Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Micom FM Mode

  1. #1
    RussianE39 No Longer Registered

    Default Micom FM Mode

    I think this is really interesting thing to see on Micom2 control head display:
    MicomFM.JPG
    Anyone has FM in their Micoms2 ?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    2,123
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 1,077 Times in 487 Posts

    Default

    it might have been incorporated into the firmware as a future option that was never produced.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    What exact model number of 2 series and firmware version in the radio?

  4. #4
    RussianE39 No Longer Registered

    Default

    Notarola, this option is even works. I'll try to get firmware from this magic micom.
    Software_Version=03.5703
    Hardware_Version=03.0000
    Control_Head_Software_Version=01.017
    Control_Head_Hardware_Version=02.000

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 04, 2012
    Posts
    2,123
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 1,077 Times in 487 Posts

    Default

    Russian that would be great. I stand corrected on the option never being produced.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    For the 2ES the last release version I knew of was 3.5702 Your version 3.5703 might be beta or SP firmware... Then again with the changes in micom ownership who knows what rev was publicly released vs what was being installed during production.

    Who would use FM in the HF bands? Military? but they are usually 30-88mhz...

  7. #7
    syntrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    Nobody but hams.

    The Micom H (which looks like it essentially a Micom 2) was specifically sold as a ham rig.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    It was sold? I've never seen evidence of it being produced, but an operators manual was published.

    We've been wondering if we can make a control head like PRC148's done, except with a KNOB. I don't know about you, but I like knobs.

  9. #9
    syntrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    I've seen the manuals and brochures too but never a physical radio, so it's entirely possible it never hit the market.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 23, 2012
    Posts
    816
    Thanks
    493
    Thanked 961 Times in 403 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by syntrx View Post
    I've seen the manuals and brochures too but never a physical radio, so it's entirely possible it never hit the market.
    http://www.rigpix.com/mischam/motorola-mobat_micomh.htm

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location
    The Old Dominion
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    148
    Thanked 53 Times in 37 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Well, at least a prototype existed!

  12. #12
    mikem No Longer Registered

    Default

    I posted a thread a couple of weeks ago about receiving some military helicopters on 29.6 FM via F2. The thread is in the yahoo AR29 MHz group, aftern posting I received a couple of interesting followup e-mails. So maybe there are some mil HF users on FM?

  13. #13
    syntrx No Longer Registered

    Default

    Military users don't consider 29MHz to be HF.

    Most VHF combat net radios will do 30-88MHz (with most operation towards the bottom of that band), with many going up to around 108MHz and some others capable of going a few MHz below 30.

    That said, there's so much DC to daylight software defined equipment available now that will do any mode you please (including high speed 128kbps-multi Mbps data modes...)
    Last edited by syntrx; Mar 21, 2013 at 09:05 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    What about foreign entities? Maybe RussianE39's radio was used by oilfield services (a big industry in Rus) or in transportation (it's a very big country, you can travel 10,000 km on a train without doubling back or leaving the country. Many of these long rail lines aren't electrified; whether or not they are fully controlled and signalled is a guess to me but considering the scope of that task I'd guess no.)

  15. #15
    PRC148 No Longer Registered

    Default

    Can you post a picture of the model tag?

  16. #16
    PRC148 No Longer Registered

    Default

    Is there any way you can grab that firmware for us?


    Quote Originally Posted by RussianE39 View Post
    Notarola, this option is even works. I'll try to get firmware from this magic micom.
    Software_Version=03.5703
    Hardware_Version=03.0000
    Control_Head_Software_Version=01.017
    Control_Head_Hardware_Version=02.000

  17. #17
    kd8gua No Longer Registered

    Default

    Unrelated to FM mode, but if you search through the MRC software, I know for sure one of the factory options that any Micom can be set up with is "Ham Only Operation." I thought that was pretty cool that if you were a die hard Motorola ham user, you could factory order a Micom 2 or 3 to only work the ham bands.

    Does the FM mode option have something to do with using the Micom LINK system? This device converts VHF/UHF FM to HF SSB and vice versa for linking local VHF/UHF groups long distances.

    http://www.mobat-usa.com/brochure/acc_fdn6123_link.pdf

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 26, 2013
    Location
    Living in a van, down by the Little River in Alabama
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts

    Default

    The Micom II H appears to be the one radio that should be on every DXpedition. At the very least, a damn good backup to have. Now if there was a decent ALE implementation that wasn't expensive in terms of bandwidth and channel-time....

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 20, 2012
    Location
    Snowy Russia
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 35 Times in 20 Posts
    Country: Russian Federation

    Default

    Russian railroads still use FM on HF, like in the begginning of the previous century, there are two channels - 2.130 and 2.150 Mhz. Subway trains use 2.444 Mhz, FM too. But as far as I'm concerned, RR never used imported HF radios.
    Guess it's nice to have an FM firmware for RR monitoring, I wouldn't mind to have a radio like this

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    That solves the mystery. Thanks to Eaton for contributing.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 20, 2012
    Location
    Snowy Russia
    Posts
    192
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 35 Times in 20 Posts
    Country: Russian Federation

    Default

    Again, I've never seen or heard that these radios were used by Russian Railroads. The aren't even on the list of radios recommended for railroad use (yes, there's one!) And I guess they're not capable of the proprietary tone signalling used by the railroads. There are a lot of VHF Moto radios in use (mostly GP340 and some GP300s) but HF radios are always made in Russia.
    Maybe Moto planned to sell their HFs to RR as well and that's why they made an FM-capable firmware. Maybe they actually did sell some, but not to Russia since HF railroad frequencies are used in almost every country of the former USSR.