Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Astro Spectra + transmit P25 below 146Mhz

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 29, 2018
    Location
    Central England
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: England

    Default Astro Spectra + transmit P25 below 146Mhz

    Hi,

    I know there was some issue with the Astro Spectra transmitting P25 below 146MHz in a K split, but I have inherited an Astro Spectra + model D04KKF9SW4AN it has a 4mb vocon, and HOST R09.00.41 with DSP 16.00.01.
    It does TX below 146MHz, but the deviation is well below what it should be, above 146MHz it is perfect.

    There is a 2m amateur repeater going on air locally in the very near future which has a TX input frequency below 146MHz, I'd like to use the Spectra + for that purpose.
    Has anyone else had this issue, or can confirm that it is or isn't surmountable please.

    Regards
    Tony.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,870
    Thanks
    178
    Thanked 664 Times in 301 Posts

    Default

    Its fixable. I have had several K split units running 100% in the 144-146 area. Problem is Moto deliberately configured the codeplugs so you cant operate on the section properly. Site rules may prevent posing a mod.

  3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Notarola For This Useful Post:

    ffr58kk90 (Jun 13, 2019),kd5ual (Jun 13, 2019),Mars (Jun 13, 2019)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    3,768
    Thanked 6,607 Times in 1,877 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I am willing to help you. But there are two conditions:

    - I’m not charging any money to assist you. (Important in the legal aspect).

    - Details about the fix are not posted or discussed on the forum.

    Please shoot me an email to mars_p25 at p25 dot ca.

  5. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    apx (Jun 14, 2019),ffr58kk90 (Jun 15, 2019),kd5ual (Jun 13, 2019),Navy_BOFH (Jun 16, 2019)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 29, 2018
    Location
    Central England
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: England

    Default

    That's sort of good news, but could you elaborate on how I would go about doing such a mod please, assuming that it doesn't breach any rules?

    Regards
    Tony

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,490
    Thanks
    3,768
    Thanked 6,607 Times in 1,877 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ffr58kk90 View Post
    That's sort of good news, but could you elaborate on how I would go about doing such a mod please, assuming that it doesn't breach any rules?

    Regards
    Tony
    No, because it does breach the rules. The modification involves changing an artificial “soft limit“ in the tuning partition, which is restricting your radio from referencing the digital potentiometer tuning values, below 146.000000 MHz.

    Normally, not a big deal. The problem here, is the software involved cannot be shared or discussed.

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,586
    Thanks
    2,353
    Thanked 1,716 Times in 864 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    I am willing to help you. But there are two conditions:

    - I’m not charging any money to assist you. (Important in the legal aspect).

    - Details about the fix are not posted or discussed on the forum.

    Please shoot me an email to mars_p25 at p25 dot ca.
    DO THIS ^^^^^^^
    Apparently NOT a radio professional.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to com501 For This Useful Post:

    ffr58kk90 (Jun 15, 2019)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 29, 2018
    Location
    Central England
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: England

    Default

    Ahh, I understand now i've seen the entire thread on the PC, and not on my mobile phone 5" screen, I missed the post above mine ;-)