Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cannot program Spectra after changing VOCON

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 31, 2015
    Posts
    337
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked 374 Times in 156 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Cannot program Spectra after changing VOCON

    Got my hands on an Astro Spectra VHF that was in pretty much immaculate shape... except it was an analog-only flashed radio and the firmware was back at Host R09.

    So I did what any bored tinkerer would do. Go to my pile of decommissioned 800 models, grab one with a P25 flashcode and Host 11/DSP 7, and do the typical S-Record push with my trusty DOS laptop. Used an S-Rec from another site that was P25 Conventional Only.

    Plug radio and RIB into my Windows 10 32-bit laptop with FTDI serial adapter (which I have used countless times successfully) - and I get about a 50% success rate reading the radio. Change the 9V battery and still a flip-flop trying to read the radio. Even worse - cannot write it back. Radio looks like it is writing, reboots... same as it was before.

    So my question is should I look for another S-Rec to push into the radio, or just grab my slowpoke XP laptop with a real serial port... or both?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,412
    Thanks
    1,793
    Thanked 1,454 Times in 728 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Both, one at a time, staring with the laptop.
    Killing Public Safety Streaming, One County at a Time...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 03, 2015
    Location
    Somewhere in the Lone Star Republic
    Posts
    252
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 101 Times in 61 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Iíd try XP. I havenít messed with Astroís on my Win 10 machine just because itís a 64 bit base so I havenít actually gotten into the nitty gritty of the OS. I do know some stuff that used to run on my 64 bit Win 7 machine wonít even install on my 64 bit 10 machine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,767
    Thanks
    111
    Thanked 447 Times in 225 Posts

    Default

    navy; astro software runs best in win 7 and lower. I prefer XP for the astro/astro25 radios. Also a real serial port. I think your issue is software based and not a radio hardware one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location
    Columbus Ohio
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    397
    Thanked 212 Times in 109 Posts
    Country: UK

    Default

    Get a Panasonic CF-29. They are dirt cheap.
    RAS .......... Retard Avoidance System.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 31, 2015
    Posts
    337
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked 374 Times in 156 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I was assuming the laptop as well but needed a good sanity check after running ragged with work-related projects. I have a CF-29 running Windows 7, and a Dell running XP sitting at the office I will have to bring one home to try again.