Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problem with Astro Saber and S records

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Problem with Astro Saber and S records

    Good evening all,

    I'm trying to restore my Astro Saber VHF (1 meg) after getting a Fail 02/90 error. I replaced the vocon with one I aquired off Ebay. I now get a fail 01/92 on the screen when I turn it on. I know the vocon is from an 800 radio and is 1 meg so I am trying to restore it using an VHF S record I got from this site. I tried using astrolab and MTSX lab (version 02.00.01 I think) but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I go by the steps listed on this site and batlabs. I have the s record on a floppy disk and I can't seem to figure out how to properly get loaded into lab and how to write it to the radio. I know I did this years ago to restore an MTS2000 from an S record but can't seem to find out what I'm doing wrong. I searched this site an the internet without finding the specifics of what I need to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Jim


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,852
    Thanks
    164
    Thanked 642 Times in 289 Posts

    Default

    this will read your good srecord and program it into the radio using v2.00.01 MTSXlab from main menu F6>F4>F10>F4>F8

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you for the info. I'll give it a shot when I get home and let you know how I make out.

    Jim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok, I fired up the computer tonight and tried to do it but no good. I hit F6 from the main menu which brought me to the File Maintenance Menu but there is no F4 listed. I even tried hitting F4 in case it was there but was hidden or something but nothing. Any ideas?

    Jim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 92 Times in 48 Posts

    Default

    What software are you using? If you use IM's at all I am kb9kst on YIM and AIM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I sent you a PM.

    Jim

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 23, 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I got it to work. Thank you again to all.

    Jim

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 92 Times in 48 Posts

    Default

    Using astro lab from main menu go F3 (read/write) -> F6 (arch/srec)
    Type in the directory and file name (my format is usually C:/XXXX.S1)
    F4 (read s-rec)
    Now it should say in the upper right that the s-rec was read successfully. If not you have a problem (bad s-rec, wrong directory/file name, etc)
    F10 (exit) to back out one menu level you should now be in get/save/program menu
    F4 (merge tcms)->F8 (write t o radio) It should now write the s-record into the radio.

    Posted for info.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,852
    Thanks
    164
    Thanked 642 Times in 289 Posts

    Default

    My info was for MTSX lab.