Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Latest Tuning Version for XTS2500 4meg ?

  1. #1
    MODAT No Longer Registered

    Default Latest Tuning Version for XTS2500 4meg ?

    I recently HOST/DSP upgraded a 4 meg XTS2500 UHF R2 and the tuning version was upgraded to 1.00.04. However, according to the documentation provided with the .cvns the latest tuning version for XTS2500 UHF R2 is 1.00.06. Can anyone confirm if this version 1.00.06 is for 8 meg radios only or confirm what the latest tuning version for the 4 meg UHF R2s is? Just trying to determine if there was a problem upgrading the tuning partition or if it's at where it should be.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,608
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 300 Times in 150 Posts

    Default

    The laterst tuner v5.04.03 (CPS version 17.00.00) should support your radio with no issues. If you say what version of firmware /cps you have updated to I will post the tuner version that was released for that version of CPS.

  3. #3
    MODAT No Longer Registered

    Default

    I upgraded a 4 meg XTS2500 UHF R2 to the latest firmware/DSP (the .cvn from R17.00.02) using CPS version R17. DSP was upgraded to 16.00.01, Host to 9.00.41 IIRC, and the tuning partition was upgraded to 1.00.04 as I mentioned in my previous post. I'm aware that the 4 meg radios cut off at 16.00.01 and 9.00.41 so no problems there. The thing that puzzles me is in the Microsoft Word file that is included with the R17.00.02 firmware package (Steps To Upgrade Your Radio) it lists the latest version of the tuning partition for a 4 meg 2500 UHF R2 as 1.00.06.

    My question, is tuning partition version 1.00.06 for 8 meg radios only or was my 4 meg radio supposed to be upgraded to 1.00.06 as well? Perhaps if someone has a 4 meg UHF R2 XTS2500 that they have recently upgraded they could verify this for me? Thanks.

  4. #4
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 05, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    755
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 311 Times in 145 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    Did you use an iButton to do your upgrade?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,478
    Thanks
    519
    Thanked 1,091 Times in 570 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Hmmm. Wierd, I recently upgraded my 800 MHz 2500 (BN, 8 meg) to the latest 17.00.02 using iButton and CVN properly, and checking the tuning partition, it seems to be at 1.00.05. Strange. There shouldn't be any difference in tuning versions between 4 and 8 meg radios, AFAIK.

    Oh, and cyrus, you have to use the iButton if you want the tuning, codeplug and secure partitions to be upgraded...

  6. #6
    cyrus's Avatar
    cyrus is offline Trailer Park Superintendent
    Join Date
    Jan 05, 2012
    Location
    Moonbase Alpha
    Posts
    755
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 311 Times in 145 Posts
    Country: Japan

    Default

    Yup, that's why I asked if he used an iButton.

  7. #7
    MODAT No Longer Registered

    Default

    Affirm on the iButton. Yeah Alpha, according to the document your current tuning partition should be 1.08.05 which is a far cry from 1.00.05 unless you mistook the 8 for a 0. Odd indeed. I figured that with the memory being full as far as DSP is concerned on 4 megs that perhaps the same could be said for the tuning partition as well. I suppose the best way for me to confirm if my issue was a fluke would be to get input from someone who has a 4 meg UHF R2, has done the same upgrade, and see what their results were.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,478
    Thanks
    519
    Thanked 1,091 Times in 570 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Oops! You're right, it's 1.08.05! Mis-read that damn too-dim display at night. Anyway, the tuning partition is the same size regardless of the 4 or 8 meg memory limitation, so there should be no difference as far as that goes. Also, that "Steps to Upgrade Your Radio.doc" file might not get updated correctly from version to version. A better reference are the release notes file that describes the firmware release, or the XLS spreadsheets that come in the firmware update ZIP files. Here's our release notes section:

    http://www.p25.ca/threads/11-Astro25...firmware-notes

  9. #9
    MODAT No Longer Registered

    Default

    Yeah those 2500 displays are a bit dim aren't they? I checked out the info in the release notes for R17 as well as what Mars posted for R17.00.02 and unfortunately there is no mention of tuning partition versions. This is somewhat annoying if I was supposed to be upgraded to 1.00.06 and wasn't considering that I paid for the iButton to have all the appropriate areas upgraded and they weren't. Granted it's probably not a huge problem having 1.00.04 instead of 1.00.06 but it still bothers me. I guess I'll have to look into this further and see if the person I purchased the upgrade from can get some info from Moto on this.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,608
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 300 Times in 150 Posts

    Default

    Possibly the upgrade version is based on the feature set of your unit. if you dont have such and such feature then the upgrade sosnt upgrade past the last basic requirement.

    Ie 1.00.06 is needed only if feature xx is installed in the radio.

  11. #11
    MODAT No Longer Registered

    Default

    I suppose that's possible however I doubt it. If that were the case my flashcode is pretty feature rich so I would think it would upgrade to the latest. In checking the 16.00.01 Step's To Upgrade Your Radio doc it lists the latest tuning version as 1.00.06 so that rules out the radio possibly only upgrading to the 16.00.01 current tuning partition. Perhaps there was some sort of error during the upgrade however no error was reported by the CPS. It reported Host, DSP, Codeplug, and Tuning Partition were all upgraded. If it wasn't an error I would think the strongest possibility would be the radio being an AN version and possibly not supporting the latest tuning partition. Thanks for all the input guys. If I get a definitive answer to this problem I'll post it here.

  12. #12
    MODAT No Longer Registered

    Default

    Another thought... Perhaps using R17 CPS caused the issue on account of it's instability.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,608
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 300 Times in 150 Posts

    Default

    I read the release notes for the CPS and I saw this.

    R16.00.01 was the last release where 4M updates will be made

  14. #14
    MODAT No Longer Registered

    Default

    Yep. The interesting thing though is the R16.00.01 release Step To Upgrade Your Radio doc states that the latest tuning partition for that release was 1.00.06.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    1,608
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 300 Times in 150 Posts

    Default

    maybe a typo,

  16. #16
    deejay No Longer Registered

    Default

    That is very interesting because I have a VHF xts2500 AN version that had v7 Host/DSP and I did a flash update using the "Dirty" method and now the radio is Host 09.00.41 DSP 16.00.01 and tuning version 01.09.10 .. Is this normal? It seems like the other people have an older tuning version.. Also, it tunes fine with the tuner that comes with v16 CPS.. Could the person that mentioned posting the version/tuning chart please post it? Thanks!