Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: EDACS System bleeding over

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts

    Default EDACS System bleeding over

    Hello all I have an MCS2000 that on 2 sites I am getting bleed over from an EDACS system. I am monitoring an Motorola 800mhz system. On both of the sites there are a couple of channels that are 12.5khz apart. Unfortunately the EDACS tower is closer than the two towers that I am trying to monitor so it is bleeding over. Is there any way thru programming to remedy this situation?

    Thanks in advance


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,961
    Thanks
    5,180
    Thanked 8,796 Times in 2,413 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    I don't have a MCS codeplug to play with on this computer, but there should be an option under Advanced, for RF AGC. (Not microphone AGC)

    Have a looksie.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 15, 2012
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 320 Times in 139 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    There doesn't seem to be an option on my UHF or 800MHz MCS for AGC RF, just FYI.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 07, 2013
    Location
    On the road
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 90 Times in 21 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    This can be reduced by getting HISD to correct their over-modulation issue. Some of their channels are waaay over 4KHz deviation.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 34 Times in 21 Posts

    Default

    Its been really nice this past week, spring break, without all the bus drivers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    2,128
    Thanks
    303
    Thanked 1,079 Times in 489 Posts

    Default

    About the only option is to reduce the amount of input signal. try a smaller antenna hopefuly this will reduce the edacs signal enough that the IF filtering will drop the bleedover enough that the Moto signals will be easier for the radio to seperate out.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts
    1,134
    Thanks
    1,078
    Thanked 1,617 Times in 689 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KevinC View Post
    This can be reduced by getting HISD to correct their over-modulation issue. Some of their channels are waaay over 4KHz deviation.
    Boy they'll let anyone in here...

    The MCS is a great radio, but the adjacent channel selectivity is a little too close to the Maxtrac for my liking. Since the OP upgraded to Astro Spectras he probably doesn't have this problem anymore.

  8. #8
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,534 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Do they have the global IF selection 6.7 or 7.8 kHz in the radio-wide parameters like the Astro series? That may help if it's implemented in the MCS series...