Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 31

Thread: Harris Unity XG-100M

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 10, 2020
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default Harris Unity XG-100M

    I have five XG-100M radios in an interoperability package I've been tasked with adding these to our 800 MHz P25 system. I was told my our system's administrator that another agency paid $1800 for a system key from Harris for the system. Is this correct? The project will be dead in the water if this is true.

    Such a nice radio too, 30 Mhz to 860 Mhz to only put conventional channels in would be a shame.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 06, 2012
    Posts
    623
    Thanks
    656
    Thanked 622 Times in 331 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The RPM/RPM2 package with (1) Master dongle part# SS-SW1D has a NASPO price of $1,095

    No dongle is part# SS-SW1E and last I checked NASPO price is $895

    Additional Master dongles (more systems) is part # SS-DF3A and is $450 each

    Additional "Distribution" dongles is part # SS-DF3B and is also $450 each


    Again, this is just NASPO pricing to give you a ballpark.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to PSEhub For This Useful Post:

    robertjglenn (6 Days Ago)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 16, 2019
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    If you are referring to the radio system key, there shouldn't be a cost, if they just add it to your software license. Once it is added, you will have to update your license in RPM via the internet. Super easy.

    If you are talking about software, the price is expensive, but it covers many different radios.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Basincom For This Useful Post:

    robertjglenn (6 Days Ago)

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 356 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    This is exactly how we do ours. The AAC license is updated and then it shows the sysid and wacn. VIPER would not allow us to update the AAC with their system, so they send us a hardware dongle every couple of years.

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rescue161 For This Useful Post:

    motorcoachdoug (4 Days Ago),robertjglenn (5 Days Ago)

  8. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 10, 2020
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I have bigger problems with these radios. I'm waiting on our local rep to work with me.

  9. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 356 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    What problems are you having? Our system has a few thousand of them, so if I have seen the problems, I may be able to help.

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 10, 2020
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    These are new, but haven't been ever used for 5 years. I read one, typed in a hundred or so conventional analog & digital channels and reprogrammed it. I have proper, licensed software. After writing it back to the radio, the radio displays "MRU IN PROGRAM MODE" and "PLEASE WAIT". This goes on for hours without end. I can read the radio and the data I programmed is there, it just won't function. I used a 9 pin serial cable to read and write the radios from the rear serial plug. Even though it displays the above, I can still read and write to the radio.

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    206
    Thanked 377 Times in 182 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Do you know what FW version is in the radios?

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 10, 2020
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    You'll have to forgive me if this information is wrong, I'm learning about Harris as we go...

    CH SW: 12099-8200 2.0.27
    CH Digital SW: 12099-1110-1 PWB_REV06
    Radio SW: 12099-8700 2.0.25
    Radio Digital HW: 12099-8010-01 PWB_REV06
    RF HW: 12099-4010-01 PWB_REV10

    Hope this is right. Thanks for your help.

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 356 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Do you have the CAN terminator plugged into the radio or remote head?

  14. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 10, 2020
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    These are not remote head radios. I have used a 9 pin serial to the rear of the radio and was am to read and write to the radio. When I plug a mini-USB into the control head the computer can "see" the radio, displays the serial number and the radio type, but the read and write buttons are greyed out.

    I'm not "in trouble" over this. My boss would be just as happy to use these as trade-ins towards something Motorola. For my part, since we have them and the interface cables to the ACU, I'd like to see them work. They cover from low band up to 800 MHz including P25 trunking. I think it's worth the time and effort to figure it out.

  15. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 356 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The radio needs to have a terminator plugged into one of the CAN terminals on the MRU. This is true for remote and dash mount configurations. I'm assuming that you have a CH100 control head, so you should use the USB cable to program and should use the "Unity Product Management" under the USB drop-down to program. The 9-pin serial port can be used to program CH-721 control head radios, but it will cause problems if you use that and you have a CH-100.

  16. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 356 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    The radios can be recovered, but TAC is not as helpful as they once were. There was a guy named Ernie that worked there and he was awesome. He helped me recover a CH-100 XG100M that my co-worker killed by writing CH-721 firmware to that head. Needless to say, I spent a lot of time on the phone with Ernie. I'm sad to say that he retired the very next day. Not due to our firmware mix up, but because it was his time to enjoy retired life. Lately, the "help" we get from TAC is to send the radio back for repair.

  17. #14
    Join Date
    May 27, 2012
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 153 Times in 80 Posts

    Default

    If it's stuck in program, it's "usually" not a CAN issue. For that, you would see "Lost MRU" as a primary symptom. (CS7000 is a different story)

    I would agree with Forts that it is likely a firmware / template version mismatch. Make sure your RPM version and radio firmware version are aligned.

  18. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts
    193
    Thanks
    865
    Thanked 107 Times in 63 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    rescue161,

    I know off OPs topic but are you saying these radios us CAN (like in Control Area Network), thus the terminators.

    If so do you know what flavour the CAN is, is it SAE J-1939?

  19. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 356 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I don't know other than the CAN terminators come in the box with the radio. It looks like a small 3-pin plug.

  20. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 06, 2012
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    206
    Thanked 377 Times in 182 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robertjglenn View Post
    You'll have to forgive me if this information is wrong, I'm learning about Harris as we go...

    CH SW: 12099-8200 2.0.27
    CH Digital SW: 12099-1110-1 PWB_REV06
    Radio SW: 12099-8700 2.0.25
    Radio Digital HW: 12099-8010-01 PWB_REV06
    RF HW: 12099-4010-01 PWB_REV10

    Hope this is right. Thanks for your help.
    I don't see the actual firmware version in there anywhere. You'll be looking for an XGP or XLP version... Like XLP R06M03 kinda thing.

  21. #18
    Join Date
    May 05, 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Isn't it the 12099-8700 2.0.25? Just an old version of it.

  22. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 16, 2019
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Sounds like you were writing the radio firmware before the control head firmware. You might have success if you have another radio, and update the non problem head , then place it on the problem radio. Then complete the firmware update in the problem radio. Another way is to have Tax remote in to the radio via the RS232 cable and a program called Putty.

  23. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 10, 2020
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Sorry for ghosting you all, Fri Sat and Sun are my RDOs. Now it's Monday...

    Yes, the CAN bus terminators are plugged in. They are plugged in to the rear of the radio. There are two of them, I assume one is for the radio and the other is for the control head, seeing as these are dash mount.

    When I write the radio with the serial cable, I get an error code that briefly pops up on the radio screen. PERS ERROR=0502

    When I read the radio, my channels are there, but no zones. On serial, there is no radio info provided. In USB I get the following:

    Connection:A40202005954. This does not match the serial number on the sticker on the outside of the radio.
    MRU ESN: N/A
    Radio Name: NONE
    Radio Type: Unity XG=100 Mobile
    Firmware: N/A
    AES: N/A
    DES: N/A
    CH100 SW Version:12099-8200 2.0.27
    Supported Frequencies: 030.00000 - 870.00000
    Unsupported Frequencies:

    Is there a class or online instruction available for working with these? The lack of documentation is a problem.

  24. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 356 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    You should not be reading or writing through the serial cable. That is only for CH721 heads.

  25. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 10, 2020
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rescue161 View Post
    You should not be reading or writing through the serial cable. That is only for CH721 heads.
    Okay. When I use the standard mini-USB cable I can "see" the radio but the option to read and write is greyed out. Is there a special USB cable for this puppy, or some type of driver I don't have?

  26. #23
    Join Date
    May 27, 2012
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 153 Times in 80 Posts

    Default

    What version RPM/RPM2 are you using? Error 502 points towards template / firmware mismatch

  27. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 10, 2020
    Location
    Gainesville, Fl
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phantom View Post
    What version RPM/RPM2 are you using? Error 502 points towards template / firmware mismatch
    R6A11 (6.0.11.180419) Its a couple years old, but so are the radios.

  28. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 13, 2012
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    231
    Thanked 356 Times in 164 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    We just use RPM 14 for everything but the XL series. That of course is RPM2. Try with RPM instead of RPM2.