Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How to revive a XPR6580IS?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 16 Times in 7 Posts

    Default How to revive a XPR6580IS?

    Was flashing the firmware on a XPR6580IS, about halfway through it barfed up an error about not being able to read the radio and refused to continue. The radio is now dead, except that I can still get into the flashzap mode with PTT + EMERG. The CPS refuses to see the radio, so I can't get it into the firmware update mode to try again.

    Is there any way of recovering this radio?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 31, 2012
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 61 Times in 31 Posts

    Default

    If the CPS is not seeing the radio, that means the radio is not registering as a network device with Windows. Without that, there's really no way to communicate with it at all to try & recover it. If you send it into Motorola with a note saying it failed during an upgrade, they *might* fix it at no charge...depends on who looks at it & what mood they are in at the time.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,728
    Thanks
    3,060
    Thanked 1,965 Times in 992 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Out of curiosity, how old was the F/W you wer bumping from?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 31, 2012
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 61 Times in 31 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by com501 View Post
    Out of curiosity, how old was the F/W you wer bumping from?

    I know what you're probably thinking...older F/W before 1.03.00 possibly causing the hiccup. However, the I.S. radios shipped with 1.08.32 at the very earliest, although I don't believe many shipped until later when they came with 1.09+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,728
    Thanks
    3,060
    Thanked 1,965 Times in 992 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    That's what I was thinking, because I got burned on a bunch of customer radios we had to send to the factory for no good reason.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 18, 2012
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    In flashzap mode radio will only work with Depot Tool, CPS won`t recognize it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,728
    Thanks
    3,060
    Thanked 1,965 Times in 992 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Sounds like you'll be sending an email to Jose in El Paso on Tuesday. Flat rate.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 19, 2012
    Location
    FLORIDA/QUEBEC
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 319 Times in 180 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by com501 View Post
    Sounds like you'll be sending an email to Jose in El Paso on Tuesday. Flat rate.
    Is Monday a holiday in Mexico too? LOL GARY

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,728
    Thanks
    3,060
    Thanked 1,965 Times in 992 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Probably not, but I bet you can't get through to MOL to get a tracking started on Monday.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 16 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    The original firmware was R01.05.03. I have also tried the MotoTRBO depot that's floating around and it can't see the portable either.

    Is there any way of getting CPS or Depot into the right mode to talk to the portable while it is in Flashzap mode?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 31, 2012
    Posts
    229
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 61 Times in 31 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Abmain View Post
    The original firmware was R01.05.03. I have also tried the MotoTRBO depot that's floating around and it can't see the portable either.

    Is there any way of getting CPS or Depot into the right mode to talk to the portable while it is in Flashzap mode?
    Ah, you have the older '1 watt' ATEX version of the radio. Like I said, it's nothing to do with configuring CPS or Depot...the radio is corrupted to the point where it doesn't even register as a USB network device with Windows, so there's nothing for the software to "see". I'm willing to bet the Toronto depot will simply replace the controller board.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 16 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Windows sees it, or at least sounds the USB device tone when I connect it in Flashzap mode.