Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Astro 25 Portable Programming cable issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 01, 2019
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
    Country: United States

    Question Astro 25 Portable Programming cable issue

    So this is an issue with a non-oem programming cable, before you beat me up in the comments I know I should use just oem but I didnt feel like spending $300 for another cable.
    Its a built in FTDI USB to serial (aka no DB9). I got a replacement from the seller issue still persists.
    Every 5 or so reads/writes the radio will fail to go into programming mode and display a "floppy disk" icon in the top right of the display.
    Is anyone familiar with the issue? Com port setting perhaps?
    Appreciate any help.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 08, 2019
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 79 Times in 47 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Have you checked to make sure it's on the correct com port? Personally I use a USB to serial, and then a RIBless serial programming cable and I have no issues
    "Thank you for donating to the Metro-State Foundation of dumb***"
    -Turdy Dewitte

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 14, 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 239 Times in 106 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by roboshark28 View Post
    Have you checked to make sure it's on the correct com port? Personally I use a USB to serial, and then a RIBless serial programming cable and I have no issues
    same here... IOGear232 adapter

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 01, 2019
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    To clarify its one of these, and yes it is on the correct com port, and it is communicating but seems to get stuck (see the pic of the radio)
    Untitled.jpg
    shit1.png

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 17, 2019
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I have an aftermarket USB programming cable with FTDI chip for XTS-2500 and it gives me fits now and then. Sometimes it reads and writes ok, sometimes it stops mid stream on a download and the radio is a brick until I give it a few to 20 more attempts and then it finally loads a code plug. I finally got a cheap serial programming cable and use it with a laptop with actual serial port and it works flawless every time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 19, 2020
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    With drivers make sure they are updated to the latest from the manufacturers site, not windows update or wherever else. Double check the COM port settings from Device Manager or default them if problems persist. See Advanced Port Settings there may be a need to adjust FIFO buffers. I also recommend serial cables with IOGear GUC232, this is the USB to Serial adapter recommended by Motorola. Ive done firmware upgrades using this adapter with no problems, using original Motorola cables of course

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to mot2way For This Useful Post:

    triptolemus (2 Weeks Ago)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 24, 2019
    Location
    Sunny Southern California
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 1 Post
    Country: United States

    Default

    Is that a BlueMax49ers cable? Something has happened to them lately, I used to recommend his cables to people who for whatever reason didn't want OEM, but noticed the last couple of
    cables the pins weren't set correctly and would wiggle out of alignment, causing the read or write operation to choke out and fail. Might want to check to make sure the pins are all seated and secure.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 17, 2019
    Posts
    58
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Yes its a BlueMax. The pins are seated and work ok but some radios are very sensitive to it and fail most of the time. Other radios have no problems. A friend got a BlueMax cable after I did and it didn't work at all and the seller replaced it claiming his builder messed up a batch of cables recently.

    Quote Originally Posted by marcotor View Post
    Is that a BlueMax49ers cable? Something has happened to them lately, I used to recommend his cables to people who for whatever reason didn't want OEM, but noticed the last couple of
    cables the pins weren't set correctly and would wiggle out of alignment, causing the read or write operation to choke out and fail. Might want to check to make sure the pins are all seated and secure.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 08, 2019
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 79 Times in 47 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Yea I would ditch the direct USB cables all together. I've found that too many of them have issues with drivers, fake FTDI chips, bad assembly, broken solder joints...... etc. FOr some reason the serial ones are just made better. This is the one I have, and it works perfectly:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    "Thank you for donating to the Metro-State Foundation of dumb***"
    -Turdy Dewitte

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 01, 2019
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by roboshark28 View Post
    Yea I would ditch the direct USB cables all together. I've found that too many of them have issues with drivers, fake FTDI chips, bad assembly, broken solder joints...... etc. FOr some reason the serial ones are just made better. This is the one I have, and it works perfectly:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    Ya I might just have to agree with you on the fact that serial ones are better, I have a serial one with a USB to DB9 and its worked for years with no issues (knock on wood.) The only reason I started looking for another is for a programming "kit"

    So I do also have kind of an update, after asking around some pretty troll infested areas it sounds like that "floppy disk" looking icon on the screen is for PPP Link Establishment.

    I am still working with the seller to help him resolve this issue and will try to keep this up to date. Thanks all for the help so far!

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,704
    Thanks
    2,906
    Thanked 1,892 Times in 959 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    With the amount of counterfeit and just plain sloppy work coming out of the PRC lately, I still opt for the uber expensive Motorola cables. They just work better. That being said, a reliable serial cable trumps every USB cable I have ever used. Yes, it is slower, but the tortoise DID win the race!!
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to com501 For This Useful Post:

    roboshark28 (1 Week Ago)

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 19, 2020
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I purchased a new serial cable the RKN4106 programming/test cable when I purchased my first XTS5000 a while back, there was NO WAY I was going to use a 20 dollar chin cable on an XTS I dropped 500+ bucks on, at the time, which could turn into a paperweight with one mouse click. It was an excellent purchase, having more radios these days I have security in knowing I've got the quality cable for the job, especially these days doing firmware upgrades that take 5 minutes, that's more than enough time for something to go wrong and with my luck it will.
    They're not that expensive these days unless you buy them from a shop at list price. They've been around $100 bucks on ebay for a while now new in the box

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 29, 2020
    Location
    Long Beach CA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Had a similar issue, was bad plug on the computer
    Blumaxx cables always worked well for me, have about 10 of them