Thread: Garbled conversations or not hearing both sides of converstion

cgill No Longer Registered

Default Garbled conversations or not hearing both sides of converstion

We moved to Mototrbo from our analog motorola system due to narrow banding. Presently have 6 sites with a repeater (MTR3000) at each one. All of the repeaters communicate in our WAN but through various means, ie fiber, microwave etc. We are having a problem with garggled conversations, broken up conversations and some users not hearing both sides of the conversations. We are leaning to it be a QoS issue or packet loss/collision with the WAN. Are ideas or has anyone encountered this?

Thanks

As a new member your posts are moderated, do not make multiple threads or posts, just wait a while until one of us approves them, then they will show up.
    "Don't worry about what I am, cause I'm a state agent so what you need to do is make sure your doing the right thing **** boy" -J. Dewitte

Thanks
    Thanked 2,037 Times in 1,027 Posts

I am assuming you are using IP Site Connect to connect your repeaters together? Do you have the minimum bandwidth requirements per the System Planner for your application?

Are you using encryption? Are the repeaters programmed correctly for the encryption type? None, Basic, Enhanced? Are all the repeaters running the same firmware version, and is it very recent? How about the radios?

What about your network? What is your ping time between sites? Latency? Packet loss? Have you run flood ping tests against your routers to determine if there is a path issue? Are your routers/switches truly passing UDP packets the way they should on the ports provided? Is any of your system over a public provider? Are all your routers/switches compliant? Are you using any NAT or hairpinning?

Need some more answers.

Thanks

Way to little info on the set-up to suggest more than a shotgun blast of maybe's.