Thread: xpr8300 PA failure

Thanks

Default xpr8300 PA failure

when the PA on the 8300 goes out, should there be something in the RDAC Event log? no red alarms on the status.. RDAC kinda useless? RSSI goes up when i key up analog on the freq. So i know antenna system is okay.

Thanks

XPR8300's are famous for losing their output power. Thats one of the reasons for the 8400, but no they don't normally show any alarms when they fail.
    "Don't worry about what I am, cause I'm a state agent so what you need to do is make sure your doing the right thing **** boy" -J. Dewitte

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Magnus View Post
    XPR8300's are famous for losing their output power. Thats one of the reasons for the 8400, but no they don't normally show any alarms when they fail.
    I know, thats why i did the full speed fan mod to keep it cool... guess it wasnt enough.
    When i get it down im gonna put a temp sensor on the Heatsink as well as a PTT sensor and connect it to a netdruino, so i can monitor whats happening, and cut of the TX if temp get to high.

Thanks

In my personal experience, RDAC and XPR-8300 repeaters are a useless combination. Even if you open up an XPR-8300 repeater and start disconnecting TX/RX modules, RDAC will still show everything as green. Handy! I'm hoping this has changed in newer RDAC revisions, but likely not.

No idea if things are better with the MTR-3000 or XPR-8400. Haven't bothered to waste any more time on RDAC once I discovered this.

Cheers,
    SD.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,980 Times in 1,000 Posts

The only thing RDAC is real handy for is checking to make sure all your repeaters are still networked and for looking at RSSI remotely.

syntrx No Longer Registered

On the subject of XPR8300 PA failures... there are a few NIB 8300's around for decent prices.