Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 29

Thread: JT1000 video

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default JT1000 video



    Im currently repairing the displays in these radios (missing lines). Great condition, and fully restored after repair. The client may wish to resell them soon. If you are interested, send me a PM and I will contact you if they become available.

    The JT1000 is too cool not to have made this video


  2. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (Apr 12, 2018),cyrus (Apr 09, 2018),d119 (Apr 12, 2018),drahtlos04 (Apr 23, 2018),Gtaman (Apr 09, 2018),MTS2000DES (Apr 13, 2018),Navy_BOFH (Apr 09, 2018),p25smartzone (Apr 13, 2018),SwissMoto (Apr 09, 2018),Viper1-6 (Apr 09, 2018)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 11, 2011
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    234
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 145 Times in 49 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    280kj9.jpg
    Can you ship them with french fried pertaters?

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Pezking For This Useful Post:

    motorola_otaku (Apr 10, 2018),RFI-EMI-GUY (Apr 28, 2018)

  5. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Weirdo Pezking. (Hes my friend IRL)

    Im not offering anything for sale. Otherwise I would post a proper thread in the classified area. Honestly, Ive never seen the JT1000 FPP before. I knew of its existence, but never actually saw one up close and personal to play with the menu, etc. Great radio for its time!

    Too bad Mr. Laheys everyday carry was a GP300. This wouldve been way more cooler!

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (Apr 12, 2018)

  7. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 31, 2015
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    282
    Thanked 347 Times in 138 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    They were awesome radios. When I started doing SAR in ~2002 I was lusting after one that our comms officer had. Then the P25 revolution came around and I thought "oh well I guess it's not that fancy anymore"

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Navy_BOFH For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Apr 09, 2018)

  9. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location
    Columbus Ohio
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    338
    Thanked 190 Times in 97 Posts
    Country: UK

    Default

    I had one up until last year. I did sell if after I replaced the display. It was a demo unit from Day Wireless. Absolutely stunning condition. It had the firmware mod to allow it to work without the dongle.
    RAS .......... Retard Avoidance System.

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gtaman For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (Apr 12, 2018),Mars (Apr 09, 2018)

  11. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA/QUEBEC
    Posts
    478
    Thanks
    74
    Thanked 213 Times in 129 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Any low split UHF? GARY.

  12. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default JT1000 video

    Quote Originally Posted by N4KVE View Post
    Any low split UHF? GARY.
    I wish! All K-split VHF. But Im sure with the right tools, someone could make 403-470 happen.

    Ive been given the go ahead to sell these. Once Im finished repairing them, I will post a proper ad in the classified section.

  13. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    apx (May 14, 2018),com501 (Apr 09, 2018)

  14. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location
    Columbus Ohio
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    338
    Thanked 190 Times in 97 Posts
    Country: UK

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    I wish! All K-split VHF. But I’m sure with the right “tools“, someone could make 403-470 happen.

    I’ve been given the go ahead to sell these. Once I’m finished repairing them, I will post a proper ad in the classified section.
    Mine was a 450 to 512 split if I recall. I’m pretty sure it took 440Mhz via FPP without an issue.
    RAS .......... Retard Avoidance System.

  15. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Im not familiar with this line at all, but does anyone know if there was a 900 MHz JT 1000? I wonder if it covered the ham band in the FPP mode...

  16. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    987
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 747 Times in 275 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The model chart in the service manual shows only VHF and UHF models.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Number 6 For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Apr 10, 2018)

  18. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Another thing I forgot to mention earlier, with regards to federal FPP:

    From batlabs.com, the codeplug edit (0x0070) to change 80 to 00, works. But what I also found very cool: If you have a federal FPP codeplug open in the RSS, and CLONE it into a radio that doesn't have federal FPP, the target radio will also have federal FPP once the codeplug is written to the radio (model number must match). RSS does not check to see if the federal FPP flag is disabled in the target radio, before allowing a federal FPP to overwrite and retain it.

  19. The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (Apr 12, 2018),box (Apr 11, 2018),cyrus (Apr 11, 2018),Gtaman (Apr 11, 2018),Navy_BOFH (Apr 11, 2018),NSPD (Apr 28, 2018),Number 6 (Apr 11, 2018),SPECIAL_EYE (May 12, 2018),VA2PE (Apr 28, 2018)

  20. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA/QUEBEC
    Posts
    478
    Thanks
    74
    Thanked 213 Times in 129 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Years ago when the JT1000 was first introduced, my friend was hired as a temp to help Motorola catch up on production. Every morning he was given brand new MTX2000’s, a box of components, & new JT1000 serial number decals. Following the instructions, he disassembled the radios, changed a few components on the controller board, reassembled the radio, & attached the new serial number decal. These were not flashport radios like the MTS2000. Later on, the factory built the proper controller board for the JT1000, but the first batch were modified MTX radios. A few months later, Motorola was all caught up, & my friend was laid off. This all happened at the factory in Plantation Florida. Sadly, my friend Robert Broderick WE4B passed away about 5 years ago. But this was the one story he told me about his 6 month stint at Motorola. GARY

  21. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to N4KVE For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (Apr 12, 2018),Mars (Apr 11, 2018),p25smartzone (Apr 13, 2018)

  22. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2013
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 72 Times in 38 Posts

    Default

    I actually have a dongle for the JT1000 to enable FPP - no JT1000 - but now I'm looking for one to use the dongle with ;-)

  23. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aloha View Post
    I actually have a dongle for the JT1000 to enable FPP - no JT1000 - but now I'm looking for one to use the dongle with ;-)
    Hate to be the bearer of "bad" (good?) news, but all of the ones I'm prepping for sale are pre-modified with Federal FPP. No dongle required. Save the accessory port for a speaker-mic! :P

  24. #15
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 257 Times in 127 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    How much will the units be selling for? That's one radio I've never owned.

  25. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 29, 2013
    Location
    Left Coast
    Posts
    578
    Thanks
    264
    Thanked 524 Times in 202 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I'd possibly be interested in one. I used to have a JT1000 VHF with the Fed FPP option. It was a nice radio and wouldn't mind owning one again if the price is right.

  26. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 25, 2012
    Location
    Northern Arizona
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    You have inspired me to located my old radios with this post. UHF and VHF Jt1000's located and new batteries ordered, now to see if my win 95 machine will fire up.

  27. The Following User Says Thank You to azfireguy For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Apr 13, 2018)

  28. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I'm going to post an ad up over the weekend. To be clear:

    - They do not come with a battery
    - They do not come with an antenna

    They will be $75/each + shipping.

    If you wish to have it aligned to spec before I ship it out, the cost will be an additional $25.

    I'm basically giving them away for free, since I put an hour into each radio already, repairing the screens. I have to charge for my time if someone wants the alignment. No display has any missing lines. I usually bill $50/hour for my time, so that makes the radio worth $25? The client wouldn't sell them for that, so I'm eating the cost.

    Proper ad forthcoming.

  29. #19
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    204
    Thanked 257 Times in 127 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I will take a unit depending on shipping costs. How are you doing the screen repairs?

  30. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Hey guys,

    Still playing catchup from a busy weekend. Had a priority project that trumped everything else, and just got it done. Tomorrow I'll be benching the radios, and getting the ad up.

    d119: Removed display assembly. Placed double-layered tea towel over ribbon cable/glue area. Used clothes iron to steam/soften the glue, and used pressure to reconnect any open connections from flex-->board.

    No water damage to any part of the radio. Screens working 100%.

    This is the only method I would recommend for repairing those LCDs.

  31. The Following User Says Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    d119 (Apr 25, 2018)

  32. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 375 Times in 160 Posts
    Country: Australia

    Default

    From the video above, the displays look as good as new! This techinque works very well!

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    ...Removed display assembly. Placed double-layered tea towel over ribbon cable/glue area. Used clothes iron to steam/soften the glue, and used pressure to reconnect any open connections from flex-->board.

  33. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 22 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    d119: Removed display assembly. Placed double-layered tea towel over ribbon cable/glue area. Used clothes iron to steam/soften the glue, and used pressure to reconnect any open connections from flex-->board. This is the only method I would recommend for repairing those LCDs.
    Second this method - I have performed this fix on numerous MTS2000s displays and it's very effective!

    Here's a pic of the display flex (before the fix) - after the fix looks like a new display with 100% pixels working

    Jedi Display Flex.JPG
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by comms.mc; Apr 17, 2018 at 06:03 AM. Reason: Attached picture of flex

  34. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,130
    Thanks
    2,772
    Thanked 4,921 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    The displays I was working on were 100% dead. No pixels whatsoever. After fix, all pixels functional again. I had to do a second round on a few of them, but still 100% resolved in the end.

    The key is patience and pressure. And whatever anyone does, DO NOT do this without using a towel between the board/iron. You'll crack/melt the LEDs from the keypad area.

  35. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 31, 2015
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    282
    Thanked 347 Times in 138 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Makes me think of the Yaesu FT-857D and their dot matrix LCD. They'll de-laminate from the PCB in high heat and the new boards get soldered down... except you cannot just "fix" the old LCD boards usually because by the time they go out - so does the driver chip.

  36. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 01, 2016
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    311
    Thanked 22 Times in 11 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    The displays I was working on were 100% dead. No pixels whatsoever. After fix, all pixels functional again. I had to do a second round on a few of them, but still 100% resolved in the end.

    The key is patience and pressure. And whatever anyone does, DO NOT do this without using a towel between the board/iron. You'll crack/melt the LEDs from the keypad area.
    Will a similar fix work for a HT1550 with missing pixels?