Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: SL3500 MDC?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 25, 2019
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default SL3500 MDC?

    Does the SL3500 do MDC-1200?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,743
    Thanks
    4,470
    Thanked 7,736 Times in 2,153 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Yes it does. Take a look in the sample directory of your CPS installation. The sample SL3500e codeplug shows MDC systems in the dropdown lists.

  3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Mars For This Useful Post:

    Drbo (Feb 22, 2020),sjxts3000 (Feb 23, 2020),Viper1-6 (Feb 22, 2020)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Country: United States

    Default

    Yes confirmed MDC-1200 and working on my SL3500e UHF.
    Signaling systems - MDC - Sys1 in ver 16 build 828 is where to edit the feature.
    One thing I like about the TRBO series MDC-1200 is it completely mutes the packet data "Squak" unlike older non TRBO series radios where you still get a partial data packet even when mute is enabled.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 24, 2013
    Location
    DO24
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    75
    Thanked 111 Times in 54 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by radioservice View Post
    One thing I like about the TRBO series MDC-1200 is it completely mutes the packet data "Squak" unlike older non TRBO series radios where you still get a partial data packet even when mute is enabled.
    This is a handy side effect of the radio architecture being fully DSP-based/serial digital audio and not having an internal analog audio path which introduces a slight delay, but that allows the Data Operated Squelch detection to act on it before the audio gets played back in good signal conditions. In poor/noisy analog decoding conditions it may still play through from time to time.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 06, 2012
    Posts
    411
    Thanks
    365
    Thanked 337 Times in 200 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Just want to say, SL3500e is a very nice radio, with better audio than Hytera couterparts, Motorola must have made a mistake.

    The good engineers must have slipped the SL300 under the radar as being "commercial" not "professional" so they didn't get caught with too good of a design, and then the professional SL3500e leaked out because SL300 design was already out of the bag.

    If only they could make an XPR8550 with a real speaker based on the CP200d using the same trick...

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to PSEhub For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Feb 23, 2020)