Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: R2600 and CGA/VGA Support with GBS-8200

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 05, 2020
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 12 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Lightbulb R2600 and CGA/VGA Support with GBS-8200

    Hello, all - I've read several threads regarding getting the output from an R2600 and other similar vintage service monitors onto a VGA monitor. I have not, however, been able to find any concrete solution as to which conversion methods worked, other than the very pricey GBS-8219. I am considering a GBS8200, and was curious as to whether or not anyone has successfully used that with an R2600, and if so, were any of modifications that have been mentioned for the HP monitors required? Thanks in advance for your guidance.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    The GBS8200 does not work on the R2600 series, even with a scaler attached to change the input level of the RGB & I signals.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to b16a2 For This Useful Post:

    adamr368 (2 Weeks Ago),Alpha (1 Week Ago)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 05, 2020
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 12 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Thanks so much for getting back to me - I cancelled my Amazon order so I don't waste my time. Now I'm thinking it just may make sense to buy an old multisync monitor instead. Does anyone have recommendations on alternative CGA to VGA converters that work - or CGA to any another format that I can output video on? Alternatively, has anyone found a monitor that will natively work with the R2600?
    Last edited by adamr368; 2 Weeks Ago at 12:19 AM.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 10, 2014
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    We use an http://www.ambery.com/av-1m.html
    We connect a couple of R2600's to VGA LCD monitors.
    The only problem we had was the video cable that came with it was very poor.
    The monitor would not sync. We made a new shielded cable and the setup works fine.
    We have been using this setup for probably 4 or 5 years.

    Regards,
    Allen

  6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to 35echo For This Useful Post:

    adamr368 (2 Weeks Ago),Alpha (1 Week Ago),b16a2 (2 Weeks Ago)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 05, 2012
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 90 Times in 59 Posts

    Default

    GBS-8219 is the only one that I am aware of that actually works

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jry For This Useful Post:

    Alpha (1 Week Ago),b16a2 (2 Weeks Ago)

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 35echo View Post
    We use an http://www.ambery.com/av-1m.html
    We connect a couple of R2600's to VGA LCD monitors.
    The only problem we had was the video cable that came with it was very poor.
    The monitor would not sync. We made a new shielded cable and the setup works fine.
    We have been using this setup for probably 4 or 5 years.

    Regards,
    Allen
    Does the AV-1M accept the connection from the R2600 directly without any scaler converters before the input ?
    Is the picture quality high without fuzz, waves or any other imperfections of the text ?

    Cheers

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 10, 2014
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    b16a2

    It uses DB-9 to DB-15HD for the R2600 to AV-1M.
    Set the switch on the AV-1M to XGA.
    Connect the monitor to the AV-1M output.
    No fuzz, no problems except the AV-1M to R2600 cable needs to be shielded.
    R2600CHS service monitor
    ASUS VW193 monitor

    Regards,
    Allen

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to 35echo For This Useful Post:

    b16a2 (2 Weeks Ago)

  12. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    Thank you Allen

    think Ill try one and see how it goes

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 10, 2014
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    b16a2

    No problem. Just remember you are displaying a cga signal on a vga monitor so don't expect HD.
    Let me know how it works out.

    Regards,
    Allen

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    Will do, converter has been ordered

    Am aware of sort falls I may encounter with scaling CGA to VGA.
    If I can get the Image to display similar to the middle section of the picture I posted above (modulation meter area) should be fine

  15. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 10, 2014
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 17 Times in 9 Posts

    Cool

    b16a2,

    That's what it will look like except the top and bottom are not bent diagonally.
    If you need help on the cable let me know and I will dismantle one of ours and tell
    you how we built it.

    Regards,
    Allen

  16. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    Thanks 35echo might take you up on that offer should I get stuck building the cable.

    I was going to start with the pinout shown on the link you provided http://www.ambery.com/av-1m.html

    Cheers

  17. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 05, 2012
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 90 Times in 59 Posts

    Default

    just a quick note on the GBS8219 ....just used a standard RS-232 9 pin extension cable ...straight through...and a M-M 9 pin adapter.

    The cable probably has some shielding but it was just a cheap Ebay purchase along with the adapter.

    The GBS-8219 has a standard 9 pin female for the EGA input so the cable is a Male to Male straight through for the R2600 ...most 9 pin male to male cables are cross over and not straight through.

    The ambry product looks like it could be a good alternative assuming you have a decent cable ....have built those cables before and kind of a PITA

  18. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    The AV-1M converter arrived yesterday and I built the required cable and tested the setup.

    The picture is excellent with no artifacts, fuzz or waves on a 6.5" VGA LCD

    Only issue discovered is the bottom line of the soft menu (last scanline of the display) is missing and I was unable to get it to display by experimenting with the vertical positioning, phase or clock of the converter or display settings.

    For the price of the converter compared to what is out there I can live with this result, Thanks Allen and Jry for suggestions of known working converters, hope this information helps out the OP and others interested in LCD conversion of the R2600X series or run external VGA monitor

  19. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to b16a2 For This Useful Post:

    35echo (1 Week Ago),adamr368 (1 Week Ago),Mars (1 Week Ago),PSEhub (1 Week Ago)

  20. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 05, 2020
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 12 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    This is great news - where did you find the 6.5" LCD, and are you planning on mounting it in place of the CRT? Thanks!

  21. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    Yes the plan is to upgrade the CRT to LCD

    Using an AUO G065VN01 V2 6.5" 640x480 LCD purchased off eBay

  22. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 08, 2014
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    842
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 820 Times in 432 Posts

    Default

    If you want to use an external monitor, the SONY DSC1024HD might be able to do the video conversion you need.

  23. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    Job done

    ...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  24. The Following User Says Thank You to b16a2 For This Useful Post:

    iltisman (6 Days Ago)

  25. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 08, 2014
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    842
    Thanks
    503
    Thanked 820 Times in 432 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by b16a2 View Post
    Job done

    ...

    Looks spiffy! Was the original display color?

  26. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    no just the standard CRT from 1994

    The CGA D9 connector outputs 16 colours where the port from the processor card to display board is only monochrome

  27. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to b16a2 For This Useful Post:

    adamr368 (1 Week Ago),RFI-EMI-GUY (1 Week Ago)

  28. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 05, 2020
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 12 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    This is fantastic, and of course raises all sorts of questions. Were you able to tie into the RGB lines going to the old CRT, or did you have to jump off the DB-9? Can you please post additional pics of the inside, connections, etc.? Finally, how did you interface to the VGA panel, which I looked up after your previous posts and appears to have a ZIF connector or similar. Finally, thanks for having the courage to take this on - I know someone had posted a few pics of adding a color monitor to their monitor but didn't share any of the details on how they accomplished it.

  29. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 28, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    239
    Thanks
    167
    Thanked 95 Times in 56 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adamr368 View Post
    This is fantastic, and of course raises all sorts of questions. Were you able to tie into the RGB lines going to the old CRT, or did you have to jump off the DB-9? Can you please post additional pics of the inside, connections, etc.? Finally, how did you interface to the VGA panel, which I looked up after your previous posts and appears to have a ZIF connector or similar. Finally, thanks for having the courage to take this on - I know someone had posted a few pics of adding a color monitor to their monitor but didn't share any of the details on how they accomplished it.
    I have created a new post outlining the installation procedure that should hopefully answer all your questions

    https://communications.support/threa...993#post129993

  30. The Following User Says Thank You to b16a2 For This Useful Post:

    adamr368 (6 Days Ago)

  31. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 05, 2020
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 12 Times in 3 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Amazing work, and thanks for that thorough post - I am very tempted to do it myself!