Thread: XTS/MTS Bluetooth adapters

Thanks

Default XTS/MTS Bluetooth adapters

Does anyone here have experience with the aftermarket and Motorola OEM Bluetooth transmitters that attach to the side of the MTS/XTS series radios?

I am interested in using a Bluetooth adapter to transmit radio audio to a video camera using the XLR input....see below for the receiver.....

http://www.jkaudio.com/bluedriver.htm

I don't know much about Bluetooth, but do I just attach these devices, then press a pairing button, some light blinks, then the camera hears the radio?

Also, do the MTS2000, XTS3000, and XTS2500 use the same Bluetooth adapters?

Paul

Thanks
    Thanked 8,712 Times in 2,394 Posts

The Moto adapter is nice. It has a switch which enables/disables routed audio to the headset/radio speaker. When bluetooth disconnects (range, battery, etc.) it automatically defaults back to radio speaker. When I worked as a shooter, I used this BT adapter every night. It was absolutely worth every penny. As you likely know, it's easy to get tunnel vision and focused on a call you're covering, meantime a larger incident is going down somewhere else but you don't know about as you're not aware...this BT is the only way to roll. In areas where agencies are "scanner sensitive" or you wish to be discrete, BT headset is always assumed as being for cell phone, so no one knows the wiser.

The other adapter on ebay ($100~) also works, but it does not revert to speaker when BT headset is shut off or battery dies. This sucks IMO. But it does work. There's no toggle switch on it for BT/speaker either.

I picked up the TRBO/APX version of it as the APX BT feature only works with Moto "mission critical" headset crap, and not the BT standard. If you ever add a APX to your arsenal at work, you'll have to buy the $100 eBay BT adapter if you want to do the same thing described above.

Thanks