Thread: astro saber 3 800mhz smartzon question.

danb1021 No Longer Registered

Default astro saber 3 800mhz smartzon question.

i have a question for anyone..i would like to know if there is a difference in smartnet or smartzone? i have smartzone but i think i need to have smartnet! is there a way i can change that? it's for monitering. tx is disabled..thanks if anyone can help to answer this..

Thanks

If you have SmartZone, you have SmartNet.

SmartZone is a wide area coverage consisting of many linked trunking systems connected to a master site. SmartNet is a single trunking system.

If you have SmartZone, you should be able to program in a single site and accomplish what you want. Be sure to set your affiliate options to "On PTT", which I think can still be done in the legacy ASTRO series. I'm not an expert on passive monitoring of trunked systems.

yeah thats the way i have it set of but i can not moniter anything..not sure what im doing wrong but it says out of range i set it up to smartzone..but then when i set it to local or the other one it does nothing..at least on smartzone the light on top flashes red sometimes..thank you for your help..

Neo No Longer Registered

Top led lighting up means the radio is trying to affiliate. Not good if your just trying to monitor the system.

Your problem is probably something simple, like one setting not checked or unchecked.

yeah i was thinking the same thing..i have all the control channels in there and all the hex codes..it will just flash red sometimes..but now not sure why it glows red..just trying to listem..not talk..not sure where i go from here...

Thanks
    Thanked 6,654 Times in 1,898 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by danb1021 View Post
    but now not sure why it glows red..just trying to listem..not talk..not sure where i go from here...
    Likely the Remote Monitor/Radio Trace feature is being activated by dispatch console.

Immediately deprogram this radio.