Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Upgrade to P25?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 17, 2012
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Upgrade to P25?

    I have a XTS 2500 as a spare radio and I'm wondering what it would take (and the cost) to upgrade it so it could do Project 25 digital. Right now it has SmartZone, FlashCode 500018-000410-3, with Q575 & Q883.
    I'm the guy standing in background shaking his head when people show a complete lack of common sense....

    "The very nature of public safety work causes Charles Darwin to spin in his grave."


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 14, 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 155 Times in 74 Posts

    Default

    if thats your flashcode it has P25 already...

    Decoding Flashcode: 500018-000410-3
    Platform: XTS2500
    Q806: ASTRO IMBE Digital Operation(P25)
    H14: Enhanced Digital ID Display
    Q883: 3600/9600 Interoperability/Mixed Mode Signalling
    H38: SmartZone Systems Operation
    Q173: SmartZone Omnilink MultiZone Operation
    Q575: 3600 Baud Trunking (Analog/Digital Voice)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 17, 2012
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    OK, thanks for the quick reply. When I bought the radio 3 1/2 years ago, I was told that it did not do P25, but could be upgraded. One of the guys in our local fire buff club is the administrator for one of the area radio systems. I'll have him read it next time i see him.
    I'm the guy standing in background shaking his head when people show a complete lack of common sense....

    "The very nature of public safety work causes Charles Darwin to spin in his grave."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 17, 2018
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 11 Times in 5 Posts
    Country: Iceland

    Default

    Not sure if you were asking about P25 CAI (Digital Voice) or the P25 Trunking protocol. If you mean P25 Trunking (Q361) then yes, you'll need an upgrade based on the flashcode you provided.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 17, 2012
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Yeah safe, I meant p25 trunking. Thanks. Anyone have any idea what an upgrade like that would cost?
    I'm the guy standing in background shaking his head when people show a complete lack of common sense....

    "The very nature of public safety work causes Charles Darwin to spin in his grave."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks
    793
    Thanked 1,344 Times in 664 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Here's a thread where the legitimate upgrade prices are discussed: https://www.p25.ca/threads/616-First...MOT-info-first

    Read post #27 onward...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 30, 2012
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 59 Times in 29 Posts

    Default

    I had thought that this option would mean it did both 3600 & 9600 baud (ie: P25 digital) trunking?

    Q883: 3600/9600 Interoperability/Mixed Mode Signalling

    The Q361 "P25 trunking only" option would not be needed in this case.

  8. #8
    twistedpos No Longer Registered

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ice-T View Post
    I had thought that this option would mean it did both 3600 & 9600 baud (ie: P25 digital) trunking?

    Q883: 3600/9600 Interoperability/Mixed Mode Signalling

    The Q361 "P25 trunking only" option would not be needed in this case.
    The mixed mode is just that, mixed... it's both. It is not 100% P25 nor 100% Astro 25.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 30, 2012
    Posts
    226
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 59 Times in 29 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twistedpos View Post
    The mixed mode is just that, mixed... it's both. It is not 100% P25 nor 100% Astro 25.
    Yes, that's what I was saying. He doesn't need a flash for P25, it's already capable of it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 17, 2018
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 11 Times in 5 Posts
    Country: Iceland

    Default

    Good to know. Does this provide a more limited featureset than Q361?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks
    793
    Thanked 1,344 Times in 664 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    The 2500 is a "limited" version of the XTS5000, basically. The 5000's have 3600 already turned on if you select 9600 (Q361). The 2500's don't automatically get 3600, without the Q883 option. This only applies to 2500's because the 5000's have it already on out of the box, so to speak, so there is no Q883 option for the 5k's.

  12. #12
    twistedpos No Longer Registered

    Default

    Mixed mode is not fully P25. It is a combination of both Astro and P25 and will not work with a 100% P25 system. He will have to have the Q361feature.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 17, 2012
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    One of the five public safety trunking systems in my area was built new as a P25 system, so I'm sure it's not a mixed system..
    I'm the guy standing in background shaking his head when people show a complete lack of common sense....

    "The very nature of public safety work causes Charles Darwin to spin in his grave."

  14. #14
    twistedpos No Longer Registered

    Default

    The mixed mode systems are Motorola Proprietary and were designed by Motorola to permit organizations to upgrade their systems in small increments as opposed to shelling out the entore cost of a newer system all at once. There are many variation of the mixed systems.