Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: xtl5000 contrast question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 01, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default xtl5000 contrast question

    Ive searched and the only answers i can find is that its firmware related problem. My xtl5000 contrast is very dark when looking at the display straight on. When i look at it from an angle, the display is perfect. I read another post that there is an option on the control head that you can change the operating view angle, they said its explained in the operations manual, but i havnt been able to find it.

    Have any of you guys ever seen/heard of this?

    Brian


  2. #2
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 05, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    817
    Thanks
    227
    Thanked 320 Times in 147 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default xtl5000 contrast question

    Loosen up the nuts holding the radio in place and tilt until you can read the display.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 07, 2012
    Posts
    280
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 177 Times in 77 Posts

    Default

    Yep, common problem. Some screens are darker than others... I've also had some fail that went almost completely black. There are no contrast adjustments, other than tilting the unit. The new black-surround O5 heads are better than the old gray versions.

    Yet another example of great Motorola design, impeded by one simple yet massively inconvenient problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 01, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Wonderful! Not impressed with my first xtl.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 07, 2012
    Posts
    280
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 177 Times in 77 Posts

    Default

    I've traded heads around a bit to get some with reasonable contrast. I guess you can say I'm OK with them... I've got 5 O5s in the truck.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 02, 2012
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 116 Times in 26 Posts

    Default

    I recently upgraded a few of my XTL's to the newer 05 heads and I noticed something in the process. I had one head that would not sync with the radio in remote head configuration, but worked fine when it was mounted directly to the radio. I must have swapped a dozen CHIB and TIB combinations - but still no glory. I even took the CHIB off the back of the head that was working fine with the radio, put the CHIB on the new head - still nothing.

    I was upgrading the heads because of the inconsistent contrast on the older style heads. Even with installing all new heads, there is still some difference in the contrast of the head (although not as bad). What I noticed when I swapped heads around (trying to get one 05 head to work) was that the contrast variance followed the radio - not the head. In other words, the best reading head I had was on my UHF XTL, the worst was on the VHF XTL. When I swapped those heads (new or old style) the VHF always looked worse (still does) than the UHF or 900 radio. I have meant to look at the detailed service manual to see if that made any sense from the schematic - or if it was just a fluke in my truck.

    Anybody else ever notice that?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    We didn't see this problem in our units until they were a couple of years old. The only resolve we had, was to replace the $65 dollar display module.
    MJ.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 01, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    So replacing the lcd will fix the problem?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

    Default Replace LCD module to elimate dark screen

    Quote Originally Posted by ccip4911 View Post
    So replacing the lcd will fix the problem?
    Yes - The problem is in the LCD module itself. I have replaced several of these in the past, and in each time, it clears up the display. Since the part
    is fairly cheap, I haven't taken the issue any further.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 01, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Do you have the pn handy? How difficult is it to replace?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

    Default XTL5000 Display part number

    Quote Originally Posted by ccip4911 View Post
    Do you have the pn handy? How difficult is it to replace?
    Part number 7264052H03 - Cost is around $70 depending on your pricing structure. 800 422 4210
    As to changing this - remove the two screws on the face of the display, then take a torx (T10 if memory serves me) on the back side of the display and then unplug the volume control and channel switch. At this point, everything unplugs apart. You should have no problem changing out this display. In all cases, the dark screen cleans up as expected with the new display.
    MJ.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    375
    Thanked 66 Times in 34 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MojaveJoe View Post
    Part number 7264052H03 - Cost is around $70 depending on your pricing structure. 800 422 4210
    Just as an update, the part number has changed. It's now 7264052H05. (even though you'll be told that when you enter the old part #, just thought I'd mention it)

    And I wish I had your pricing Joe, my price is $128.10 CDN!!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 01, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yeah, i saw the updated p/n last night when i added it to my cart. And my price is about the same over a hundred

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    I just logged into MOL and your correct - the part number changes to 7264052H05 even if you type in 7264052H03. A search of the
    root part number 7264052H brings back the 03 and 05 versions. I did see the discription of the 05 as being "high temp". Sounds like Motorola re did this part and as such, charge more for it. Perfect. Glad I ordered a few a couple of months ago.
    MJ.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 01, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Maybe they fixed the problem finally? Mj... Wanna sell one?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 25, 2013
    Posts
    761
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 173 Times in 116 Posts
    Country: Belarus

    Default

    Same issue with APX's head PHCN4000.