Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Discussion of Wireline cards & daughterboards

  1. #1
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default Discussion of Wireline cards & daughterboards

    [NOTE: This thread has been split from another - Mars]

    Yowza. OK, here's a version matrix I am working on, oldest to newest. If I got the vintages or associations between SCM and WIB's wrong please correct me but here's what I have been able to put together from all the sources, thank you guys for your inputs...

    Quantar Boards Part Numbers

    3/22/2013 by Alpha Labs

    Thanks to batdude, Mars, MattSR, and khw for background info.


    Ancient (Pre-EPIC):

    TRN7475 SCM (Useless - analog only)
    TRN7477 4WL
    TRN7667 8WL

    Older (EPIC):

    TRN7704 SCM ASTROTAC (unknown if EPIC or not)
    TRN7705 4WL
    TRN7706 8WL
    TRN7760 SCM (unknown if EPIC or not)
    TRN7900 SCM (unknown if EPIC or not)

    TTN4093 SCM ASTROTAC
    TTN4094 SCM (replaced by TLN3397, will not flash DIMM's!)
    TTN5128 SCM DBS DATA FRU (replaced by TLN3457)

    CLN6686 SCM DBS DATA (replaced by CLN1177)
    CLN6873 SCM ASTROTAC (replaced by CLN1273)

    TLN3397 SCM (unknown if EPIC or not)
    TLN3457 SCM DBS DATA FRU

    Old (EPIC II):

    CLN6961 SCM NIR (replaced by CLN1293)
    CLN6960 SCM IR (replaced by CLN1294)
    CLN6955 4WL
    CLN6956 8WL

    New (EPIC II):

    CLN1177 SCM DBS DATA
    CLN1273 SCM ASTROTAC
    CLN1293 SCM NIR FRU (replaced by CLN8426)
    CLN1294 SCM IR FRU (replaced by CLN8447)
    CLN1295 4WL II FRU
    CLN1296 8WL II FRU

    Newer (EPIC III):

    CLN1614 SCM (2-piece, NIR only)
    CLN1621 SCM FRU (2-piece)

    Newest (EPIC IV, no sockets, flash only):

    CLN7692 SCM FRU
    DLN1229 SCM
    CLN6956 4WL IV
    CLN6958 8WL IV

    Astonishingly New (EPIC V):

    CLN8426 SCM FRU (NIR)
    CLN8447 SCM FRU (IR)

    V4.2 Card:

    TTN4010
    CLN1185 FRU

    Astro Modem Card:

    TLN3265 FRU

    SAM:

    TLN3364

    UHSO Module:

    TL3459

    Phone Interconnect Card:

    TLN3390
    Last edited by Alpha; Mar 22, 2013 at 08:47 PM.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,948
    Thanks
    5,139
    Thanked 8,726 Times in 2,395 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Hey Brah. Here's some extra goodies for your list:

    V.24 Daughterboard - TTN4010B
    ASTRO Modem Daughterboard - TLN3265A

    Both of these attach to the wireline card.

    Incidentally, the ASTRO Modem is so rare, I thought I'd post pics and share a dump of the Flash ROM on the board. (AT27C256, PLCC-32)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 03, 2012
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 116 Times in 26 Posts

    Default

    Great List! The only piece I would check is the Epic II 8WL card, I think it's CLN6956 (I would have to look downstairs)


    There are also : (I believe these are FRU numbers)
    CLN1295 4WL II Module
    CLN1296 8WL II Module

    CLN1185 FRU for V.24 Wireline Interface
    TLN3364 SAM Repeater Access Module
    TLN3459 UHSO Module
    TLN3390 Phone Interconnect Board Module

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 03, 2012
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    68
    Thanked 116 Times in 26 Posts

    Default

    Mars,

    What markings are on your Astro Modem Flash ROM? I have several of those boards downstairs and as I recall, one has different markings. I pretty sure it's VERY old, came off an old 77xx SCM with B009.xx.xx firmware. I always wondered if that meant "Beta".

    There are also an entire series of controllers and wireline cards that are referred to as "Trunking". I have a couple of the wireline cards - they won't seem to work in conv mode.

    You can swap the SIMM module from a CLN6961 conv board onto a CLN6960 IR board and that seems to work fine also.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,948
    Thanks
    5,139
    Thanked 8,726 Times in 2,395 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Hey khw. This is a friend's card. The marking on the flash ROM is:

    3740D1
    Z2
    8-16-93

  6. #6
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    OK, I have updated the list above with more information. I found an old file by batdude (doug) and the additional info from Mars, MattSR and khw have been most helpful. Thanks to all...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 66 Times in 35 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    OK, I have updated the list above with more information. I found an old file by batdude (doug) and the additional info from Mars, MattSR and khw have been most helpful. Thanks to all...
    Thanks for putting that list together! I've got a few comments to add...

    I've got a CLN6956B 8-WIRE wireline card here, and it has two AT29C020 flash memory chips on it. They're both DIP and in sockets. The list currently shows this as a 4W card and implies that the heading implies the flash memory is soldered on. It works with my station with an EPIC II card (CLN6961), except I don't see the "8 WIRE FULL DUPLEX" option in the CSS dropdown menu when it's installed.

    The DLN1229 EPIC IV SCM is for ASTRO 25 trunking applications only, as far as I know. I don't think there's any way to get conventional firmware in it, but would love to be proven wrong.

  8. #8
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    That may be because the 8WL board is only used in one particular application from what I gathered. The only use for it is on the "6809 Single Site Analog Trunking w/Console Priority Interface" in an application matrix from the manual, there are 11 different possible combinations of applications and only one of them (the one mentioned previously) is the ONLY one that requires the 8WL board - for the Console Priority Interface option specifically.

    It may be in the RSS/CPS you have to select it to be a 6809 Single Site Analog before you will get the 8-wire Full Duplex option presented to you, perhaps - otherwise it only shows as a 4WL board for compatilibty, since all the other possible applications don't need the 8-wire option.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 23, 2012
    Posts
    117
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 66 Times in 35 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    That makes sense... Like Astro Spectra said, I've never seen use of the 2nd V.24 port or analog wireline documented in the Quantar either, but now that I have the latest SCM firmware, I figured it was worth revisiting.

    The 8W card does appear to give you all the full wildcard capability, though. It sounds like the hardware for the additional inputs and outputs is present on this card. I haven't tried removing it and putting the old 4-wire one back in, but a post on Repeater Builder seems to imply that some of this additional wildcard capability will stick around after the swap:

    http://www.repeater-builder.com/moto...antar-tip.html

    If anyone wants a codeplug from my station with the "enhanced" wildcard 8WL card, let me know, and I'll post it.

  10. #10
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tbiggums View Post
    If anyone wants a codeplug from my station with the "enhanced" wildcard 8WL card, let me know, and I'll post it.
    That sounds useful, after reading the RB article it sounds like just having that enables access to wild-card features and turns them on, so an already so-conditioned codeplug would be appreciated.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,948
    Thanks
    5,139
    Thanked 8,726 Times in 2,395 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Note to all: I've split these posts out of the Quantar R020.14.048 firmware upgrade thread, into a new one.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 04, 2013
    Posts
    182
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 90 Times in 44 Posts

    Default

    I've got another one for you:

    This looks like an 8 wire board and is model CLN7343H. Came from an Astro Tac 3000:
    P1050470.jpg

    Incidentally, I notice that it has two headers for the daughterboard but most of the wireline boards I've seen only have one header.

    Here is the matching V.24 board that was on it (TTN4010E):
    P1050473.jpg

    Do all the V.24 boards have two headers? or is this one unique? Is it possible that the combination of the above CLN7343 and this V.24 board would allow connection of 2 Quantars on the same V.24 board?

    Could I put this V.24 board on a CLN6955 that has only 1 header?

    Can an existing Astro-Tac 3000 be expanded by adding standard wireline boards (i.e. CLN 6955) to it? or do the wireline boards in an Astro Tac have different firmware?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 29, 2012
    Posts
    65
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Speaking of the V.24 board, anyone seen a schematic for it somewhere? Its not in my Quantar Service Manual.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 09, 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    944
    Thanks
    298
    Thanked 694 Times in 258 Posts
    Country: Australia

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mizzotch View Post
    Do all the V.24 boards have two headers?
    Yes, from what I've seen they all do.

    Quote Originally Posted by mizzotch View Post
    Is it possible that the combination of the above CLN7343 and this V.24 board would allow connection of 2 Quantars on the same V.24 board?
    Yes, ASTROTACs have 8 cards and 16 channels. Two V.24 connections and two 4 wire connections per wireline card.

    Quote Originally Posted by mizzotch View Post
    Could I put this V.24 board on a CLN6955 that has only 1 header?
    Sure, that will work fine.

    Quote Originally Posted by mizzotch View Post
    Can an existing Astro-Tac 3000 be expanded by adding standard wireline boards (i.e. CLN 6955) to it? or do the wireline boards in an Astro Tac have different firmware?
    Try it and see what happens, and let us know! I suspect the ATAC3000 wants to see a specific type of wireline board before it will work.

    Cheers,
    Matt

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 21 Times in 14 Posts

    Default

    What is the date sticker on this modem firmware? I came across one dated 2-17 96 I believe.
    MJ.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 04, 2013
    Posts
    182
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 90 Times in 44 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MojaveJoe View Post
    What is the date sticker on this modem firmware? I came across one dated 2-17 96 I believe.
    MJ.
    If you're referring to the V.24 and wireline board I just posted, I don't see a sticker with a date on it like the PROMs on the older boards.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 21 Times in 14 Posts

    Default

    I was reffering to the Modem daughter board, to go on a wireline card. I recently found one of these boards, and I wondered what may be the latest firmware for this card. The firmware on this card is in a socket, so I'll read it and let you know.
    MJ.