Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ISO - Firmware install on a 1K Astro Saber

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 29, 2013
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Default ISO - Firmware install on a 1K Astro Saber

    Hello,

    Would I be able to get pricing, from someone who can, to do a firmware install on a 1K Astro Saber to HOST 06.72.00 and DSP 08.03.05?
    It's flashed for P25 9600 but it doesn't have the 'special' 06.72 firmware.

    Thank You,
    Jason Rothwell


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 04, 2012
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 50 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    you have to be careful on those to the specific version of the DSP.

    The first letter determines the manufacturer and you have to have the N version for 6.72 IIRC.
    The I version will not take 6.72.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,214
    Thanks
    3,011
    Thanked 5,404 Times in 1,554 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Also be aware 9600 firmware only supports 800 MHz. No VHF/UHF P25 trunking.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 29, 2013
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Default

    Thanks guys. So I’m looking to have the N version of the above mentioned DSP installed. The radio is 800MHz. If anyone can do this, please reply and then PM me pricing if you don’t want to publically post it.

    Jason

  5. #5
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 05, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    793
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 292 Times in 138 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    As well, it only supports a set bandplan. If the system uses a bandplan that has been altered from the normal Motorola bandplan, it won't work.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to cyrus For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Jan 19, 2019)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,780
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 457 Times in 230 Posts

    Default

    same for rebanding.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,214
    Thanks
    3,011
    Thanked 5,404 Times in 1,554 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jry View Post
    The I version will not take 6.72.
    Just need the lube.


  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    Alpha (Jan 31, 2019)

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks
    662
    Thanked 1,209 Times in 619 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    I thought so! I have serviced a bunch of the 6.72.00 version Astro Sabers and never looked twice at the "N" vs "I" DSP. I never heard of the "I" DSP as being problematic until this thread (other than the usual normal issues with the "I" DSP being a bit more cranky than the "N" type - or was it worse audio; I don't remember exactly but I don't think they really ever had any real major issues). AFAIK the 6.72.00 works just fine with either DSP type.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Alpha For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Jan 31, 2019)