Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Astro Spectra W3 won't power up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 08, 2014
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Astro Spectra W3 won't power up

    I have a D04KKH9PW3AN model number T99DX+087W__ASTRO with 1meg and 2.5 khz that won't power up.
    BUT, here's the background.
    This radio came with a W7 stuck on it. Not screwed on, just stuck on.
    Radio powers up with the W7, but shows only part of the display as expected, and buttons also only partially work. As expected.
    Was able to read and write and test the radio, and it works well RF wise with the W7 head.
    So, figured I would get the correct HHCH and have a usable radio.
    Bought a HMN4044D head.
    In the box with the radio when I got it was the front chassis low power interconnect board, HLN6344.
    So put the interconnect board/panel plate on and plugged in the HHCH.
    No joy. Nothing happens. It draws absolutely NO current. Not even the couple mils I would expect while it waits for button push.
    Read everything I can find, and most of the discussions are regarding high power radios.
    And they reference Ju2 to Ju3.
    Well all the manuals I can find that reference the interconnect are JU's in the 600s.
    So anybody have suggestions on things I can try?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 05, 2013
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    1,050
    Thanked 114 Times in 56 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    If you're plugging the W3 straight into the DB25 on the transceiver, how are you getting ignition sense to the radio? I have a similar setup, and I used the DB15 on the back of the transceiver for ignition sense and audio.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to p47r4ck For This Useful Post:

    petnrdx (3 Weeks Ago),wiredwrx (3 Weeks Ago)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 04, 2015
    Location
    In the Corn
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked 471 Times in 179 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    If it's a non-W3 TIB, you'll also need to jumper A+ and SWB+ (Pins 20 and 22 if I'm remembering right?). This bypasses what would normally be the soft power circuitry in a true W3 TIB.

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to axel For This Useful Post:

    petnrdx (3 Weeks Ago),wiredwrx (3 Weeks Ago)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 08, 2014
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I am powering the IGN from the DB-15 as you would with a W4, W5 or W7.
    Axel, what is a NON-W3 TIB?
    The interface board I have is the W3 interface board according the the control heads manual.
    Is there a way to power up the radio and get any kind of functions with a "normal" interface board?
    I could pull that board from a working W4 I have just to test.
    But the way I read it, you must have that extra circuitry on the interface board to get the W3 to do pretty much anything.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to petnrdx For This Useful Post:

    p47r4ck (3 Weeks Ago)

  8. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 20, 2014
    Posts
    626
    Thanks
    145
    Thanked 242 Times in 146 Posts

    Default

    There are two W series TIB versions, one specific to the W3, which has some special circuitry to allow one of the W3 buttons to turn on and off the radio. Then, there are W series TIB (For the W series control heads NOT the W3) which is missing the circuitry. If used with a W3 control head, the radio needs a jumper between pin 20 and 22 to boot - but the radio can't bestarted or shutdown with the W3 control head. Or, at least this is my understanding.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to wiredwrx For This Useful Post:

    petnrdx (3 Weeks Ago)

  10. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 04, 2015
    Location
    In the Corn
    Posts
    509
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked 471 Times in 179 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Correct, normal "non-W3" W-series TIBs will still let a W3 function just fine, except for power on/off control.

    The W3 TIB contains extra circuitry for a soft-power flip flop that rides on the MIC line to command the radio to switch SWB+ on and off.

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to axel For This Useful Post:

    petnrdx (3 Weeks Ago),wiredwrx (3 Weeks Ago)

  12. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 08, 2014
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Well the interface board in my W3 radio is as said above a HLN6344 and as far as I can tell that is a W3 interface board.
    It has probably two dozen transistors and three leg diodes, maybe 50 resistors and caps, and a lot of other stuff.
    The W4 radio I have has almost nothing on that board.
    Can I safely jumper between pin 20 and 22 to at least test that it boots up?
    After that, it appears that this interface board may not have the many jumpers set correctly.
    Thanks for the help with this.
    Still hoping to get it going.

  13. #8
    Join Date
    May 23, 2012
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 119 Times in 51 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    That is not the W3 interface board. The correct part number is HLN6459. Your board is the standard NON W3 head interface board.

    You can jumper 20-22 to get it up and running.

  14. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to code352 For This Useful Post:

    p47r4ck (3 Weeks Ago),petnrdx (3 Weeks Ago),wiredwrx (3 Weeks Ago)

  15. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 08, 2014
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Thanks guys!
    Have it working at least temporarily til I locate the correct interface board, or devise a work around.

  16. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 20, 2014
    Posts
    626
    Thanks
    145
    Thanked 242 Times in 146 Posts

    Default

    What is wrong with continuing to use it the way it is right now?

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to wiredwrx For This Useful Post:

    petnrdx (3 Weeks Ago)

  18. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 24, 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 19 Times in 10 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    I have been down this road with W3 mics and W5 interface boards . I used a press to latch switch that switched a 33 ohm resistor between pins 20 and 22. This worked well but there needed to access to the Specra to switch on.
    A friend who occasionally appears on here, designed a small board 1" square that allowed normal switching from the W3 mic to operate. These worked great and I prefer them to the correct W3 interface.

  19. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 08, 2014
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    82
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I could use it with just turning on and off with the ignition.
    But, it would be much better to be able to turn it off when desired by a button push.
    If I can't find the correct board cheap, I like the idea of just putting an on/off push button on the face of the chassis as iltisman describes.
    Likely will mount it under the drivers seat so the few times I might want it off, reaching down and turning it off would not be that tough.
    Would like to have it "factory" tho.