Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Cap Max 900mhz control channel stops processing calls

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 24, 2013
    Location
    Tampa,FL
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 224 Times in 87 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Cap Max 900mhz control channel stops processing calls

    Everyone with 900mhz Cap Max systems...... Watch your system for the control channel freezing up and not processing voice calls. I have 3 customers now that are experiencing it with MTR and SLR repeaters. If the system exhibits this symptom, rolling the control channel to a different repeater restores functionality (or power cycling the control channel). Some customers it happens every few days, some customers every few weeks. Good times! FB


  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Fatboy For This Useful Post:

    Blackwater (Jul 11, 2019),phonebuff (Jul 11, 2019),thassler (Jul 11, 2019)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location
    Poutineland
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    402
    Thanked 70 Times in 37 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Anything to do with this?


    MTN-0080-19-NA

    TITLE: MOTOTRBO SLR 8000 series 8/900 MHz repeaters software version R02.10.00.05 w/ R07.00.08

    TECHNOLOGY: MOTOTRBO SLR 8000 series 8/900 MHz repeaters

    SYMPTOMS:
    SLR 8000 series 8/900 MHz repeaters operating on an older release software can be upgraded to latest R02.10.xx.xx version successfully, but then reading or writing using Radio Management or CPS 2.0 application or activation of any Charge for Software feature causes the unit to go into lock state with Alarm and red LED



    Quote Originally Posted by Fatboy View Post
    Everyone with 900mhz Cap Max systems...... Watch your system for the control channel freezing up and not processing voice calls. I have 3 customers now that are experiencing it with MTR and SLR repeaters. If the system exhibits this symptom, rolling the control channel to a different repeater restores functionality (or power cycling the control channel). Some customers it happens every few days, some customers every few weeks. Good times! FB

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to p25smartzone For This Useful Post:

    phonebuff (Jul 11, 2019)

  5. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,612
    Thanks
    2,415
    Thanked 1,748 Times in 882 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Under Link Establishment, what is your Rest Channel TOT set too? When set to the minimum, it looks for a few repeater channel after (2) minutes, which solved our 'stops running' problem. When the system is idle, it just sits there until the TOT for the Rest Channel rolls over. I think ours was set to 'Disabled' when we first started, meaning the system would NEVER look for a new channel and beacon.
    Apparently NOT a radio professional.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to com501 For This Useful Post:

    Blackwater (Jul 11, 2019)

  7. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 24, 2013
    Location
    Tampa,FL
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 224 Times in 87 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    In cap max I dont think that setting exists. Also, it is unrelated to the above MTN. Fix is supposed to rolled into 2.10.5, until then we are using GW3 custom filter of no call activity for 5 minutes to throw an alarm. At alarm, we roll control channel. FB

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Fatboy For This Useful Post:

    p25smartzone (Jul 11, 2019)

  9. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 02, 2019
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
    Country: Canada

    Default

    We had this exact issue on an 800mhz system running 2.7 and it was what Motorola described as a Flywheel issue on the MTR3000 due to packet corruption.

    Upgrading to 2.8.5 resolved our issue.

  10. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ve3nsv For This Useful Post:

    Blackwater (Jul 12, 2019),Fatboy (Jul 12, 2019),p25smartzone (Jul 12, 2019)