Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: XTS2500 Software ADP Keyfail Issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 01, 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    456
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 70 Times in 31 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default XTS2500 Software ADP Keyfail Issue

    Got a goofy one..

    XTS2500 Q Split
    FW: 20.50.10
    FC: 500408-00048C-3 (Factory)
    Software ADP...


    I can read the radio, configure the ADP keys and all that jazz, blow it immediately into the radio and it boots to Key Fail with the normal beeps. Its identical twin works fine. Same FW, FC, from the same batch. I even cloned in a blank CPG that only had one conventional channel and same results as their full agency CPG.

    Any ideas?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,910
    Thanks
    189
    Thanked 726 Times in 326 Posts

    Default

    disable hardware encryption

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Notarola For This Useful Post:

    moetorola (2 Weeks Ago)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 01, 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    456
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 70 Times in 31 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    it is.. its set to software only in the CPS. I can take the identical codeplug and put it in 3 other units from this customer and they all retain keys and communicate encrypted. This one problem child reboots to keyfail immediately after write successful.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    1,482
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 1,780 Times in 554 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xpr8300 View Post
    it is.. its set to software only in the CPS. I can take the identical codeplug and put it in 3 other units from this customer and they all retain keys and communicate encrypted. This one problem child reboots to keyfail immediately after write successful.
    Possibly corrupt firmware. That's what you get with the unofficial 20.50.10 version. Try refreshing the FW.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 01, 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    456
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 70 Times in 31 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Ok ill try another uplift, these radios have never been touched with anything but legit CPS, and firmware updates via ibutton.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    1,482
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 1,780 Times in 554 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xpr8300 View Post
    Ok ill try another uplift, these radios have never been touched with anything but legit CPS, and firmware updates via ibutton.
    If it's not a setting in the codeplug then you are likely dealing with a FW problem or a codeplug structure problem. You know how to address the latter.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 01, 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    456
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 70 Times in 31 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    New minty fresh codeplug, same issue. I guess something hardware related? So crazy since its software ADP.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 06, 2012
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    340
    Thanked 323 Times in 192 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Whats the history on this unit? Any recent trips to depot? Does it have a UCM keypad installed in it or anything?

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Country: United States

    Default

    I came across a XTS2500 model 2 UHF Q split with firmware R09. a while back with a similar issue. The issue with that particular XTS2500 was the main radio was swapped into a XTS2500 UCM enabled model housing. The UCM is built into the keypad/board on that model. Even though hardware was disabled in the CPS, it was still showing a key fail. A firmware update to R17 (at the time) and restoring the factory code plug and programming from scratch ended up solving the issue.

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to radioservice For This Useful Post:

    Notarola (2 Weeks Ago),PSEhub (2 Weeks Ago)

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 01, 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    456
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 70 Times in 31 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    No depot trips and no hardware UCM. Its identical twins do not have this issue, same codeplug(s) in all radios. I always thought the software ADP keys were in the codeplug, but this is baffling. These had 14.x in them but i did a legit ibutton update to 20.50.10.

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 06, 2012
    Posts
    389
    Thanks
    340
    Thanked 323 Times in 192 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    If you were able to get the iButton, and were able to get the files for 20.50.10, it sounds like you must have some contract with Motorola, and you should be able to get help if you push a bit.

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 01, 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    456
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 70 Times in 31 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    they want it flat rate repaired for far more than this radio is worth.