Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Thales 25 Batteries

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Thales 25 Batteries

    Just want to check if it's possible for someone living outside the US to purchase batteries (OEM or third party) for the Thales 25?

    I know many shipping companies frown upon lithium batteries. Otherwise, I guess I'm stuck 2W power and AA battery clam shell.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I've purchased a few T25 batteries recently from these guys and they might ship to the UK. Cost around $106US each. http://epos.geminicomputersinc.com/s...64-li&x=13&y=6

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CARC383 For This Useful Post:

    MotFAN (Jan 17, 2019),pks (May 08, 2019)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 29, 2018
    Location
    Central England
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: England

    Default

    Hi,

    Just for info, in my search for Thales 25 batteries, I also contacted gemini as suggested above, the price is correct $106 US, but the shipping to the UK is prohibitive, they quoted between $85 and $100 shipping per battery!, they have to be shipped as 'dangerous goods' apparently.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 07, 2019
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Country: United States

    Default

    I just received 3 Thales 25 batteries from Gemini. Order was shipped direct from Honeywell in Florida and was delivered in 4 days.
    All 3 batteries arrived without any charge but charged up to 100% without issue using the standard box charger from Thales.
    I have used one for several days and it still has 50% charge. Seems to have good capacity.
    Highly recommend the Honeywell battery available from Gemini.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 24, 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    I wonder if the Daytron Guardian portables which seem to be selling on Ebay contain the one wire chip between its XTS battery and the Thales 25 chassis that lives within .

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 19, 2019
    Location
    Frodsham UK IO83PG
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
    Country: England

    Default

    I purchased one of those Datron Guardian Handie's from Ebay US Seller, Radio only but connected up my battery from my XTS stock and it works perfect. What does the one wire chip assist with? my problem is finding any Programming cables and speaker mics for them.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The cost of shipping just put me off. Maybe a forward shipping company can do it cheaper if they declare or pack it differently.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 14, 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, GA USA
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    1,238
    Thanked 1,011 Times in 311 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G1JPV View Post
    I purchased one of those Datron Guardian Handie's from Ebay US Seller, Radio only but connected up my battery from my XTS stock and it works perfect. What does the one wire chip assist with? my problem is finding any Programming cables and speaker mics for them.
    The one wire chip in IMPRES batteries can drive the Datron Guaradian nuts, weird sounds on TX audio, excessive current drain...that stuff.
    Aftermarket (non-iMPRES) batteries don't have this chip. I use a non-OEM XTS Battery LiON on my Guardian and it's fine. No problems. But put any Motorola OEM such as a NNTN6034 and it makes all kind of weird sounds while keyed up.
    Your streaming makes me AES-256. Keep it up and you'll soon have nothing to listen to.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 04, 2015
    Location
    In the Corn
    Posts
    362
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 264 Times in 99 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTS2000DES View Post
    The one wire chip in IMPRES batteries can drive the Datron Guaradian nuts, weird sounds on TX audio, excessive current drain...that stuff.
    Aftermarket (non-iMPRES) batteries don't have this chip. I use a non-OEM XTS Battery LiON on my Guardian and it's fine. No problems. But put any Motorola OEM such as a NNTN6034 and it makes all kind of weird sounds while keyed up.
    That's actually the same for the XTS3000 as well. It never had the impres circuitry either so occasionally a true impres battery will cause squealing, humming, and all matter of nonsense to TX. A bit of electrical tape solves the issue quickly.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to axel For This Useful Post:

    G1JPV (May 11, 2019)

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,639
    Thanks
    722
    Thanked 1,282 Times in 640 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    I used to have that issue with smart batteries for the HT750 series, the radio was reading the battery from the center pin and causing the charger to freak out. Either turning on the radio as it went into the charger and turn it off, or a bit of tape on the center battery contact going to the radio cuts off the "smart" data. This will work if you can put the
    battery in the charger without the radio and have it work, but when the radio is attached it fails. Kind of a similar problem...

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Saw a clamshell on eBay that takes 10x CR123 lithium batteries. Will these allow the radio to transmit at full 5W or still restricted to 2W?

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 09, 2012
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 265 Times in 111 Posts

    Default

    Link? We never made one so I would be interested to see it

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radioinstl View Post
    Link? We never made one so I would be interested to see it
    Here's one:

    https://www.ebay.com/ulk/itm/183805017297

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  16. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 09, 2012
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 265 Times in 111 Posts

    Default

    That is not for a Thales 25

  17. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radioinstl View Post
    That is not for a Thales 25
    Okay, I think I just made a fool of myself.

    Thank you for bringing that to my attention. I somehow got confused with PRC148 and PRC6894.

    Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

  18. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 24, 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    I have the clamshell battery holder and it does not enable 5w tx. It also slowly discharges the 10 cells over a couple of weeks.

  19. #17
    Join Date
    May 17, 2019
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTS2000DES View Post
    The one wire chip in IMPRES batteries can drive the Datron Guaradian nuts, weird sounds on TX audio, excessive current drain...that stuff.
    Aftermarket (non-iMPRES) batteries don't have this chip. I use a non-OEM XTS Battery LiON on my Guardian and it's fine. No problems. But put any Motorola OEM such as a NNTN6034 and it makes all kind of weird sounds while keyed up.
    On an XTS5000 IMPRES battery, which contact passes the smart-battery data to the radio? Someone mentioned covering 1 of the leads with electrical tape, any idea which lead it would be on an OEM IMPRES batt? Thanks!

  20. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 14, 2018
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    This is directly from XTS5000 DSM:

    DSM.png

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to pks For This Useful Post:

    MedicDavid78 (May 18, 2019)

  22. #19
    Join Date
    May 17, 2019
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pks View Post
    This is directly from XTS5000 DSM:

    DSM.png
    Okay thank you much. Looks like the middle contact would be the one to cover up. Much appreciated, Ill give it a try.