Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Astro25 CPS interface issues / bugs?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 25, 2013
    Posts
    761
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 172 Times in 116 Posts
    Country: Belarus

    Thumbs down Astro25 CPS interface issues / bugs?

    Hi all!

    I've never come across with serious Astro25 CPS issues during my 10 years of personal experience. I remember some particular bugs in particular releases that were fixed many years ago.

    First episode. Some time ago one of users told me that can't see PL/DPL tones in appropriate Zone columns. I connected to him via TeamViewer, investigated, and found out that he was right. Fields were blank, pull down menus was empty, and column was highlighted as invalid/red. I said him something like 'probably bad OS / software conflict / etc.' And I quickly solved his issues by entering proper PL/DPL from keyboard, and red highlights was gone.

    Second episode. I installed brand new Windows 1 SP1 OS English x64 on my PC, installed all Windows updates and come across with the same issue as was mentioned in episode 1. I didn't draw a lot of attention to it those time. Because it was my dacha (summer cottage) PC. Rare and summer season usage only, not a big problem.

    Third episode. I recommended Astro25 CPS to a guy and told him that this is brilliant piece of radio software (compared to APX, TRBO, Kenwood KPG-D1 software, etc.) and good example of stability, classic UI ‘a-la Delphi’ (but not HTML-based!), good performance and so on. He has tried to work with it, and come back to me in a few days with a lot of negative feedback. He come across with issues very similar to 1&2, but appeared other columns, like Zone - Personality drop down menu. List content collapses to 2 lines and back to the all (e.g. 8) lines available. With no any user/data changes in CPS. Here is YouTube video where you can see it:





    Facts: Both Mobile and Portable CPS 20.01 affected (not yet tried downgrade). Neither CPS nor OS re-launch helps. Windows XP and Windows 7 affectedf. Windows 7 is up to date per Windows update. System decimal delimiter set to point (.) per US standard. Real PC with phisycal access to, not VM or RDP/TeamViewer session.

    Questions:

    1. What the hell is this?
    2. Who from you faced with things like this?
    3. Any ideas how to fix it?

    I am thinking about .NET Framework compatibility issues, but not sure how to confirm or deny it. Because a few of them installed on PC simultaneously due to different software requirements (as you know, different software requires different .NET versions, and often installs 'their' version with no other options).
    [I][FONT=times new roman][COLOR=#696969]Everyone who loves RadioReference get into the hell. [U]Especially those[/U] who also love PL-259 connectors.[/COLOR][/FONT][/I]


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 03, 2015
    Location
    Somewhere in the Lone Star Republic
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 103 Times in 62 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    So there is an issue with Windows 7/8/10 when using multiple displays. Drop down menus will sometimes appear on the adjacent display.

    Also per Motorola, they've had some issues with Windows 10 which is one of the reasons they don't recommend using Windows 10 for Astro 25 subscribers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 25, 2013
    Posts
    761
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 172 Times in 116 Posts
    Country: Belarus

    Default

    Yes, this is was one of our versions, I mean miltiple displays. Because both of affected PCs are dual-monitor.

    Really appreciate your input.

    P.S.
    Windows version dosn't matter as was stated above. Win XP affected as well, but we have neither Win8 not Win10.
    [I][FONT=times new roman][COLOR=#696969]Everyone who loves RadioReference get into the hell. [U]Especially those[/U] who also love PL-259 connectors.[/COLOR][/FONT][/I]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 09, 2012
    Location
    do20
    Posts
    80
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 95 Times in 38 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Never had that particular problem, but I always run CPS on a laptop - my radio fleet is of the size that it's more advantageous for me to go to where they are rather than have a computer in a lab somewhere where I bring the radios to.

    Still, abandonware is the perfect description for XTS/XTL CPS. There are parts that are quite plainly fundamentally broken, which I have had Moto say basically "too bad, hey if you buy some more APXs you won't have this problem".

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 120Comm For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Sep 21, 2018),Viper1-6 (Sep 21, 2018)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 04, 2012
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 56 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    I seem to remember something in a help file or FSB about certain display themes in windows causing Astro25 CPS issues. If memory serves the "classic" theme was recommended. Have you tried adjusting any of the themes?

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to kb0uxv For This Useful Post:

    MotFAN (Oct 12, 2018)

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 25, 2013
    Posts
    761
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 172 Times in 116 Posts
    Country: Belarus

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kb0uxv View Post
    I seem to remember something in a help file or FSB about certain display themes in windows causing Astro25 CPS issues. If memory serves the "classic" theme was recommended. Have you tried adjusting any of the themes?
    We will try and hit you back. Thanks.
    [I][FONT=times new roman][COLOR=#696969]Everyone who loves RadioReference get into the hell. [U]Especially those[/U] who also love PL-259 connectors.[/COLOR][/FONT][/I]

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 08, 2014
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    539
    Thanks
    255
    Thanked 407 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    I dont know why Microsoft couldn't have just stuck with the XP Classic and fixed the bugs in the OS. Why they must reinvent the wheel and obsolete software as well as user skills is beyond me. Hey I have an idea, let's ditch that qwerty keyboard and layout the keys on the new one in a prettier fashion.
    Quote Originally Posted by kb0uxv View Post
    I seem to remember something in a help file or FSB about certain display themes in windows causing Astro25 CPS issues. If memory serves the "classic" theme was recommended. Have you tried adjusting any of the themes?
    Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 09, 2015
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    A fix that worked for me with using Astro25 CPS on Win10 was toying around with the compatibility settings.

    Right click the shortcut icon, and under the compatibility tab, check the box for reduced color mode. I set it to 16 bit.

    I didn't need to set the compatibility mode, but that may be an option for you. Just reduced color mode.

    As always, YMMV.