Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: APX7000 Stuck in BOOTLOOP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2018
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default APX7000 Stuck in BOOTLOOP

    I have an APX7000 that is stuck in boot loop. It comes on to the main screen and then goes dark and reboots. Does anyone know how to fix this?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 29, 2013
    Location
    Left Coast
    Posts
    667
    Thanks
    322
    Thanked 631 Times in 253 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Shove it back to whoever you bought it from and demand your money back. It's more than likely an ALT/DEV garbage radio with no MACE which causes a bootloop when the firmware upgrade attempts to upgrade the MACE which isn't there.

  3. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to sjxts3000 For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (Apr 04, 2019),com501 (Oct 12, 2018),Gtaman (Mar 28, 2019),motorola_otaku (Oct 12, 2018),MTS2000DES (Apr 08, 2019)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 11, 2015
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I had this happen to me and I refreshed the firmware and fixed the problem.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,350
    Thanks
    3,440
    Thanked 5,976 Times in 1,720 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    The problem can be resolved, but like the other posters have said, unfortunately you have a DEV/ALT unit. You will have nothing but problems with that bloody thing.

    The person who sold it to you is likely a douche, but the real criminals here are Motorola, who wilfully allowed it to leave their facilities and be introduced into the market, where it is unsafe and a liability.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    com501 (Mar 28, 2019),Viper1-6 (Mar 28, 2019)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2018
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KE5YOY View Post
    I had this happen to me and I refreshed the firmware and fixed the problem.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    What version firmware was on your radio??

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 11, 2015
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Version 14...

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    1,224
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 1,261 Times in 398 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Version 14 is a good place to stay with that radio.

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 31, 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: Australia

    Default

    you can go upto V16 and maintain the same abilities.

    Last time I saw this someone tried changing firmware from 18 and killed the radio.
    Once its over FW17 your world changes for the bad.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,510
    Thanks
    2,076
    Thanked 1,583 Times in 803 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Firmware 18 has been toolproofed. There may or may not be a way around that. FW18 was a complete architecture re-write. Circumventing it is not for a discussion here.

    If you do manage it, best not to share how to did it either. Motorola will rebuild the software again to prevent it.
    Killing Public Safety Streaming, One County at a Time...

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 08, 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    245
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 437 Times in 129 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by com501 View Post
    FW18 was a complete architecture re-write.
    Some things were changed in R18, more than other releases in the codeplug area, but I wouldn't call it an architectural re-write.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to duggerd For This Useful Post:

    motorola_otaku (Apr 05, 2019)

  14. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location
    Stinkadeener
    Posts
    964
    Thanks
    781
    Thanked 1,258 Times in 560 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I used R18.21 extensively and I feel safe calling it a "stable" release. If you need to not move past 16, R16.23 was also a stable release.

    I've just started testing R19.04 but so far it seems solid.
    "The Girl Scouts found several hungry REACT members at the finish line..."

  15. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to motorola_otaku For This Useful Post:

    cyrus (Apr 05, 2019),Mars (Apr 05, 2019),MTS2000DES (Apr 08, 2019),p25smartzone (Apr 07, 2019)