Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: MPL Codes XTS5000

  1. #1
    kaanohi No Longer Registered

    Default MPL Codes XTS5000

    I inputted FRS/GMRS freqs into the radio. I inputted the PL/CTCSS into the MPL. I can't manually select PL on the display. What am I doing wrong?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 644 Times in 290 Posts

    Default

    did you enable the option in the Zone asignment/user selectable PL. You also need to select MPL as one of the menu items so that you can change the tone using the keypad buttons Display & Menu/Menu Items

  3. #3
    kaanohi No Longer Registered

    Default

    Yes in the zone channel assignment/user selectable PL (MPL) is check, and in the display menu MPL is one of the selected items.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Posts
    100
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Country: United States

    Default

    is the personality set to astro?
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    I've never really bothered 'playing' with ADP (it's like owning a Harley but still riding a tricycle)

  5. #5
    kaanohi No Longer Registered

    Default

    non-astro..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Location
    Hungary, EU
    Posts
    460
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked 42 Times in 28 Posts
    Country: Hungary

    Default

    Hi all,

    Sorry for the dumb question, but I have never worked with ASTRO25 CPS before:

    Is it really possible to set the PL codes from an ASTRO25 radio's keypad (mobile or portable)? I've been missing this feature since the analog Spectra and the X9000 Syntor.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks
    793
    Thanked 1,344 Times in 664 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Yes, by two methods, you can use "User Selectable PL" or MPL like the radios of old, or you can use FPP which includes the ability to change PL, DPL, or NAC from the keypad (portables with FPP only). If a radio has FPP I usually don't waste time with using MPL, since it's kind of redundant. MPL is easier to deal with on the fly, and is the only option for ASTRO25 mobiles.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Alpha For This Useful Post:

    HA5BRG (May 07, 2014)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Location
    Hungary, EU
    Posts
    460
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked 42 Times in 28 Posts
    Country: Hungary

    Default

    Wow Today I have learned someting new I must get a Vocon for my AS+ to know more about the ASTRO25 product line!

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks
    793
    Thanked 1,344 Times in 664 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    They do have a few very nice features that were "forgotten" on the Astro Saber/Spectra lines, like MPL and Quick-Call II. It's too bad they had such a short life-cycle time, as they are very useful and functional units. Fortunately the 2500's are still being supported, but the 5K's are already on their death-bed. The APX line does NOT have QCII, in a big step backward. I'm not sure if they support MPL or not...

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Alpha For This Useful Post:

    HA5BRG (May 07, 2014)

  12. #10
    Will No Longer Registered

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaanohi View Post
    I inputted FRS/GMRS freqs into the radio. ?
    That radio is NOT Type Certificated for FRS or GMRS.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Will For This Useful Post:

    Alpha (May 07, 2014)