerned.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,416
    Thanks
    3,661
    Thanked 6,329 Times in 1,807 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Yeah. Hard to fault Moto here if they're at version 10 firmware. Who knows what major enhancements have been made since July 2007, when R10 was released. That **** needs to be upgraded ASAP, if being used in a public safety application. I realize it's likely not your decision -- you're just the tech Upgrades cost money.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    SE TN
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Yep all these 2500's replaced LCS2000's during rebanding from Nextel and the radios haven't been touched since at least with a refresh key for firmware. I agree all of them need to be lifted to the latest as of this writing. But at $75 a radio I'd be laughed out of the room for even suggesting such a thing. So oh well.

    Anyways back to the test I have tested this scenario on one of our shop spares here on the bench and I can't get it to fail in the same way it would at the VFD hall. This radios firmware is 15.00.08/15.00.05. So this could be firmware related.