Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: MCS2K high power 136-174MHz disappointment!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 09, 2014
    Location
    Papalote, TX
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 36 Times in 20 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default MCS2K high power 136-174MHz disappointment!!

    I recently picked up a small lot of MCS2000 100W VHF mod II radios, one of which was still in its original box,(serial number matches box) I was very exited when I looked at the box but very disappointed when I tried to program the radio,it is just a plain Jane K model.
    It will not program under 146 with stock CPS and the tuning soft spots are the same as other 146-174MHz K split high power radios, I wonder if this was just a mis-print??
    Attached Images Attached Images


  2. #2
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 05, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    819
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 320 Times in 147 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    100w radios come in two different splits, J and K so yes, that's a misprint.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,429
    Thanks
    3,681
    Thanked 6,363 Times in 1,817 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    If you end up wishing to sell them, I would be interested in one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,556
    Thanks
    2,278
    Thanked 1,675 Times in 844 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    With a very small amount of magic, they work just fine down to at least 142.
    Apparently NOT a radio professional.

  5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to com501 For This Useful Post:

    cyrus (May 13, 2019),Mars (May 13, 2019),Notarola (May 13, 2019)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    1,269
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 1,381 Times in 427 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default MCS2K high power 136-174MHz disappointment!!

    Quote Originally Posted by com501 View Post
    With a very small amount of magic, they work just fine down to at least 142.
    Magic:

    http://www.repeater-builder.com/moto...hex-edits.html

    I should also mention that Jacob is a member here.
    "Government big enough to supply everything you need is big enough to take everything you have. The course of history shows that as a government grows, liberty decreases." Thomas Jefferson

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,429
    Thanks
    3,681
    Thanked 6,363 Times in 1,817 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Number 6 View Post
    Magic:

    http://www.repeater-builder.com/moto...hex-edits.html

    I should also mention that Jacob is a member here.
    We just need to confirm if there is a soft tuning limit, which causes the digital pot values to no longer be referenced, below 146.0.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 09, 2014
    Location
    Papalote, TX
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 36 Times in 20 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The hex editing is for the most part common knowledge, why I specified it would not program below 146 with standard CPS, but the links may be handy for some that are following this thread. As with all Motorola radios that I have "played with" the farther you get from the soft point the more unpredictable they get, not sure if 2MHz is far enough on the MCS2K to be a problem, but now I can understand why I have read accounts of Motorola manufacturing 136-174MHz 100W MCS2000 radios, probably never happened just a bunch of misprints.
    BTW anyone thinking that a 50W 136-174MHz srec can be dumped into a 100W radio think again, they use a different IF frequency and you will end up with a perpetual "FAIL 001" no matter what frequency you program into the radio.
    It would take some serious digging to figure out where the IF calculation takes place...

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 09, 2014
    Location
    Papalote, TX
    Posts
    200
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 36 Times in 20 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Not to hijack my own thread but since we have some of the guys on here that are so much smarter than I am (I am not being sarcastic believe me!)
    Does anyone know where the squelch setting is in the MCS2K srec? seems this platform suffers from the same default min. squelch that the ASD does.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,429
    Thanks
    3,681
    Thanked 6,363 Times in 1,817 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Mogman, please send me an email. mars_p25 at p25 dot ca. I don't use the PM system on here. Thanks.