Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: XTS5000 P25 Text Messaging function on 70cm

  1. #1
    spectreman No Longer Registered

    Default XTS5000 P25 Text Messaging function on 70cm

    Hi all.
    I am wondering if any ham radio XTS5000 owners in Australia, especially in Melbourne, have ever tried using the text messaging function on 70cm ?
    I have my radio set up for this as per the akardam.net document http://www.akardam.net/moto/docs/xts5k_tms.php
    Seems pretty easy to implement.
    I would love to have a go at using this with other hams in Melbourne.
    Cheers, Chris. VK3TYG


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    944
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked 694 Times in 258 Posts
    Country: Australia

    Default

    Depending on the firmware in the repeater, it may work, or it may crash and reset the repeater

  3. #3
    spectreman No Longer Registered

    Default

    Hi Matt.
    Interesting info about the repeater use ! If there could be a problem, we could always try it on the P25 70cm simplex call freq.
    The akardam guide specifically talks about using the TMS in a simplex mode anyway.
    So Matt, where are you located in Australia ?
    Cheers, Chris.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    944
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked 694 Times in 258 Posts
    Country: Australia

    Default

    Yep, cant hurt - just give it a shot and see what happens. TMS really ain't that flash anyway, no one seems to really use it in practice.

    Oh, I'm in Sydney too BTW

  5. #5
    syntrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    I've used it in the past.

    The way it's implemented on the XTS 5000 makes it more of a gimmick than anything else; the APX isn't much better. It's fun from a novelty perspective but gets old when considered as an actual form of communication.

  6. #6
    spectreman No Longer Registered

    Default

    Well I would not be using TMS as the primary form of communication. But since it is present in the radio, may as well have a go at using it.
    I cannot test it myself cause I only have the one radio with TMS.

  7. #7
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 06, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    908
    Thanks
    388
    Thanked 466 Times in 209 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default XTS5000 P25 Text Messaging function on 70cm

    They got it slightly better with TRBO by allowing t9 predictive text input. Makes it slightly easier to send a text.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  8. #8
    mikem No Longer Registered

    Default

    It's nice to pass canned messages real quick but it is key intensive to read and then reply. I tested my VHF 5000's on a Portland Oregon 2 meter box that was supposed to be p 25 capable but is exclusively analog and text messaging worked fine from 45 miles away. Of course I was chewed out for using encryption even though my tests were done at midnite with no local activity until I id'd in analog my intent and then switched to digital and then the radio cops all came on the air.

  9. #9
    VK3RX No Longer Registered

    Default

    Glad to hear you have radio cops over there, too

  10. #10
    mikem No Longer Registered

    Default

    Damien they love to drop in on unused repeaters and jump in on active conversations with nothing constructive. The only positive outcome is that non repeater use has exploded with lots of hams migrating to simplex, it seems the radio cops can't figure how to program their radios for simplex use. 900 and220 MHz are great bands to use to get away from the 2 meter squirrels up here.

  11. #11
    syntrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    I've had almost the opposite problem: having to switch back to analog to tell stupid/ignorant repeater users not to key up over the top of P25 conversations in progress!

  12. #12
    VK3RX No Longer Registered

    Default

    We have mixed mode repeaters here, and I suspect at least some analog users might get bugged sometimes. That said, the one I use has very little traffic on it analog or P25, so no-one has much to complain about.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 08, 2012
    Location
    Old Continent
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked 31 Times in 16 Posts
    Country: Switzerland

    Default

    Do you know which repeater firmware versions make the repeater to crash?
    Is sthis still common with newer versions? Any known reasons for this to happen?
    Thanks!

  14. #14
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    973
    Thanks
    400
    Thanked 740 Times in 346 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    My experience is that it is was a problem with release 9 (firmware 16.xx.xx) and earlier, possibly up to release 12. The reason? With RDLAP on thre station was expecting VSLEP era DataTAC traffic and not P25 CAI packet data.
    Last edited by Astro Spectra; Feb 20, 2013 at 07:43 PM.
    It is a fine thing to be honest, but it is also very important to be right

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 08, 2012
    Location
    Old Continent
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked 31 Times in 16 Posts
    Country: Switzerland

    Default

    Interesting! But with the introduction of P25-CAI Moto should have corrected this long ago.
    I still experience TMS crashes on Quantar repeaters running R20.xx.xx.
    Did not test behaviour of latest release R20.14.048 yet..

  16. #16
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    973
    Thanks
    400
    Thanked 740 Times in 346 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    R20.xx doesn't mean a lot as the release is the xx digits not the R20 part. So you are on release 14 and there is no RDLAP selection.
    It is a fine thing to be honest, but it is also very important to be right

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 08, 2012
    Location
    Old Continent
    Posts
    145
    Thanks
    321
    Thanked 31 Times in 16 Posts
    Country: Switzerland

    Default

    Has this been corrected with latest release R20.14.048? I am in the process to upgrade.

  18. #18
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    I can confirm that version 10 does NOT have the problem, I am running an admittedly older version of the firmware, but the V10 ones that I have (R20.10.xx) pass signalling paging, and TMS, etc. (RD-LAP) stuff just fine. You DO have to remember to turn on RD-LAP when setting up the station, however...

  19. #19
    spectreman No Longer Registered

    Default

    Hi. I suppose it will be very similar to the instructions in the website mentioned in the first post.
    Should work fine between the two different models.

  20. #20
    Astro Spectra's Avatar
    Astro Spectra is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Nov 22, 2012
    Posts
    973
    Thanks
    400
    Thanked 740 Times in 346 Posts
    Country: Great Britain

    Default

    Do you have APCO packet data in your Flash?
    It is a fine thing to be honest, but it is also very important to be right

  21. #21
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    If you do a bit more searching here on this site, you will find out more about TMS. The biggest problem is with no repeater/base that can handle the TMS messaging, it's a joke to try to use in simplex mode - it doesn't acknowledge or retry if there is an error or it doesn't send it correctly. It only attempts to send a message once and that's it. Extremely unreliable, and a very much useless bell-and-whistle type of option.

  22. #22
    sloosecannon No Longer Registered

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    If you do a bit more searching here on this site, you will find out more about TMS. The biggest problem is with no repeater/base that can handle the TMS messaging, it's a joke to try to use in simplex mode - it doesn't acknowledge or retry if there is an error or it doesn't send it correctly. It only attempts to send a message once and that's it. Extremely unreliable, and a very much useless bell-and-whistle type of option.
    Interestingly, the efj 5100 actually does a retry. 3 times iirc. Still, agree on the overall point. Nifty, but not very useful.

    Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 4 Beta