Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: XTL Series Fuse Replacement

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 06, 2013
    Location
    Noblesville, IN
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default XTL Series Fuse Replacement

    Does anyone know of an available replacement for the F0400 (5A, fast act) on the XTL board? I have multiple radios with this blown. Checking the service manual yields a Motorola Part number of 6583049X16. However, my local shops have never had this part in their systems and show it as NLA. I've also cross-referenced the Motorola number with Digikey and Mouser, but no joy.

    Thanks in advance!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,516
    Thanks
    2,116
    Thanked 1,609 Times in 812 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    That is a good number. The part was originally used on Centracom equipment. I just ordered 10ea for my repairs here, and checking online with Motorola today, there are huge quantities available.
    Killing Public Safety Streaming, One County at a Time...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 06, 2013
    Location
    Noblesville, IN
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Interesting. I did finally find an equivalent and have 50 on the way. $0.67 each. Just odd that I was old by the local shops that it was NLA.

    https://www.alliedelec.com/product/l...-mrl/70184361/

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wdatkinson For This Useful Post:

    com501 (May 03, 2019),motorola_otaku (May 06, 2019)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 30, 2012
    Location
    8.8.8.8
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    1,015
    Thanked 117 Times in 67 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Not really. They can't sell you new APXs for big profits if they keep helping you fix your XTLs.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to box For This Useful Post:

    Forts (May 08, 2019),motorola_otaku (May 07, 2019)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 24 Times in 13 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Or you can be like the "techs" here that just bridge it with solder or a wire.

    'there, I fixed it"

    Sent from my LGL163BL using Tapatalk

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,841
    Thanks
    155
    Thanked 601 Times in 276 Posts

    Default

    Only a fool replaces a fuse with a wire this can lead to other components being damaged. There are a pile of options for replacing a fuse with another fuse of a different design. Even if the fuse is blowing for a poor design reason it should still be replaced with another fuse not just jumpered out.

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 24 Times in 13 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Hopefully the sarcasm came out in my post. I'm the guy they bring it to after their new 'fuse' fails. Usually terminal.

    One of the early lessons taught to me as a junior tech eons ago was that a fuse blows for a reason. Simply replacing it is the first step of troubleshooting.

    Sent from my LGL163BL using Tapatalk

  10. #8
    Join Date
    May 12, 2012
    Posts
    499
    Thanks
    806
    Thanked 271 Times in 148 Posts

    Default

    Stop calling it a fuse!!!

    It is a current limiter on the repair bill. The difference between fuse and current limiter is about$50bucks!!
    Radio Referenced...Those who think they know it all are very annoying to those of use who do.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to moetorola For This Useful Post:

    EM36 (Jun 06, 2019)

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 24 Times in 13 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Flux capacitor

    Sent from my LGL163BL using Tapatalk