Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Unable to read radio after firmware upgrade

  1. #1
    smorris281 No Longer Registered

    Default Unable to read radio after firmware upgrade

    After I installed the new F/W into my XPR6500, and wrote once, now I can not read or write to the radio. No communication at all. i keep getting an error message that says 1687 Unable to detect applicable devices. I'm scratching my head. i uninstalled the CPS and reinstalled it and even did a system restore to see what that would do. Ran just fine before the F/W upgrade to R1/9/10.


  2. #2
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    821
    Thanks
    272
    Thanked 494 Times in 252 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    This is probaby not the right place to debug failed upgrades but my guess is that (a) the radio is appearing now under Win 7 > Control Panel > Device Manager > Modems instead of Win 7 > Control Panel > Device Manager > Port (COM & LPT) if in Modems the CPS usually can't see it or (b) your're not using the matching CPS (8.0 or better)?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 11, 2011
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 157 Times in 55 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Astro Spectra View Post
    This is probaby not the right place to debug failed upgrades but my guess is that (a) the radio is appearing now under Win 7 > Control Panel > Device Manager > Modems instead of Win 7 > Control Panel > Device Manager > Port (COM & LPT) if in Modems the CPS usually can't see it or (b) your're not using the matching CPS (8.0 or better)?
    You're right, it isn't. That thread was listing firmware files and is not for troubleshooting or support. If you think you need to start a new thread or it is being posted in the wrong forum, you probably should and it probably is.

  4. #4
    smorris281 No Longer Registered

    Default

    Sorry about that guys. I am running version 8 of the CPS. The radio does not appear in those location listed above.

  5. #5
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    821
    Thanks
    272
    Thanked 494 Times in 252 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    Does the radio otherwise work OK?

  6. #6
    smorris281 No Longer Registered

    Default

    The radio works just fine. I just can't read or write with the CPS.

  7. #7
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    821
    Thanks
    272
    Thanked 494 Times in 252 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    If the radio works fine then it's very unlikely that the firmware load is damaged otherwise you'd get a checksum error at boot.

    More likely is a USB enumeration or driver problem. Try a different USB port. Don't plug the radio in until CPS has started.

  8. #8
    smorris281 No Longer Registered

    Default

    I just installed the CPS(8.0) on my dell notebook also running windows 7. I get the same message. Error 1687. It can't be a USB or connection issue. i am using a brand new OEM cable. I could read/write before the firmware update, but now I am unable. I don't think its firmware issue, but that's the onbly thing that has changed.

    Steve

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,416
    Thanks
    3,658
    Thanked 6,323 Times in 1,804 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Steve:

    Check the firmware thread. I posted new firmware (again) yesterday. Moto just did another release.

    As for CPS, 8.0 is no longer the latest version. 8.5 is current. You may wish to try upgrading.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,678
    Thanks
    793
    Thanked 1,344 Times in 664 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    If he can get the radio to talk enough to do the subsequent upgrade. I am thinking if it's still dead, that maybe a static-protection diode got blown on the data lines after the first upgrade, maybe. That would account for everything working but programming, and I really hope that's not the problem, because I'm sure it won't be an easy fix if that's it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    679
    Thanks
    125
    Thanked 203 Times in 104 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    What version of firmware did you write to the radio?

  12. #12
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    821
    Thanks
    272
    Thanked 494 Times in 252 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    At this point the best thing would be to get someone else to try reading the radio in order to isolate the issue to either your programming set-up or the radio.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,416
    Thanks
    3,658
    Thanked 6,323 Times in 1,804 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I conversed with the OP via email. He has updated his CPS to 8.5, and that did not fix the problem. We suspect it *might* be a bad programming cable as he's using an aftermarket one. If that's not the problem, he may get a new radio.

    I sure hope he didn't fry his radio with an aftermarket cable or by static zap. It wouldn't be the first time something like this has happened. I fried a XTL5000 by KVLing it a few years ago...all Moto-original equipment. Low humidity + different ground potential = zaaaaaaaaaaap

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I seen that issue many times after upgrading to firmware that you can`t read and write radio any more.We had to sent to Motorola many radio like that to be fixed.