Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: how to program MCS2000 to Ham-band ?

  1. #1
    ronen No Longer Registered

    Default how to program MCS2000 to Ham-band ?

    Hi there
    Is there any way to program MCS2000 that operate between 450-512MHZ to the ham bands ?
    Any info appreciated
    Thanks Forward
    R0nen- 4Z4ZQ
    http://www.ronen.org


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 644 Times in 290 Posts

    Default

    Yes there is. You would need to edit the band limits similarly to the ASTRO band limit hack.

  3. #3
    ronen No Longer Registered

    Default

    Do you know how do i do it in CPS ?
    I know how to do it in RSS but the Radio Codeplug is too new for RSS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 644 Times in 290 Posts

    Default

    The CPS hack should be almost identical to the astro changes. do a search in the .exe for the lower freq limit using intell signed you should find it. I currently dont have the time to look (maybe next week I will if you are willing to wait)

  5. #5
    ronen No Longer Registered

    Default

    Thank you
    I have modified the MCS2000.exe file and all works fine
    Thanks again
    Ronen - 4Z4ZQ
    http://www.ronen.org

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 03, 2013
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    How did you modify the file? I have been looking for two days and can't find a solid answer. I want to get my VHF radio to go down to the lower end of the ham band.


    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 644 Times in 290 Posts

    Default

    he opened the.exe in a hex editor and changed the lower limit from 450 to 440. You will have to do the same exept change the 146 to 144.
    I looked up the values for you change 00321B08 to 80A4BF07. Like in other threads feel free to post the addresses changed so others dont have to redo the work.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Notarola For This Useful Post:

    BlackJack09 (Jun 11, 2014)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 21, 2013
    Location
    Russell, Kansas
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have tried to find the bandsplits in the MCS software, R02.02.00. I am using HxD and it can not find 144 when I search for it... can anyone help me out here..

    Thanks

    Tim B.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,854
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 644 Times in 290 Posts

    Default

    dont look for 144 look for 80C8B308 this is 146 mhz80C8B308
    Last edited by Notarola; Apr 09, 2013 at 01:20 PM.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Notarola For This Useful Post:

    BlackJack09 (Jun 11, 2014)

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 03, 2013
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Thanks! I got it to work. To mod the CPS 80C8B308 needs to change to 80A4BF07. This is for dropping the TX range from 146 to 144.