Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cannot program Spectra after changing VOCON

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 31, 2015
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    308
    Thanked 356 Times in 145 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Cannot program Spectra after changing VOCON

    Got my hands on an Astro Spectra VHF that was in pretty much immaculate shape... except it was an analog-only flashed radio and the firmware was back at Host R09.

    So I did what any bored tinkerer would do. Go to my pile of decommissioned 800 models, grab one with a P25 flashcode and Host 11/DSP 7, and do the typical S-Record push with my trusty DOS laptop. Used an S-Rec from another site that was P25 Conventional Only.

    Plug radio and RIB into my Windows 10 32-bit laptop with FTDI serial adapter (which I have used countless times successfully) - and I get about a 50% success rate reading the radio. Change the 9V battery and still a flip-flop trying to read the radio. Even worse - cannot write it back. Radio looks like it is writing, reboots... same as it was before.

    So my question is should I look for another S-Rec to push into the radio, or just grab my slowpoke XP laptop with a real serial port... or both?


  2. #2
    com501's Avatar
    com501 is offline TĻ ∆S ō - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,389
    Thanks
    1,627
    Thanked 1,387 Times in 706 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Both, one at a time, staring with the laptop.
    Retarded Mongoloid on PCP...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 03, 2015
    Location
    Somewhere in the Lone Star Republic
    Posts
    247
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 99 Times in 59 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Iíd try XP. I havenít messed with Astroís on my Win 10 machine just because itís a 64 bit base so I havenít actually gotten into the nitty gritty of the OS. I do know some stuff that used to run on my 64 bit Win 7 machine wonít even install on my 64 bit 10 machine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,690
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 375 Times in 195 Posts

    Default

    navy; astro software runs best in win 7 and lower. I prefer XP for the astro/astro25 radios. Also a real serial port. I think your issue is software based and not a radio hardware one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location
    Columbus Ohio
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 190 Times in 97 Posts
    Country: UK

    Default

    Get a Panasonic CF-29. They are dirt cheap.
    RAS .......... Retard Avoidance System.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 31, 2015
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    308
    Thanked 356 Times in 145 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I was assuming the laptop as well but needed a good sanity check after running ragged with work-related projects. I have a CF-29 running Windows 7, and a Dell running XP sitting at the office I will have to bring one home to try again.