Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: APX8000 Upgrade firrmware without loosing keys

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 22, 2020
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default APX8000 Upgrade firrmware without loosing keys

    APX8000 14.20.00 Secure Version R01.07.25

    So I have the 8000 described above. I was wondering if I could upgrade the firmware to something more current without loosing the encryption keys? Usually MACE upgrades happen during firmware updates. My issue is that I have some of the keys in my keyloader and some of the others require me to drive a very long way to get them reloaded.

    Thanks!


  2. #2
    triptolemus's Avatar
    triptolemus is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Dec 15, 2012
    Location
    Shitballs
    Posts
    1,258
    Thanks
    1,010
    Thanked 2,220 Times in 767 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    At R14.00.03, the MACE was upgraded to allow for key retention during firmware upgrades.

    See this thread:

    https://communications.support/threa...ased-8-18-2015

    Given you're at R14.20.00, keys will (should) be retained during FW upgrades.
    Queue Moderator and Scene Whore Extraordinaire.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 22, 2020
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Thanks for that information. So given that do you think it is safe to go to 19.01.01 or 20.00.04 directly from my current version, or should I do some incremental steps of some kind? I have various versions between where I am currently at and the 20.00.04

  4. #4
    triptolemus's Avatar
    triptolemus is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Dec 15, 2012
    Location
    Shitballs
    Posts
    1,258
    Thanks
    1,010
    Thanked 2,220 Times in 767 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I'd read the thread I linked to above and other threads in the Release Notes section and observe how many times a FW upgrade borked an existing feature before you commit to the upgrade. Why do you need to upgrade?

    That said, incremental upgrades hasn't been a thing in forever. Push that puppy straight up to R20 if you want.
    Queue Moderator and Scene Whore Extraordinaire.

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to triptolemus For This Useful Post:

    Mars (Feb 22, 2020),Viper1-6 (Feb 22, 2020)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 01, 2013
    Posts
    133
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 44 Times in 19 Posts

    Post

    CAREFUL! Did'nt a MACE update in R17 or R18 kill all keys?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 30, 2013
    Location
    -
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoser View Post
    CAREFUL! Did'nt a MACE update in R17 or R18 kill all keys?
    Maybe a fluke if you did. Done quite a few R17 to 19 updates with no key loss.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 44 Times in 25 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by triptolemus View Post
    Why do you need to upgrade?
    batmoto - This is a key question here... you really need to think this one out and answer very carefully.

    Quote Originally Posted by triptolemus View Post
    Push that puppy straight up to R20 if you want.
    If you still need to feel you need to update, then (IMHO) that toilet flushing sound you hear in the background is the secondhand value of that radio going down the drain should you ever decide to sell it in the future for something bigger and better.

  9. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to orangekitty56 For This Useful Post:

    AD0JA (4 Weeks Ago),Avery Johannssenn (4 Weeks Ago),SPECIAL_EYE (2 Weeks Ago),triptolemus (4 Weeks Ago),Viper1-6 (4 Weeks Ago)

  10. #8
    Join Date
    May 13, 2012
    Posts
    585
    Thanks
    1,113
    Thanked 366 Times in 200 Posts

    Default

    Are you running the latest CPS???

    You do not want to use CPS version 15, for example. And push it to 20 or anything above your CPS version you have.

    I would likely leave it alone, unless there is a feature you need or an issue.

    Don't fix it if it isn't broken.... applies here.

    Note: You might look thru some resent APX update posts here, I believe there was one refresh 20's I believe that did dump keys to the surprise of some. Because it was not suppose to dump the keys anymore.

    I used to keep up to date on my issued radio, these days the 1gig plus DL's for CPS have me not giving a crap anymore..LOL I am several versions back now. And we keep our working fleet several revisions back on a (relative) bug free refresh for a reason.
    Radio Referenced...Those who think they know it all are very annoying to those of use who do.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 01, 2012
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    461
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 82 Times in 36 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Any firmware above 17 kills the resale value of an APX. If this isn't a concern, and there is a good reason to upgrade past 17, then go straight for it.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to xpr8300 For This Useful Post:

    Avery Johannssenn (4 Weeks Ago)

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 11, 2015
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    17? I thought up thru 19 was still good as far as re-sale.

  14. #11
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,191
    Thanked 1,516 Times in 735 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Nope. For FW 18 they rewrote the boot loader so none of the previous tools will work anymore.