Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Quantar Analog Voting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Quantar Analog Voting

    Looking for a little information on setting up a high power VHF transmitter (possibly 350 watts) ... with 3-4 remote receivers linked back to the main site for voting. I'm looking at a quantro as the transmitter repeater with an astro tac3000 comparator at the transmitter site .... my thoughts are at the remote sites receiving the vhf sending it back out on uhf... and having 3-4 uhf receivers hooked the atk3000 for it t vote the best signal .... thoughts or an easier way?

    Allen


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location
    Stinkadeener
    Posts
    991
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 1,305 Times in 579 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The AstroTAC needs V.24 connectivity to all of the devices for signalling and control, even when operating in pure analog. If you need/want to do RF audio-only links, you'll need to go with a different comparator.
    "The Girl Scouts found several hungry REACT members at the finish line..."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 04, 2015
    Location
    In the Corn
    Posts
    374
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 296 Times in 111 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    There's an older analog comparator that Moto makes but I can't for the life of me remember anything about it. I know several ham setups that use them and they apparently work pretty well.

    You could also look into voip linking with something like a RTCM from Micronode at each site. They've got a whole voting system that works great via P2P links if you can get those set up instead of analog backhaul.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to axel For This Useful Post:

    packal (Jul 04, 2019)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    Get a Digitac comparator. This will do what your trying to do.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to MojaveJoe For This Useful Post:

    RFI-EMI-GUY (Jul 11, 2019)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 08, 2014
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Or a JPS-SNV-12.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to petnrdx For This Useful Post:

    packal (Jul 04, 2019)

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 13, 2019
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default V.24

    Quote Originally Posted by petnrdx View Post
    Or a JPS-SNV-12.
    If you have the backhaul between sites you can do V.24 over cheap cisco routers very easily

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to darnallj For This Useful Post:

    Navy_BOFH (Apr 13, 2019),packal (Jul 04, 2019)

  11. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location
    Stinkadeener
    Posts
    991
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 1,305 Times in 579 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MojaveJoe View Post
    Get a Digitac comparator. This will do what your trying to do.
    With the caveat that Digitac ports need a guard tone from the remote receivers to vote them, so your RF links will have to transmit 24/7/365.
    "The Girl Scouts found several hungry REACT members at the finish line..."

  12. #8
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Posts
    665
    Thanks
    271
    Thanked 390 Times in 181 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by motorola_otaku View Post
    With the caveat that Digitac ports need a guard tone from the remote receivers to vote them, so your RF links will have to transmit 24/7/365.
    Anyone doing voting over RF links these days needs to upgrade anyway... AstroTAC requires status tone as well (albeit 1000Hz) to verify link integrity on the analog side as well.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to d119 For This Useful Post:

    motorola_otaku (Jul 09, 2019)

  14. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,526
    Thanks
    2,149
    Thanked 1,630 Times in 819 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Doug Hall used to make a SN voter that the basic unit allowed 4 channel input. The units were very stable. I still have several in use for RF paths where there is no other comms available and the sites are solar powered.
    Killing Public Safety Streaming, One County at a Time...

  15. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    So if I wanted a quantar at my main site and a voted reciver at my other site I would still need v24 connectivity?
    Last edited by Astro Spectra; Jul 01, 2019 at 02:14 PM.

  16. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    So I could do my main VHF site with an atac3k ... and two 800mhz quntar receivers ... and then at my two extra voted sites I can use a quantar with vhf receiver and 800mhz transmitter back to the main site?

  17. #12
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Posts
    665
    Thanks
    271
    Thanked 390 Times in 181 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Theoretically.

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to d119 For This Useful Post:

    packal (Jul 02, 2019)

  19. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by motorola_otaku View Post
    The AstroTAC needs V.24 connectivity to all of the devices for signalling and control, even when operating in pure analog. If you need/want to do RF audio-only links, you'll need to go with a different comparator.
    If I will be doing analog only can it all be done with v24 or do I need something else?

  20. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location
    Stinkadeener
    Posts
    991
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 1,305 Times in 579 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by packal View Post
    So if I wanted a quantar at my main site and a voted reciver at my other site I would still need v24 connectivity?
    To use an AstroTAC 3000, yes. If you don't have analog and V.24 wireline connectivity between all of your sites you need to use a different comparator.
    "The Girl Scouts found several hungry REACT members at the finish line..."

  21. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by motorola_otaku View Post
    To use an AstroTAC 3000, yes. If you don't have analog and V.24 wireline connectivity between all of your sites you need to use a different comparator.
    Sorry I’m new to the quantar world ... so my thoughts are to at the main site have my vhf repeater along with 2 800mhz receivers and an astrotac3000 .... at my remote sites I will revive the same vhf frequency as my main site but send it back out on 800mhz to the main site to vote which one is best .... do you think this will work? .... again sorry for the dumb questions .... What I don’t understand is the Wireline ... I understand that the main repeater and the recovers connect with a crossover cable to the comparator (v24) .... but what does it mean to add Wireline for analog? How do I got about that? If it would help and you wouldn’t care you can email me at allen@packit.technology

  22. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default V24 link works

    Quote Originally Posted by motorola_otaku View Post
    To use an AstroTAC 3000, yes. If you don't have analog and V.24 wireline connectivity between all of your sites you need to use a different comparator.

    Got my quantar hooked to the 3000 and v24 seems to work (receive light comes on comparator and tx) but I cant figure the Wireline portion out ... the comparator does not PTT the repeater or pass audio

    sorry to be so aggravating but Im trying to get this job done while I have a few days off for the holiday at my main job

  23. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location
    Stinkadeener
    Posts
    991
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 1,305 Times in 579 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The AstroTAC system works off of measured RSSI at the receiver, which is communicated back to the comparator over the V.24 interface. Your crossband link scenario would present an unchanging, steady receive signal strength to the 800 MHz ATAC receivers and would not allow the comparator to vote properly. For that to work you need a comparator that uses SINAD instead of RSSI to vote receive sites.
    "The Girl Scouts found several hungry REACT members at the finish line..."

  24. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by motorola_otaku View Post
    The AstroTAC system works off of measured RSSI at the receiver, which is communicated back to the comparator over the V.24 interface. Your crossband link scenario would present an unchanging, steady receive signal strength to the 800 MHz ATAC receivers and would not allow the comparator to vote properly. For that to work you need a comparator that uses SINAD instead of RSSI to vote receive sites.
    Oh lord so I’m wasting time? The ATAC won’t vote it by signal to noise ratio? .... I have been working once it all night as long as I leave it in v24 only and not hybrid the two seem to talk but the ATAC will not key the repeater ... if I put the ATAC port in hybrid mode they will not talk to each other .... but if it won’t vote properly I’m goin down the wrong path anyway unless I backhaul the v24 over p2p links?

  25. #19
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 476 Times in 247 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    You've been told that four time in this thread already.
    It is a fine thing to be honest, but it is also very important to be right

  26. The Following User Says Thank You to Astro Spectra For This Useful Post:

    motorola_otaku (Jul 05, 2019)

  27. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I don’t clearly see where anyone has told me that in this post as I’ve got multiple responses ... but from what I see I can clearly do what im trying to do (maybe not with the crossband link, but if I backhaul the v24/wireline) it’s a given That will work and that’s the route that I’m trying to figure out now ... I can’t get the atac3000 to do analog only digital ... and that’s what he was clearly helping me with so even tho one route isn’t doable I’m certain with the equipment I have there is more than one way to get this task tackled ... if I can get the atac3000 and repeaters talking to each other on the bench I will figure out the voting issue at hand even if that means backhauling over microwave

  28. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location
    Stinkadeener
    Posts
    991
    Thanks
    833
    Thanked 1,305 Times in 579 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Read and familiarize yourself with the Quantar and AstroTAC 3000 manuals.

    PDFs of the Quantar manuals are easily found on Google, a PDF of the ATAC manual is located here: https://communications.support/threa...ceiver-manuals
    "The Girl Scouts found several hungry REACT members at the finish line..."

  29. The Following User Says Thank You to motorola_otaku For This Useful Post:

    Astro Spectra (Jul 05, 2019)

  30. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2019
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by motorola_otaku View Post
    Read and familiarize yourself with the Quantar and AstroTAC 3000 manuals.

    PDFs of the Quantar manuals are easily found on Google, a PDF of the ATAC manual is located here: https://communications.support/threa...ceiver-manuals
    I have the printed manuals but I still can not seem to get that ATAC talking to the quantar fully ...

  31. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,526
    Thanks
    2,149
    Thanked 1,630 Times in 819 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    $150 an hour, plus travel, plus lodging.
    Killing Public Safety Streaming, One County at a Time...

  32. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to com501 For This Useful Post:

    axel (Jul 08, 2019),Mars (Jul 08, 2019),motorola_otaku (Jul 09, 2019)

  33. #24
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 476 Times in 247 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    I think all the support options have been explored.
    It is a fine thing to be honest, but it is also very important to be right

  34. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Astro Spectra For This Useful Post:

    com501 (Jul 09, 2019),motorola_otaku (Jul 09, 2019)