Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: XTS3000 TX Inhibit weirdness?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 15 Times in 5 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default XTS3000 TX Inhibit weirdness?

    Hi Folks,

    I have a UHF XTS3K that exhibits a bit of weirdness. Whenever it turns on, it automatically defaults to TX INHB ON and will emit the normal constant tone if I try to hit the PTT. I can scroll across the menu to TX INHB and it shows OFF, but is still TX inhibited. If I then choose TX INHB OFF (even though it shows OFF), everything works perfectly until my next power down. The concentric is set as TX INHB, but this happens regardless of the position. I've tried setting no buttons to TX INHB and no effect, it still does it. I've also gone through my entire codeplug and nothing stands out.

    Any ideas? As mentioned, this is the only issue with this radio. It is set up for conventional Anlg & P25, no trunking weirdness...

    XTS3K
    07.71.06
    08.03.05
    EMC 3.58 DES-OFB/DES-XL/AES-256
    599108-1C5E00-1
    Boomboy64
    Ottawa, Ontario


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Posts
    675
    Thanks
    282
    Thanked 424 Times in 194 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Is TX Inhibit on BOTH sides of the concentric? If so, that's your problem. I don't recommend having the same feature in two places (menu + switch), most options on the radio don't allow this anyway.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 15 Times in 5 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by d119 View Post
    Is TX Inhibit on BOTH sides of the concentric? If so, that's your problem. I don't recommend having the same feature in two places (menu + switch), most options on the radio don't allow this anyway.
    Nope, right now, TX INHB is a menu-only item, and it still acts this way...
    Boomboy64
    Ottawa, Ontario

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 15 Times in 5 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    OK, weirdness is the word for this...

    No switches set to TX-Inhibit.
    Radio turns on with TX INHB ON (even though it is showing OFF).
    Read radio...
    Removed TX INHB from the menu...
    Wrote to the radio...
    Radio works normally (No TX INHB on power up)...
    Read radio...
    Added TX INHB to the menu...
    Wrote to the radio...
    Radio works normally (No TX INHB on power up)...

    I can take the original codeplug, put it in, and the weirdness returns (TX INHB on power up)... If I repeat the above, it goes away again... I cannot just write the 'new' codeplug in as nothing happens (it is identical to the original). I seem to have to run thorugh the steps...

    Weird...

    I think I'll just leave it as a mystery...
    Boomboy64
    Ottawa, Ontario

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Posts
    675
    Thanks
    282
    Thanked 424 Times in 194 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Corrupted bit in the original codeplug. Happens.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 17, 2012
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 15 Times in 8 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boomboy64 View Post
    OK, weirdness is the word for this...

    No switches set to TX-Inhibit.
    Radio turns on with TX INHB ON (even though it is showing OFF).
    Read radio...
    Removed TX INHB from the menu...
    Wrote to the radio...
    Radio works normally (No TX INHB on power up)...
    Read radio...
    Added TX INHB to the menu...
    Wrote to the radio...
    Radio works normally (No TX INHB on power up)...

    I can take the original codeplug, put it in, and the weirdness returns (TX INHB on power up)... If I repeat the above, it goes away again... I cannot just write the 'new' codeplug in as nothing happens (it is identical to the original). I seem to have to run thorugh the steps...

    Weird...

    I think I'll just leave it as a mystery...
    For what it's worth, I have been able to induce an "involuntary" TXIN on my 3k because the codeplug had previously had that state set, even with the similar concentric / menu options you described. It seems that the ASTRO line (or the 3k, at least) is just a little quirky with this setting. Another odd side-effect of TXIN on that platform is that if the radio has inhibit set in the codeplug, it will remember that setting -- even in service mode. Makes for a real head-scratcher at first when you go to throw one of those units on a service monitor for re-tuning...