Thread: MDC on my MTS2000 ?

Mark No Longer Registered

Default MDC on my MTS2000 ?

Hi, I'm a newbie and a Ham, and i think its a long shot, but i picked up a few MTS2000's (no keypad version)
    as i have been messing around with MDC on the GP300s and would like to use MDC on these MTS2000. I Know
    its a flashport option, and tried those online flashport decoders, and didn't see MDC mentioned, but it was a little
    bit over my head at present. The RSS doesn't seem to allow any signalling when programming the sets, so i assume
    no MDC. and as i'm a humble Ham, not a rich businessman, it'll not be affordable to buy the option.
    I hoped it may be a standard feature like in the GP300s, I'm interested in 5 tone, MDC and all other types of signalling
    and want to experiment with them, am i wasting my time trying to add some types of signalling to these MTS2000 i wonder ?
    - it looks like all this flashport stuff has it all locked down, sadly the HTs are ok though for general Ham use as is, though.

Any suggestions ?

Mark

Thanks

since the uinits you have dont have the option enabled you be able to locate a codeplug with the MDC option and program that into the radios. You will need to d a bit of reading about srecord writing to get familiar with what you need to do.

interesting - i statred reading up on programming, and came across s records, but it was one of many things i need to understand
    before i even think about bricking these nice little HTs - my mate pointed me to a Batlabs posting on much the same subject, it seems
    a mtx controller in the set is a prerequisite, and, as i'm a newbie to flashport stuff i'm not going to rush in....
    Thanx .. Notorola
    Mark

Thanks