Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 156

Thread: Anytone AT-D878UV - excellent tech radio

  1. #26
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 05, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    847
    Thanks
    257
    Thanked 362 Times in 168 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    I was able to log in once last night and then poof, it was gone.

    Googled the mod and was able to come up with another site.

    http://radioaficion.com/news/how-to-...-to-at-d878uv/
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.


  2. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to cyrus For This Useful Post:

    Alpha (Jul 24, 2019),com501 (Jul 22, 2019),Forts (Jul 22, 2019),Mars (Jul 22, 2019),Navy_BOFH (Jul 22, 2019),p25smartzone (Jul 22, 2019)

  3. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    OK, found a minor bug, but there's a resolution.

    First, a brief history on CTCSS revers burst phase shift:

    - Motorola uses 120-degree phase shift to accomplish "reverse burst". This is a Motorola-stupid thing, and it's not the industry standard method of doing things.

    - The EIA-603 standard outlines reverse burst as a phase shift of the tone by 180-degrees, for 150 milliseconds. Motorola calls their method (120-degree phase shift, for 180 milliseconds) "standard". Perhaps it's their standard, but it's not the EIA standard.

    - Another method of reverse burst is to phase shift by 240-degrees for 180 milliseconds. This is equivalent of a -120-degree phase shift. This method was used in the Motorola Micor encoder.


    The bug:

    The AT-D878UV has four different Squelch Tail Elimination (STE) methods, associated with PL use:

    - Turn tone off: The subaudible tone is removed from the audio path, while the radio remains transmitting for a brief period.

    - 120-degree: The radio properly encodes a 120-degree phase shift, but it's not decoding it properly. The result is an audible squelch tail on RX.

    - 180-degree: The radio properly encodes and decodes a 180-degree phse shift

    - 240-degree: The radio properly encodes and decodes a 240-degree (-120-degree) phase shift.

    When using the radio to monitor/scan analog Motorola repeaters/subscribers, it does not work properly with the 120-degree phase shift for RX purposes. I found the solution is to use the 240-degree setting. With the -120-degree phase shift, repeaters/subs seem to reliably decode my phase shift on TX, and the radio is properly muting when receiving a 120-degree phase shift. 180-degree reverse bursts (and encoding) are obviously not working with this setting, but around here, no one is using 180-degrees so it's not a big deal.

    I would like to see the 120-degree phase shift bug fixed, and I'd like to see the firmware decode all reverse bursts of 120, 180 and 240-degrees, regardless of what the TX setting is. Most Moto subscriber firmware also does this. It's a minor annoyance, but it's a quality control thing.

    Long story short: Use 240-degrees and you should be good.

  4. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (Sep 04, 2019),box (Jul 24, 2019),com501 (Jul 23, 2019),Forts (Jul 24, 2019),Navy_BOFH (Jul 24, 2019),no7rf (Jul 23, 2019),p25smartzone (Jul 23, 2019),p47r4ck (Jul 23, 2019),SPECIAL_EYE (Aug 02, 2019),that guy (Jul 23, 2019)

  5. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I've done a few more little tweaks to the way my 878 functions. Sharing them with my fellow nerd associates.

    First thing you'll want to do, is enable the full alignment menu via the hex edit. The instructions are at the link in my first post. If anyone has trouble, I'm willing to help.

    Next, access the service menu. DO NOT use the channel knob to go through the settings, as the channel knob is what changes the values. Use the UP/DOWN arrows to scroll through the menus. It's a tedious process, but you're going to write down (I used notepad.exe) every value. This way if you screw up, you can fix your oopsie. Alternatively, use your phone and record a video of the screen, scrolling through each menu.

    The values I tweaked are as follows:

    FQCU: This is the warp/oscillator adjustment. It shows 440.125 (RX) on the display, but when you TX, it changes to 440.025. Throw that into your service monitor and set it up right. I let the radio warm up for 20 mins on a full battery. My service monitor is interfaced with a GPSDO. It was maybe 30 Hz out. I set it to +/- 5 Hz and it hasn't drifted since then.

    PATU, PATHU, PAMU, PALU. This is your TURBO, HIGH, MEDIUM and LOW power settings menu for UHF. I have no idea what Anytone claims they're set for at factory, but I set mine up like this:

    T: 5W
    H: 2.5W
    M: 1.0 W
    L: 0.1W (note: TX PA is not stable much below 100mW. Don't go any lower than this, it's flakey and may drop to 0W output)

    PATV, PAHV, PAMV, PALV: Same thing for VHF. I set them up the same as UHF, except I gave myself 6.0W for TRBO power. (I think factory was set for 7, which is too much IMO)

    MODV/MODU: This sets deviation. The two settings mirror each other. Set one, and it will be the same in the other. I set my deviation for averages of 4.3 kHz. Factory was just a little low for my liking. They may have set it up properly by throwing a 1 kHz tone into the speaker-mic jack at a certain amplitude, but it didn't satisfy what I wanted to see for my average use. Set it up to peak at about 4.3 kHz for your own operating style.

    CTCW: This is PL deviation for wideband channels. The factory had it set properly for 750 Hz spec. That said, there's no reason to run it that hot. Modern radios can decode PLs at much lower levels. The Quantar can reliably hear a PL, even down into the noise, at 200 Hz. I set mine up for ~450 Hz. There are two reasons to set it lower than 750: 1) Some radios have stupid bass gain and are notorious for reproducing LOUD PLs on receive. 2) When using an earpiece audio accessory, you can really hear loud PLs, if the radio you're using doesn't have a HPF in the audio section (which would cut PLs down).

    SQTHU: This sets your squelch level threshold for Squelch Level 1 on UHF. I set mine so it opens at about 0.18uV with 1 kHz tone @ 3 kHz deviation, which on this thing is about 12dB SINAD. You can select different squelch levels via the Radio Settings menu. This calibration sets the "floor".

    SQTHV: Same as above, but for VHF.

    RSSIU: This is your RSSI (idiot bars) calibration. Generate a signal on the test frequency for the strength where you want the radio to show 1 bar, then click the channel knob. The radio will calibrate itself. I used a value of -115dBm. Why? Because the radio goes to full bars at exactly -100dBm, which is the same as the MOTOTRBO idiot bar calibration.

    RSSIV: Same as above, but for VHF.

    VBAT: This is your displayed battery voltage calibration. Use variable power supply. Alligator clip to the back terminals (battery contacts). Take care not to damage them. Put something into the radio between 6.60 and 8.20 VDC (the normal operating range). Confirm voltage with a digital VOM, down to two decimal places. Adjust channel knob on radio to display the same voltage. Done. I imagine this also affects the low battery warning alarm. Mine was fairly good from factory; I think it was 0.03V out or so.

    When done screwing around, power cycle the radio. All of the changes you made will be committed to memory. There is no "save" sequence. The changes are live the minute you turn the channel knob -- which is why I stressed to make a backup of your factory values, first.

    No need to **** with other settings at this point.

  6. The Following 23 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (Sep 04, 2019),axel (Jul 24, 2019),box (Jul 24, 2019),com501 (Jul 24, 2019),cyrus (Jul 24, 2019),Echo4Thirty (Jul 24, 2019),Fatboy (Jul 24, 2019),Hartley (Aug 09, 2019),Jim1348 (Jul 24, 2019),moetorola (Aug 19, 2019),motorola_otaku (Jul 24, 2019),Msingewald (Jul 24, 2019),no7rf (Jul 24, 2019),p25smartzone (Jul 25, 2019),rainbowpenguin (Jul 24, 2019),romanrobles (Jul 29, 2019),shag (Jul 28, 2019),SPECIAL_EYE (Aug 02, 2019),SwissMoto (Jul 24, 2019),TAC-10 (Jul 27, 2019),tbiggums (Jul 24, 2019),TRENT310 (Jul 24, 2019),Viper1-6 (Jul 24, 2019)

  7. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 28, 2013
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Interesting. Would be a total winner if EP made it into the firmware.


    BYW, where would be a good place to buy a 878 in Canada?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to shag For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Aug 22, 2019)

  9. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 09, 2014
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I converted my 868 over the weekend. It was fairly easy and a fun little project. Only issue I had was that it came up in chinese after I flashed it, so took a bit of menu hunting to figure that out. I followed the guide on the f5uii site.

    Thanks Mars for posting this, might be a CCR, but feature filled and cheap/functional. Gonna try some of the mods next.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to TAC-10 For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Jul 29, 2019)

  11. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I've got a promising update here...

    I flashed the radio with the extended firmware. I then set the MODE for 0014 (most expansive coverage).

    The website says 220 is not good. I disagree. Here's what I measured:

    220 MHz: 0.51uV for 12dB SINAD. TXPO: 305mW
    221 MHz: 0.48uV for 12dB SINAD. TXPO: 295mW
    222 MHz: 0.43uV for 12dB SINAD. TXPO: 280mW
    223 MHz: 0.46uV for 12dB SINAD. TXPO: 200mW
    224 MHz: 0.46uV for 12dB SINAD. TXPO 190mW
    225 MHz: 0.46uV for 12dB SINAD. TXPO 120mW

    223.500000 MHz - National FM calling frequency: 0.46uV for 12dB SINAD, 200mW TXPO

    Deviation, warp and everything seems just fine. You're not going to blow up the finals with 200mW. Performance on 1.25M ham is "good enough" to use for talkaround at a busy hamfest. Is the antenna OK at 220? Likely not.

  12. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    box (Aug 05, 2019),com501 (Aug 02, 2019),Navy_BOFH (Aug 03, 2019),no7rf (Aug 04, 2019),SPECIAL_EYE (Aug 02, 2019),Viper1-6 (Aug 02, 2019)

  13. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    So...Anytone has a new tri-band mobile on the horizon. Features are looking amazing, including AES-256. And you know what that means...The 878 (portable) will soon have AES, as they're built on the same firmware. This is ****. We're talking nice, perky, natural ones, too.

    http://premier01.com/D578_Reservation.html

    AT-D578UV3 DMR-TRI Band Mobile Radio

    Frequency Range:
    Tri-band(for US/Canada only)
    136~174 & 220~225 & 400~480MHz

    Function:
    • Working Mode: Full duplex on UU, UV, VV,VU. Dual RX(Analog+DMR or Analog+Analog)
    • True-2-slot: Provides 2-slot communication which allows for 2 talk paths on 1 frequency; ETSI DMR Tier I and II compliant
    • Power: VHF 60W/25W/10W; UHF 50W/25W/10W
    • Auto-senses digital or analog reception
    • 4000 channels + VFO; 10,000 Talk groups with 200,000 digital contacts
    • Support Contact Manager
    • Display: 1.77 inch TFT color LCD, dual display; dual PA; dual PTT
    • Bandwidth: 12.5K/25K (Analog); 12.5K (DMR);
    • Weather Alerts
    • VOX Function; Digital Recording and Play
    • DTMF/2TONE/5TONE encode and decode
    • AES256 digital encryption; Zone selection
    • SMS via keyboard
    • Crossband repeater function
    • Ranging function between radios with GPS
    • Roaming function; Talker alias function
    • Emergency alarm (with GPS data transmission)
    • IP connect to Motorola Repeater
    • Duplexer Talk(Optional)
    • Call interrupt(Optional) Allow the radio installs at any place of the car, all operations can be done by BT microphone.

    Tri-band(for US/Canada only)
    136~174 & 222~225 & 400~480MHz

    US: Part 15B certification for tri band. TX 144-148MHz, 222-225MHz, 420-450MHz. RX 136-174MHz, 222-225MHz, 400-480MHz
    Part 90 certification for dual band. TX 136-174MHz, 400-480MHz. RX 136-174MHz, 400-480MHz

    -----------

    OK, so cool story and all that bro, but there's no remote control head option. The mic is advertised as Bluetooth (cool?), but it has no display. What good is mounting the radio anywhere in your vehicle, if you can only remotely change channels? Especially on a radio with this many features. Damn, had me sold up until this point. Maybe they will come out with a display mic/remote BT head?

    There's also a pretty cool (hammy) antenna which covers 144/222/444 which they're offering to discount along with purchase of the radio:

    http://premier01.com/PR-222-UV.html

    BUT. It has that gay hammy-style PL-259 antenna mount shit. WHY. WHHHHHHHHHHHHHY do this. Just when I was kind of interested, they ruin it with hammy thinking. NMO is the only appropriate mobile antenna thread base. If we're going to use SO-239 as an antenna base, we might as well just use a bolt. Oh wait, Motorola already does this with the XPR7550. Same shit, different pile.

    The Mars AT-D5878UV verdict: Nice radio for base station. So far, very limited use for a real commercial installation. Only hams bolt the entire radio to their dashboard, center console or under the glove box where the passenger sits. If Anytone wants to be taken seriously for the mobile/commercial market, they need a remote-mounting option. Period.

  14. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    bstafford (Aug 05, 2019),com501 (Aug 05, 2019),Hartley (Aug 09, 2019),Mototom (Aug 05, 2019)

  15. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 05, 2012
    Posts
    337
    Thanks
    281
    Thanked 239 Times in 148 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I tried these out, not uber impressed with RX sensitivity or desense, but again, these are a different class.

    DGP8550e with SMA, LAH56RDR9RA1AN and LAH56JDR9RA1AN best bet.

  16. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Anytone advertises AES-256 as being "optional" in the 878 and included in the new 578 mobile radio:

    http://www.anytone.net/pro_info93.html
    http://www.anytone.net/pro_info95.html

    I have emailed Anytone requesting information on AES and how it may be obtained in the 878, but they have not responded to me. I've also contacted a handful of dealers and they haven't responded.

    Additionally, I've opened up the Anytone programming software with Hex Workshop and do not see any references to AES whatsoever. There are references to "Enhanced" encryption, but it's completely vague as to what this means. The CPS does not seem to do anything extra/different when "Enhanced" or "Normal" encryption is selected, nor does it permit one to enter a 32-byte key. In fact, it won't even allow entry beyond TWO BYTES. It seems to randomly fill in the rest of the key data, but it's based on a predictable pattern.

    The firmware (when opened up in Hex Workshop) does not have any hidden AES menus or other references to encryption.

    What's the deal? Anyone know? False advertising, future feature or buggy implementation? Would sure be helpful if there were an English-speaking person at Anytone who could engage in dialog with us. I'd even attempt to call China if they'd answer the damn phone and say "HAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRROAH?????" instead of speaking chowderhead with about 4 seconds of delay/echo on the call.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    Victor Xray (Aug 07, 2019)

  18. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA/QUEBEC
    Posts
    505
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 243 Times in 146 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    Anytone advertises AES-256 as being "optional" in the 878 and included in the new 578 mobile radio:
    What's the deal? Anyone know? False advertising,
    I think the proper term is called “poetic license”. GARY

  19. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by N4KVE View Post
    I think the proper term is called “poetic license”. GARY
    That's probably Chingrish for Pooelectric lie sense"

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    N4KVE (Aug 13, 2019)

  21. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    1,350
    Thanks
    122
    Thanked 1,577 Times in 480 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    Anytone advertises AES-256 as being "optional" in the 878 and included in the new 578 mobile radio:

    http://www.anytone.net/pro_info93.html
    http://www.anytone.net/pro_info95.html

    I have emailed Anytone requesting information on AES and how it may be obtained in the 878, but they have not responded to me. I've also contacted a handful of dealers and they haven't responded.

    Additionally, I've opened up the Anytone programming software with Hex Workshop and do not see any references to AES whatsoever. There are references to "Enhanced" encryption, but it's completely vague as to what this means. The CPS does not seem to do anything extra/different when "Enhanced" or "Normal" encryption is selected, nor does it permit one to enter a 32-byte key. In fact, it won't even allow entry beyond TWO BYTES. It seems to randomly fill in the rest of the key data, but it's based on a predictable pattern.

    The firmware (when opened up in Hex Workshop) does not have any hidden AES menus or other references to encryption.

    What's the deal? Anyone know? False advertising, future feature or buggy implementation? Would sure be helpful if there were an English-speaking person at Anytone who could engage in dialog with us. I'd even attempt to call China if they'd answer the damn phone and say "HAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRROAH?????" instead of speaking chowderhead with about 4 seconds of delay/echo on the call.
    I made several inquiries and the response that I received is that AES-256 is a "future" option. Apparently it's an option that AnyTone wants to develop but for which they have no ETA. Well for pete's sake then don't show it as an option on the website.

  22. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Number 6 For This Useful Post:

    box (Aug 09, 2019),Mars (Aug 07, 2019),no7rf (Aug 07, 2019)

  23. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Number 6 View Post
    I made several inquiries and the response that I received is that AES-256 is a "future" option. Apparently it's an option that AnyTone wants to develop but for which they have no ETA. Well for pete's sake then don't show it as an option on the website.
    Motorola is almost as bad with the lies they uttered to dealers and customers about the APX line getting support for DMR mode in a few months (said for the last 5-6 years).

    Luring a customer with false advertising and non-existent features is worthy of shit-canning my support for this product. The only way to resolve this is to remove mention of unsupported features from their website, or deliver on their claims/promises.

  24. The Following User Says Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    TESTMODE (Aug 07, 2019)

  25. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 11, 2019
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Never been there, but there must be a number of small radio device manufacturers clustered in Quanzhou.

    It's very likely that the Anytone factory has someone in their customer service operation that can speak English.

    Here's a YouTube video posted by someone from Russia that toured the Tytera (TYT) factory in Quanzhou with the guide speaking English. The video shows a number of final assembly, test and packaging lines. Since they offer custom OEM manufacture, it confirms the probability that they are manufacturing radios for a number of brands.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7xmHnpRCZM


    http://www.anytone.net/company.html
    The photos of the Anytone manufacturer's building on their website have similar architecture and age.

    Anytone does list a customer service email contact on their site:

    Qixiang Electron Science & Technology Co.,Ltd.
    Tel:+86-595-22656925 / 22656926
    Fax:+86-595-22656927
    Add:Qixiang Building, Tangxi Industrial Zone, Luojiang District,Quanzhou 362011, Fujian, China
    E-mail: ken6833@qxdz.cn

  26. #40
    Join Date
    May 19, 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 95 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: Australia

    Default

    AES-256 is going to be shortly released for the 878, via a new firmware and SCT DSP update. V1.14 firmware + SCT3258TD v2.01.07B5 is being soak tested now - I'd say about 7-14 days and it'll be declared fit to release.

  27. The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to mitaux8030 For This Useful Post:

    Blackwater (Aug 14, 2019),box (Aug 14, 2019),com501 (Aug 14, 2019),Fatboy (Aug 14, 2019),Hartley (Aug 16, 2019),Mars (Aug 22, 2019),moetorola (Aug 19, 2019),p25smartzone (Aug 22, 2019),SwissMoto (Aug 14, 2019)

  28. #41
    Join Date
    May 12, 2012
    Posts
    545
    Thanks
    939
    Thanked 307 Times in 170 Posts

    Default

    I picked up this radio because of you MARS..LOL
    Great little tech radio and battery I think is nuclear powered last forever.

    Couple little things that has issues, but can deal with I suppose.

    1.When changing talk group too fast it will get confused and not transmit the talkgroup that is selected. This one drives me nuts.
    2.Messing with the channels will for some reason activate talk around or pass-though for some odd reason.

    I set my RSSI U and V for about -105dbm respectively to give me full scale at -90dbm.
    Also corrected FE it was only off -30hz, but since I was there a playing zeroed it up. pretty stable at radio.

    Would I buy again, YES. Like you said, Hammy tech radio it is fine commercial service,,,ahhhh hell no. The Menu is surprisingly easy to use and figure out, hell I have not even cracked the menu.

    I do question RX BER, if someone can do a test (my monitor does not have DMR option) I would be curious to see the results.

    The stock antenna looks pretty good on bird site master. I swapped it for an APX8k antenna and seemed to have a notable difference listening to a distant WX station (not scientific by any means, just what I observed.

    Anytone seems to release updates often. it appears. Mine has 1.13fw
    Radio Referenced...Those who think they know it all are very annoying to those of use who do.

  29. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to moetorola For This Useful Post:

    com501 (Aug 22, 2019),Mars (Aug 22, 2019),no7rf (Aug 22, 2019),SwissMoto (Aug 23, 2019)

  30. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Excellent mini review. I have noticed a couple little quirks here and there, but it is a decent amateur grade transceiver, or commercial technician field portable.

    I’m waiting for 1.14 to be released, as it will supposedly be inclusive of AES encryption support. There is a whole crap ton of guys local to me who are holding out for this feature, and then they will buy it.

    For the price, cannot go wrong. By far, the best amateur grade, dual band, analog/DMR portable available.

  31. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    box (Aug 22, 2019),com501 (Aug 22, 2019),moetorola (Aug 22, 2019),no7rf (Aug 22, 2019),p25smartzone (Aug 24, 2019)

  32. #43
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    The 878 reboots when receiving text messages from a Motorola radio, sending in Motorola proprietary format, with UDP compression disabled.

    The 878 can be configured for "M-SMS" or "H-SMS" (Motorola/Hytera). Why not follow the DMR Standard format? Anytone, you need to get a clue.

    It also doesn't receive Call Alerts. The Moto test radio gets confirmation it has been received by the 878, but the 878 doesn't do/show/beep anything. Holy f%#@. Doesn't anyone test this stuff? If I was on the engineering team, I'd have a 782/982 Hytera, and a 6550/7550 sitting at my desk to test compatibility between products. This is common sense 101 here.

  33. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 15, 2019
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 159 Times in 58 Posts
    Country: Australia

    Default

    The DMR standard format is literally just plain UTF-16LE text in a UDP packet on port 5006. Doesn't get easier to implement than that!

  34. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to syntrx For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Aug 22, 2019),SwissMoto (Aug 23, 2019)

  35. #45
    Join Date
    Mar 22, 2013
    Location
    Mazama WA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 44 Times in 10 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Most of the Chinese DMR radios are a crapshoot when sending/receiving/acknowldeging SMS. Motorola works, so don't count on SMS working across a c-Bridge, BM or a hotspot. Just the way it is with each manufacturer rolling their own. Why, don't know, but it is a PITA.

    As to rebooting on SMS reception, I've not experienced that, not with the original 768's and now the 878's and the 20 odd revs of firmware between them. But that is not to say, that I haven't had to power cycle them or pull the battery off the radio for a few. But that took care of the issue. Many one off issues can't be duplicated, just part of the evolution of these low cost radios.

    These radios are not bulletproof (I think of the MX-350 bricks), nor can the be used for a hammer or club (MX-350 again), but for the cost/ham features/value ratio, I think the signal to noise is quite good with these HT's.
    -- Mike, NO7RF, Mazama WA

  36. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to no7rf For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Aug 22, 2019),SwissMoto (Aug 23, 2019)

  37. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,625
    Thanks
    2,455
    Thanked 1,754 Times in 887 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Has any one worked with the roaming feature in the 878, and how is it? Is the software for this radio online anywhere? I would like to play with it before ordering one. $219 at Powerwerx with no Bluetooth.
    Apparently NOT a radio professional.

  38. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Google is your friend.

  39. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,625
    Thanks
    2,455
    Thanked 1,754 Times in 887 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Got the sw. Have you tried roaming?
    Apparently NOT a radio professional.

  40. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,616
    Thanks
    3,980
    Thanked 6,970 Times in 1,987 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    No. There's nothing to roam to around here. The only multi-site DMR system is a MSCP and this thing doesn't support proprietary Moto systems. Hopefully someone else can be of more assistance.

  41. #50
    Join Date
    Mar 22, 2013
    Location
    Mazama WA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 44 Times in 10 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    the 878 roaming support for TRBO repeaters sucks. We do not use it for ham roaming.

    It does not evaluate by RSSI, no threshold capability, it just looks for the first repeater carrier to pop up. It doesn't look for TRBO beaconing, it just keys up on all the repeaters in the roam list until it hears a transmitter come back.

    Worse, it kerchunks the repeaters but you can't see it on a c-Bridge nor any RID. If the user has mis-configured the roaming set-up (every radio diddler is a system manager), it can keep a repeater transmitter up 100% of the time when adding in the repeater's hang time. We original thought we had a stuck transmitter until we could hear the 878 on the input. We had to DF the user who had no idea the problems he caused.

    NOTE: This is a knee-jerk reply and is more anecdotal then technical...but suck still sucks
    -- Mike, NO7RF, Mazama WA

  42. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to no7rf For This Useful Post:

    com501 (Aug 23, 2019),Mars (Aug 23, 2019)