Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Clearing or initializing a config in CPS to something like factory default

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 06, 2019
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Clearing or initializing a config in CPS to something like factory default

    Is there a way in Astro CPS to clear a config to something like a factory default might look, like a single channel? If nothing else this would be good for an agency surplusing radios, although in my case I have a used unit with a complex config where it would be far easier to clear everything and start from scratch.

    Thanks,

    Jim
    KY1H


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,618
    Thanks
    3,986
    Thanked 6,985 Times in 1,988 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Nope.

    Just add one new of “everything“ and delete the rest.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,877
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 669 Times in 304 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    Nope.

    Just add one new of “everything“ and delete the rest.
    Thats how I do it. All surplussed radios should be cleaned before selling no matter who the seller is.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 06, 2019
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 12 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Notarola View Post
    Thats how I do it. All surplussed radios should be cleaned before selling no matter who the seller is.
    Definitely best practice, especially for a system still in operation. Which makes it puzzling that Motorola doesn’t make it easy to clean a radio that is being surprised.

    Jim

  5. #5
    triptolemus's Avatar
    triptolemus is offline T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Dec 15, 2012
    Location
    Shitballs
    Posts
    1,182
    Thanks
    916
    Thanked 2,022 Times in 694 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KY1H View Post
    Definitely best practice, especially for a system still in operation. Which makes it puzzling that Motorola doesn’t make it easy to clean a radio that is being surprised.

    Jim
    Not really that puzzling. Motorola is bipolar. They expect that an organization will retain old radios indefinitely and at the same time purchase new radios. Motorola is not interested in surplus anything. They willfully cripple the second-hand / surplus market by denying MOL accounts and CPS subscriptions for individuals (ham/whatever). CPS is prohibitively and needlessly expensive. (APX CPS was once free, now costs ~$300.) I don't understand the reasoning behind these policies. I suspect it has something to do with brand deterioration and their belief that "Motorola" implies some sort of authority. They are aggressive and purposeful as they go about it, though.

  6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to triptolemus For This Useful Post:

    box (Apr 29, 2019),Mars (Apr 28, 2019),Mogman (Jun 03, 2019)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,618
    Thanks
    3,986
    Thanked 6,985 Times in 1,988 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Don’t forget about the inability to clear an ASK if you are a secondary market user who has purchased a radio with an ASK enabled.

    Those of us who know better can fix this problem, but what a dickhead thing to do.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    triptolemus (Apr 28, 2019)

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,877
    Thanks
    180
    Thanked 669 Times in 304 Posts

    Default

    If it is not preplanned by Moto to make used radios 'unusable' without getting creative then its another example of their total lack of understanding on letting the end user set up their products to function properly.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Notarola For This Useful Post:

    radio (Apr 29, 2019)