Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 40

Thread: Mototrbo mobile - how manually enter boot mode (flashzap)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 18, 2012
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Default Mototrbo mobile - how manually enter boot mode (flashzap)

    Hi!

    Anyone knows how manually enter flashzap mode in mototrbo mobiles? Service manual doesn`t describe how to do it but it says that it`s possible. In handheld radios, pressing PTT + EMG and powering up, enables flashzap. But on mobile, I`ve tryied every button + PTT with no effect! Any ideas?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I am wondering why did you need to that manually,because you can`t gain anything with that mode unless you are updating new firmware.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 18, 2012
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Simply, if You have corrupted radio, You need to manually put it into bootstrap and flash new firmware/codeplug as it service manual describes, but in sm there is no info about manual bootstrap in radios.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 18, 2012
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Anyone knows how to manually enable flashzap in DM3xxx radios?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 59 Times in 19 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trbofan View Post
    Anyone knows how to manually enable flashzap in DM3xxx radios?
    i think i have tried every possible 2 button combo of front panel buttons on a 4550. never could get it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Well if you got corrupted radio then you can use recover option in the CPS to recover radio to default mode.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 225 Times in 113 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Did anyone ever have any success figuring this out?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    The only way to do it is use the recovery option in the cps as far I know or reflash firmware again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 59 Times in 19 Posts

    Default

    specializing in AES1056 encryption

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 225 Times in 113 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Nice! I'll take a look at that!

  11. #11
    satfrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    Did anyone try the microphone on-hook and PTT pressed at turn on?

    Or the PTT button in combination with any frontpanel button?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 225 Times in 113 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I tried PTT + front buttons... no joy. Haven't investigated anything via the accessory port.

  13. #13
    satfrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    Did you also investigate the mike-on-hook ant PTT otogerther at turn-on?

    On hook can be a metal conductor between the mike mouning "ring" and metal plate on the mike body. Or the back mounting "ring" contact to the chassis.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 225 Times in 113 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    No I didn't try with the mic on hook, only off. I'll give on hook a twirl tonight.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    304
    Thanked 435 Times in 202 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    IIRC this can be accomplished using a "boot clip" on the accessory port. I don't know what the pin combination is, but I think the focus should be on the accessory port rather than the microphone or front panel.

  16. #16
    satfrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    The accessory connector is indeed the way one would think with motorola radio's.
    Older (conventional) models use a boot-pin as well.

    Since Hytera uses a top-button and PTT on its portables, and ptt button + on-hook in on the mobiles, I thought it might be worth to try.


    Accessory pinouts on the web did not provide an immediate clue to what pin could be boot-control.
    accon.jpg

    The word boot-clip could indicate some 1-wire device, as we find in the programming cables, could connect to one of the APM contacts to put it into boot mode.
    D119, do you have access to such a clip, it would be nice to see if it connects to one of the APM contacts, if it does so, it would be nice to get a read-out of the device.

  17. #17
    satfrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    To KD8EYF, I don't quite get the trbofz...

    It seems to be linux, a boot to flashzap command looks like it is sent to an IP number...
    As far as i know the mototrbo radio with its usb programming lead should connect to a windows machine.
    How to work with the trbofz?

    I also did see your attempt to build a CPS, sorry to hear big M and its friends did not like your ideas.....

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    194
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 59 Times in 19 Posts

    Default

    you will need to plug in the radio to the linux comuter
    download the binary..
    then execute ./trbofz <ip address of radio>
    the radio will then reboot to fzmode
    specializing in AES1056 encryption

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 22, 2012
    Posts
    685
    Thanks
    304
    Thanked 435 Times in 202 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Well I wouldn't think some experimentation with D+, D-, APM1 and APM2 would do any damage. Obviously you want to try pulling those pins to ground one at a time, or in various combinations.

    I don't have a boot clip, nor do I have access to one. I saw one in passing, and if I recall correctly it was nothing more than an accessory plug with a couple (maybe three at most? I don't recall) wires tied together. I don't recall there being any other components to it, I would've remembered that. I didn't have much interest in it, I simply asked what it was and was told that it was for putting the repeaters into bootstrap mode.

    That being the case, one would naturally assume this would work with mobiles as well. It can't be a big secret. Grounding data lines seldom results in any permanent failures, I'd experiment and see what you come up with.
    Last edited by d119; Jul 13, 2013 at 01:35 AM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,586
    Thanks
    2,353
    Thanked 1,716 Times in 864 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    The accessory connector is probably the place to look. The Vertex mobile has a much simpler and earlier bootloader operating off of the same basic firmware. It will NOT operate from the rear connector for programming if a mic is attached at the front, indicating to me that the rear connector takes precedence.
    Apparently NOT a radio professional.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    134
    Thanked 225 Times in 113 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I'm going to use kd8efy's program first and see how that goes... I really don't want to let any magic smoke out of my radio!

  22. #22
    satfrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    Letting all the usefull somke out would be quite hard to do, most pins have some protection.
    Vbus, SW B+, Spkr- and Spkr+ are the ones we don't wat to pull to GND.
    One could always use a small resistor like 100 ohms 1/8 or 1/4 watt, or maybe a small fuse like 50ma in the wires to get some protection.


    accpins.jpg

    You might want to try these pins.

    Pin 23 (emergency switch) and pin 17 which is default PTT pin.
    On the portable one needs to press PTT and Emergency on turn-on maybe these two pins connected to ground (pin16) could work.
    Last edited by satfrx; Jul 14, 2013 at 02:22 AM.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,586
    Thanks
    2,353
    Thanked 1,716 Times in 864 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Don't forget that when the Trbo mobile powers up, the front mike is NOT RECOGNIZED until after the boot cycle is complete, another reason why it would not work as a boot PTT source.
    Apparently NOT a radio professional.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 18, 2012
    Posts
    43
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Press PTT on the microphone and hold it, connect 23 pin to the ground and radio will start in flashzap mode!

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,586
    Thanks
    2,353
    Thanked 1,716 Times in 864 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Ah HA! Gonna try that in the morning. I have a 4550 that thinks its a 4350 after a customer 'tried' to program it. I have NO IDEA how they did that, but my last resort before sending it to tequila land is a firmware refresh.
    Apparently NOT a radio professional.