Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: xts5000 700mhz issue Conv

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 03, 2013
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Default xts5000 700mhz issue Conv

    Reading the post about someone who couldn't get 700mhz trunking working. Problem here is no 700mhz in Conv freqs. Any ideas what to check? I looked around and sorry I couldn't find anything.

    xts5000 II
    Hosp 12.00.00
    DSP 12.00.00
    8meg
    RF Band 700/800


  2. #2
    triptolemus's Avatar
    triptolemus is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Dec 15, 2012
    Location
    Shitballs
    Posts
    1,259
    Thanks
    1,015
    Thanked 2,237 Times in 773 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    What?!?

    Attachment 2667

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 03, 2013
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Can't get any 700mhz channels into the radio. However radio should be 700/800mhz.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 24, 2012
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    So you are trying to add 700 trunking or 700 conventional. For conventional make sure you have the correct bandwidth set. For trunking it seems like you had to define the channel spacing first.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 17, 2012
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Are you trying to add the 700 MHz conventional interops channels? Because those are digital..
    I'm the guy standing in background shaking his head when people show a complete lack of common sense....

    "The very nature of public safety work causes Charles Darwin to spin in his grave."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 03, 2013
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Ok It was the bandwith. I had them set to RX only which doesn't allow you to change the bandwith. Changed to TX set the bandwith and changed back to RX
    Most worked but a few didn't, doesn't like 794 and 805mhz on RX. I could put them in for TX

  7. #7
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 06, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 405 Times in 182 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    794 and 805Mhz are not valid receive channels.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 03, 2013
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Cyrus. This is what I was looking at http://www.radioreference.com/apps/d...llsign=WQGH335

    One other question if anyone knows.
    On my XTS2500 III when doing user programable scan from the radio. I can use the 4 way button to program scan. Left / Right for Zone and Up / Down for channel. No need to rotate the channel selector.

    On the XTS5000 II in my first post. The 4 way nav button works left / right for zone but up / down doesn't change channel when programming scan.
    Any Ideas?

  9. #9
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 06, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 405 Times in 182 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tbendick View Post
    Cyrus. This is what I was looking at http://www.radioreference.com/apps/d...llsign=WQGH335
    All I see is a bunch of frequencies with no indication whether they are transmit or receive frequencies. The higher frequencies would be receive frequencies for repeaters.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    1,497
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 1,806 Times in 561 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Are those mobile extenders? The 3 lower frequencies are -30MHz from the 3 higher frequencies, respectively. That would correspond with 700 MHz repeater frequencies, but the license is limited to 2W maximum output. You probably only need to listen to the 3 lower frequencies.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 03, 2013
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Number 6, thanks think there is a good chance that is the case.

    Now if I can just figure out the navigation button. I love the way the 2500 works, now need to find a way to make it work the same on the 5000

  12. #12
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 06, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    307
    Thanked 405 Times in 182 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Number 6 View Post
    Are those mobile extenders? The 3 lower frequencies are -30MHz from the 3 higher frequencies, respectively. That would correspond with 700 MHz repeater frequencies, but the license is limited to 2W maximum output. You probably only need to listen to the 3 lower frequencies.
    That would make more sense. That range of frequencies is for mobile/portable transmit only.
    Cyrus

    Bubbles: I'd like to see that Red Blue Green c***sucker put one of those together, duct-tapin' it.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 03, 2013
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Just an update. The issue with the up and down navigation button while programming scan is a firmware issue.
    had the radio updated and now works , much quicker to program.