Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: 5100 900mhz encryption

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location
    Raven Rock
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    224
    Thanked 69 Times in 39 Posts

    Default 5100 900mhz encryption

    Got some of the ebay radios and have the encryption options turned on. I have them set to PID and they will say passed on a DX keyloader however when i key up to each other it just a data sound. Do these radios have the encryption built in. I knew some of the 5100 took the astro saber encryption module.

    Thanks


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 08, 2012
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    I have been told that if the encryption module/capability is not installed, you won't ever be encrypted. It just so happens that their feature descriptor file can be modified to claim it has it built in. It may be sending off the data into a black hole.

    This may be what you're running into. I haven't tried personally.

  3. #3
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,534 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    I got quite a few of them and they all had the internal hardware that supported encryption present. Once the features were turned on, DES-XL, DES-OFB and AES-256 all seem to work fine. You do have to modify the keyloader cable a small bit to make it work right with the EFJ radios, there is another thread on this board that describes this in detail...

  4. #4
    n1oty No Longer Registered

    Default

    I've had no problems loading AES keys into every EFJ that I've hacked. I haven't tried DES keys though and I know the DX keyloader only does DES.

    John

  5. #5
    salonorg No Longer Registered

    Default

    it is because you are using a old keyloader the old keyloaders only work up to version 4.8.10 and prior .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location
    Raven Rock
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    224
    Thanked 69 Times in 39 Posts

    Default

    Ok. Made much progress on this. Was able to use a DX keyloader with the latest firmware. Apparently they will only do DES-OFB. Cant do DES-XL as the XL is moto specific. Tried straight DES on an analog freq and was a no go so it will do P25 DES-OFB encryption and possibly AES however I dont have a newer keyloader to confirm this.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 23, 2013
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    On the analog channel make sure it is a wideband channels as DES won't work narrowband.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 27, 2012
    Location
    Raven Rock
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    224
    Thanked 69 Times in 39 Posts

    Default

    I.S. youre good.. that was the problem. So for analog encryption have to use wideband.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 23, 2013
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    Yes. DES/DES-XL takes up too much bandwidth to work narrowband.

  10. #10
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,534 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Analog SecureNet was spec'ed at 4kHz total deviation bandwidth, so yes, narrowband channels can't support it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 42 Times in 15 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alpha View Post
    I got quite a few of them and they all had the internal hardware that supported encryption present. Once the features were turned on, DES-XL, DES-OFB and AES-256 all seem to work fine. You do have to modify the keyloader cable a small bit to make it work right with the EFJ radios, there is another thread on this board that describes this in detail...

    Once the Motorola cable is modified, does it still work on Motorola radios? Any side effects modifying the Moto cable to work with EFJ?

    Thanks

  12. #12
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,534 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by escortX50 View Post
    Once the Motorola cable is modified, does it still work on Motorola radios? Any side effects modifying the Moto cable to work with EFJ?

    Thanks
    I have two Hiroshima adapters on my keyring, one Motorola (unmodified) and one EFJ (modded). IIRC it still worked OK on the Motorola stuff, but I don't recall exactly so that may not be correct, it's been a while since I made up the modded one.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,961
    Thanks
    5,179
    Thanked 8,789 Times in 2,413 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by escortX50 View Post
    Once the Motorola cable is modified, does it still work on Motorola radios? Any side effects modifying the Moto cable to work with EFJ?

    Thanks
    Yes. There are no negative side-effects to modifying the Moto TDN9390D KVL cable to work with EFJ products.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 42 Times in 15 Posts

    Default

    Thanks Mars and Alpha for confirming no ill effects.