Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: XTL 2500 FL 05-94

  1. #1
    VK3BLS No Longer Registered

    Question XTL 2500 FL 05-94

    Hi all,

    Hope someone can help me here, i have an XTL 2500 with a remote Kit but when i installed the unit the display shows FL 05-94
    i have upgraded the radio firmware and tried to do a head unit sync but i can not do this wile the radio shows this error.



    Ben


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 92 Times in 48 Posts

    Default

    Seems to me that is a control head/chib mismatch. You have the wrong version CHIB on the control head.

    Jason

  3. #3
    VK3BLS No Longer Registered

    Default

    Hi Jason,

    Thanks for the info i will look in to getting a new CHIB

    Ben

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    396
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 92 Times in 48 Posts

    Default

    Post the part numbers of the head and chib. I have both chibs for sale so I should have one that works if interested.

    Jason

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 24, 2012
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default One more for a CHIB....

    [QUHOTE=JMR061;19957]Post the part numbers of the head and chib. I have both chibs for sale so I should have one that works if interested.

    Jason[/QUOTE]

    (diff person asking/replying)

    I have a question- I have 2 HLN1463E O5 control heads that don't seem to work with either the older HLN1453B or newer HLN1468A CHIBS.
    (yes, the heads are from Panter). Do you have any CHIBS for sale that you can confirm work w/ the E rev?

    FYI I get FAIL 05/93 with the older CHIB and 05/94 w/ the newer one. Also the older CHIB works with an HLN1463D head fine.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    VK3BLS No Longer Registered

    Default

    From what I know,
    FAIL 05/93, you need to sync the head and body with CPS.
    FAL 05/94, the CHIB is the wrong one for the model Head.

    Ben

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 24, 2012
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VK3BLS View Post
    From what I know,
    FAIL 05/93, you need to sync the head and body with CPS.
    FAL 05/94, the CHIB is the wrong one for the model Head.

    Ben
    I don't think the 05/93 is correct as the E-heads work fine when hooked up dashmount.

    Bob

  8. #8
    VK3BLS No Longer Registered

    Default

    I had the same problem with one of my radios as a local unit it worked. Put the remote kit on and I got fail 05/93 did a sync with CPS radio worked.
    My other radio was a local and I put a remote kit on an I got fail 05/94 I had a CHIB HLN1453 changed it to new model put it on the radio and it worked no problem.


    Ben

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 24, 2012
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VK3BLS View Post
    I had the same problem with one of my radios as a local unit it worked. Put the remote kit on and I got fail 05/93 did a sync with CPS radio worked.
    My other radio was a local and I put a remote kit on an I got fail 05/94 I had a CHIB HLN1453 changed it to new model put it on the radio and it worked no problem.


    Ben
    I'll try it and let you know....thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 24, 2012
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scratchy View Post
    I'll try it and let you know....thanks.
    Nope, no good. Can't even communicate with the brick. I kinda suspected it wouldn't work
    when it showed the 05/93 error even before the GCAI control cable was attached. It's gotta
    be the wrong CHIB. There must be a 3rd rev....

  11. #11
    VK3BLS No Longer Registered

    Default

    Ok you could try an firmware update on the radio as a local. My mate also had the same error he tells me he put it back as a local did a zap flash upgrade to newer FW and his worked when he put it back as a remote unit. Could not hurt to try.


    Ben

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 24, 2012
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    97
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VK3BLS View Post
    Ok you could try an firmware update on the radio as a local. My mate also had the same error he tells me he put it back as a local did a zap flash upgrade to newer FW and his worked when he put it back as a remote unit. Could not hurt to try.


    Ben
    Already 17.01.01. Head has 13.-something. It's all the latest except for that new narrowband
    update a month or two ago.

  13. #13
    VK3BLS No Longer Registered

    Default

    Ok I have XTL 2500 they are running FW 19.xx.xx.
    But, don't what radio you but strange you could reflash with the same FW. If you have a XTL 5000 Or 2500 19.xx.xx might work. It has not installed the FCC mandate 12.5khz on any of my radio I am using CPS 18.xx.xx As well.

    Ben

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,738
    Thanks
    3,117
    Thanked 1,985 Times in 1,003 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    The FCC mandate is a flash option in the radio, if it was manufactured after 1/1/2013, not the firmware.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 25, 2013
    Posts
    758
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 173 Times in 116 Posts
    Country: Belarus

    Default

    Same problem here - FAIL 05-94.

    XTL5000 with O5 head, remote config.

    Head: S/T HLN1452D Kit No: HLN6903E
    CHIB S/T HLN1471E

    Body is FW 19.*, but head was never upgraded.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,738
    Thanks
    3,117
    Thanked 1,985 Times in 1,003 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    FYI, Bob, 17.01.01 is very buggy. You need to get a newer flash.
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon