Thread: Difference between TRBO & APX UHF/GPS antennas (besides $50)

Thanks

Default Difference between TRBO & APX UHF/GPS antennas (besides $50)

Has anyone used both of these antennas and noticed a performance difference?

FAF5260 - Motorola Stubby UHF / GPS Single Band Antenna 470-520 for APX at $60.00

and

PMAE4048 - UHF Stubby Antenna (w/GPS) 450-527 MHz for MotoTRBO at $10.50

$60.00 is a little steep for a single band + GPS antenna unless of course there is a noticeable increase in performance. Or is this just a case of charging a premium for the top-tier accessories?

Thanks
    Thanked 8,774 Times in 2,404 Posts

The XPR7550 uses an entirely different antenna connector. It's like a SMA, but without the center pin. 6550 uses a normal SMA.

Thanks

That antenna is for the 6550, so it has the sma.
    "Don't worry about what I am, cause I'm a state agent so what you need to do is make sure your doing the right thing **** boy" -J. Dewitte

Thanks

Both of these antennas are sma

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Mars View Post
    The XPR7550 uses an entirely different antenna connector. It's like a SMA, but without the center pin. 6550 uses a normal SMA.
    Mars, is it the same style as what a Waris/Genesis/Saber radio would take? Or yet another type entirely?

Thanks
    Thanked 8,774 Times in 2,404 Posts

No idea. I've never owned any of those before.

syntrx No Longer Registered

And in a bit of a twist, the XPR7550 IS (the fancy blue one) does use an SMA, for some reason.

TRBO antennas don't fit well on XTS radios (at least) unless you remove the rubber O-ring on the antenna connector. I've never tried putting one on an APX, so I don't know if they're different.

Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,534 Times in 739 Posts