2 radios to one antenna 800mhz

Status

medic550

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 26, 2012
Messages
203
Got a project that im trying to work on.

Got a local dispatch center that has a 800 mobile radio at a console hooked to an outside antenna. They want to add a second 800 mobile but do not want the hassle of a second antenna.

Could a combiner work?
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,440
No unless both radios are on fixed frequencies. if they are trunked then you wont be able to do it.
 

Trunker

Contributing Member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Aug 18, 2012
Messages
29
For anyone who is thinking of adding a control station combiner, we looked into that, and those tend to take a separate transmit and receive antenna, and don't take kindly to being put through a duplexer. The amount of loss you put up with is ridiculous.

The definition of experience? Trying things like this and realizing facts later on.
 

d119

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
May 22, 2012
Messages
1,098
There *are* such devices as control station combiners that would fit the bill for this (dBspectra makes one, for example). The issue is that they are extraordinarily expensive. A few of our customers have some 6-port units, and have 6 trunked consolettes on 1 antenna.
 

Astro Spectra

T¹ ÆS Ø - Moderator, CS Forums $upporter
Staff member
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
1,010
The hassle of a second antenna is way less than trying to do a combiner that works properly for trunking radios. Plus as an added bonus you get a back-up system that keeps working in case of a primary system failure *free of charge*. Just make certian the antenna installer put the antennas at least 30' apart.
 

Sram

Retired
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
5,120
Am I the only one who thought "2 girls 1 cup", after reading "2 radios, 1 antenna"?

:p
 

d119

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
May 22, 2012
Messages
1,098
Am I the only one who thought "2 girls 1 cup", after reading "2 radios, 1 antenna"?

:p

You are, unquestionably, the only one who thought that. ****ing perv.
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,440
haha.

well at least we know what was for lunch.
 

Magnus

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
1,234
We have used the control station combiners for several jobs now, they work great if you are close to a site, if not the loss can be a problem.
 

BobbyBoucher

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
287
Yes, it could work. What type of mobile radio is being used? Is the idea to use both radios at the same time on the same channel/group/ frequency?
 
OP
medic550

medic550

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 26, 2012
Messages
203
No, One was mainly to be a receive. But needs to be able to transmit at times.
and yes this is two trunking radios on same system being used as control stations. One is tied into a zetron dispatch console and the other is a standalone radio.

Looks like I might have to do an antenna.
 

BobbyBoucher

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
287
If possible mount the other antenna as far away from the other antenna as possible.
Have you looked into a system where 2 consoles could use 1 radio?


No, One was mainly to be a receive. But needs to be able to transmit at times.
and yes this is two trunking radios on same system being used as control stations. One is tied into a zetron dispatch console and the other is a standalone radio.

Looks like I might have to do an antenna.
 
OP
medic550

medic550

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 26, 2012
Messages
203
Way its set up now. One stays on a hospital medcom channel and the other scan some ems/fire talkgroups and can transmit on them.
 

Notarola

Prolific Contributor
CS Forums $upporter
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
2,440
For emergency communications I highly recommend 2 antennas. If the cost is a factor you may be able to run a (arrggg) mag mount or some other type of antenna to the second radio. There is also the option of using a BDA this would eliminate the linitation to just the 2 radios and would allow legit personell to use the system inside your facility.
 
Status