Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: XTL5000 that resets itself

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    Default XTL5000 that resets itself

    I've got a XTL5000 that when transmitting on an encrypted channel, it will periodically reset as if I have cycled the power to the radio. It is fine on channels without encryption. FW is R14.x and UCM is 5.07.15. Yes, I realize that a bump in the radio FW is in order and am working on that. Any ideas on what is going on?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts
    4,948
    Thanks
    5,136
    Thanked 8,712 Times in 2,394 Posts
    Country: Canada

    Default

    All versions of R14.xx.xx host firmware were paired with UCM firmware R05.07.10 -- older than your newer UCM.

    It's quite possible the UCM firmware is "too new" for your old(er) host firmware, and there's an incompatibility.

    I know for certain there was code modified in Host/DSP14, which was a fix for the City of Jacksonville ASTRO Spectra Plus'. They had been experiencing a "click" (sounded like a burst of open squelch) at the beginning and end of a secure transmission. The AS+ firmware is identical (byte-for-byte) as what's used in the XTL.

    There were 4 changes/enhancements/fixes to encrypted operation, in R14.00.00 firmware, paired with the R05.07.10 UCM release.

    It's quite possible there's a hardware incompatibility as a result of this fix, and your mismatched hardware/firmware combo. Your UCM firmware was first paired with the R16.00.00 ROS release.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Sounds like a bump may square it away - I will post an update when that is done.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Country: United States

    Default

    XTL5000-2500 UCM issue FSB10233B.pdf

    this may shed some light for you.

    there is also some issues with some of the carrier boards, what is the part number of the board you have?
    Last edited by Okie; May 31, 2013 at 04:37 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigfella237 View Post
    I've never really bothered 'playing' with ADP (it's like owning a Harley but still riding a tricycle)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Okie, not sure on the version of the carrier board, but the FSB describes this situation to a T. A firmware upgrade did not help. Will get an upgraded UCM in place and go from there. VERY helpful!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 23, 2012
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
    Country: Taiwan

    Default

    I have same probrem. Will auto power off. any one have same problem? and no TX audio(but have MDC signal)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts

    Default

    Does not sound like the same problem to me.