Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Beep when changing into some talkgroups APX6000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 09, 2019
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 19 Times in 9 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Beep when changing into some talkgroups APX6000

    On *my(agency) APX6000 unit when I switch between talkgroups using the 16 position knob some talk-groups will beep when I hit them.
    In this case one is our TA channel.

    I was looking at the code plug but it is not jumping out at me what makes that talkgroup beep when you land on it.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location
    HTX
    Posts
    1,041
    Thanks
    914
    Thanked 1,409 Times in 619 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The beep is to let you know you are switching between trunk systems or leaving a trunk system for a conventional channel. It cannot be disabled.
    "The Girl Scouts found several hungry REACT members at the finish line..."

  3. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to motorola_otaku For This Useful Post:

    Alpha (Aug 06, 2019),Avery Johannssenn (Aug 07, 2019),GasdaSoftware (Aug 05, 2019),p47r4ck (Aug 13, 2019)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 30, 2014
    Location
    Western NY, Central Florida
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 17 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    Iíve never heard of this before. What is this setting called?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 12, 2012
    Posts
    515
    Thanks
    849
    Thanked 287 Times in 154 Posts

    Default

    My 7k does not beep when switching between trunked to conventional within a zone. Latest FW.

    However it does beep after the channel announcement, no beep when there is no channel announcement.
    Radio Referenced...Those who think they know it all are very annoying to those of use who do.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 10, 2019
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 51 Times in 20 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    My 6000 on FW 15.x doesnt do this either, do you know what FW enabled that? Sounds like it would irritate the hell out of my end users

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 19, 2019
    Location
    Mid-World
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 28 Times in 17 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Any chance you can record a video of the display of the radio when you switch to a mode that causes it to beep?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 09, 2019
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 19 Times in 9 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TESTMODE View Post
    Any chance you can record a video of the display of the radio when you switch to a mode that causes it to beep?
    Last night I was playing with it, and was not getting the beep when moving into the TA talkgroups. Started thinking I was going crazy until it happened again.

    So what I noticed this time while paying attention, the beep happens only after the IP link is made on the trunked talkgroups. Once that link is made then the beep happens when I move to a TG that does not have an IP link.
    When it was not beeping was because the radio had not yet made the IP link so spinning the dial did not cause the beep.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to GasdaSoftware For This Useful Post:

    motorola_otaku (Aug 08, 2019)

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Location
    HTX
    Posts
    1,041
    Thanks
    914
    Thanked 1,409 Times in 619 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GasdaSoftware View Post
    So what I noticed this time while paying attention, the beep happens only after the IP link is made on the trunked talkgroups.
    They are right, it is tied to systems with IV&D enabled and only occurs when the radio is switched off of a system that it is context activated on. I never noticed because just about every Moto system has IV&D enabled now. ;p

    I did poke around in a portable codeplug and couldn't find anything that jumped out at me as being tied to "alert when leaving a context activated system," but the System Registration Indication under Display (which usually determines how a radio acts when it fails authentication) might control it. Everything I use is set to "Alert & Display."
    "The Girl Scouts found several hungry REACT members at the finish line..."

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to motorola_otaku For This Useful Post:

    GasdaSoftware (Aug 08, 2019),Mars (Aug 08, 2019)

  12. #9
    Join Date
    May 09, 2019
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 19 Times in 9 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    In Data Configurations / Data Wide there is a "Context Deactivation Alert Tone" that is checked. That feels like it must be it. Not going to reload this radio to check

  13. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GasdaSoftware For This Useful Post:

    motorola_otaku (Aug 09, 2019),TRENT310 (Aug 09, 2019)