Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Where have all the Thales Liberty programming cables gone?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Where have all the Thales Liberty programming cables gone?

    So I have been searching high and low for the Thales Liberty programming cable and can't find it anywhere. Other than Thales PDF sales price brochures, I am yet to even come across a picture of the cable anywhere on the Internet. Not even eBay where almost anything can be found. Normally with any radio, it does not take too long to come up with anything you need for it. Not the Thales Liberty radio.

    How many of these cables where made? I am sure some must be sitting unused and not needed somewhere. Are they held onto by the owners on account of their rarity? Is there an alternative cable I can use? Is there any source or anyone capable of making these cables for me if I request one? Are there parts I can cobble together to make one myself. I really am not technically inclined though. Any advice? I am open to anything from anyone who has one or can point me in the right direction. Thanks!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 09, 2012
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 307 Times in 126 Posts

    Default

    There is no such thing as a Liberty programming cable. The Liberty uses the sidemate adapter that has a 6 pin hirose on the top and a mini Usb on the bottom. You then use a standard USB cable to program

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radioinstl View Post
    There is no such thing as a Liberty programming cable. The Liberty uses the sidemate adapter that has a 6 pin hirose on the top and a mini Usb on the bottom. You then use a standard USB cable to program
    Is this something I can purchase online? Any links? Do you have one of these cables and could you kindly post pictures if possible? Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 15, 2019
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 257 Times in 92 Posts
    Country: Australia

    Default

    Not anymore. Your only option is the used market, or to figure out how it's wired and build your own.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by syntrx View Post
    Not anymore. Your only option is the used market, or to figure out how it's wired and build your own.
    That is what I figured. I have been searching everywhere. So far no luck. Hopefully one will show up somewhere. If I were to get hold of the speaker mic would its adapter be of any use in helping me with the wiring of a cable?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I forgot to add, if anyone here has a spare Thales 1600703‐1 Audio/Programming Side Connector Adapter I am very interested. Your wish is my command. Got PayPal. PM me.

    Absolutely no luck finding it anywhere.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 06, 2012
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    340
    Thanked 323 Times in 192 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The erac1 ebay seller says they have some in their Liberty listing, maybe check with them.

    The mics are Otto, however not sure Otto ever sold them direct.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to PSEhub For This Useful Post:

    KMS30 (Jan 12, 2020)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Thanks. I will do so.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 09, 2012
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 307 Times in 126 Posts

    Default

    FIrst, if you have 1.xxxx firmware. good luck getting PcP to work with it or getting the firmware upgraded. I will have to look if I have PcP that old, but even if I do, that firmware is so bug ridden, you will not want to use it. I May be able to upgrade the firmware but from that old you have a 50/50 chance of bricking it.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radioinstl View Post
    FIrst, if you have 1.xxxx firmware. good luck getting PcP to work with it or getting the firmware upgraded. I will have to look if I have PcP that old, but even if I do, that firmware is so bug ridden, you will not want to use it. I May be able to upgrade the firmware but from that old you have a 50/50 chance of bricking it.
    Thanks. I would appreciate it if you could advice me how to proceed. Would incremental upgrades reduce the risk of bricking it? You advised me to upgrade it to 3.xxxxx. Would that still be your advice? Do you have a business/ebay contact address?

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 14, 2020
    Location
    NOR-CAL
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Country: United States

    Default Liberty Hirose adaptor

    This what it looks like. The 6 pin hirose can also take KVL Keyfill with hirose cable.

    Pics of Liberty TAC adapter:
    https://ibb.co/0ryXy1P
    https://ibb.co/qj8Rf9Y
    https://ibb.co/0r4ZgG3

    radionerd

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to radionerd For This Useful Post:

    splinter34 (Jan 15, 2020)

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radionerd View Post
    This what it looks like. The 6 pin hirose can also take KVL Keyfill with hirose cable.

    Pics of Liberty TAC adapter:
    https://ibb.co/0ryXy1P
    https://ibb.co/qj8Rf9Y
    https://ibb.co/0r4ZgG3

    radionerd
    Thanks. A member of the forum has offered to make me a cable. Hopefully it works just as the original. I still would appreciate me if you could advise me on how to proceed with the upgrades or if it is even advisable.

    How did those who have the firmware version I had perform their upgrade? Was the radio sent in to Thales or performed by the owners?

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 09, 2012
    Posts
    336
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 307 Times in 126 Posts

    Default

    I am not sure why you as a new Jr member here do not want to listen to the people here who have offered you the answers you came for?

    I have answered you question about firmware. Thales will not touch the radio.

    There is no one here or anywhere else that is going to be able to give you more accurate or detailed answers about the Liberty than me.

    My suggestion is if you have one that old, walk away from it

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to radioinstl For This Useful Post:

    jason (3 Days Ago)

  17. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 16, 2019
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Sorry, I misread the advice. I do value your advice which is why I asked you. I do know Thales no longer services the radio. When you wrote above "I May be able to upgrade the firmware but from that old you have a 50/50 chance of bricking it.", I was assuming you were willing to try to do the upgrade.