Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: XTS5000 Channel Knob

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 17, 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default XTS5000 Channel Knob

    I bought a XTS5000 UHF Model 3 radio. Nice and clean and everything works great except one thing. I have to use the soft keys to change the channel up and down. no matter what channel I am on, if I turn the channel knob on top the channel reverts back to channel 1. I thought this might be a safety feature in the programming for an immediate change to a specific channel in an emergency. I have combed over the software and can find nothing. I have also changed the front housing with a known working housing and still the same result. Is this a programming issue? Firmware issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated... Thanks!!!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    1,745
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 2,097 Times in 675 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    What does CPS show under Radio Configuration, Controls, Switches, Rotary Control? It should be Channel Select.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 17, 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    It is set for Channel Select.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts
    1,745
    Thanks
    158
    Thanked 2,097 Times in 675 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    So much for the easy answer. I can take a quick look at your codeplug if you want.

  5. #5
    Yaesu No Longer Registered

    Default

    Why not do a button/switch test?

    Turn radio off
    Turn radio on
    Press the bottom side RAT button 5 times
    Press the right arrow until you see "RF TEST"
    Press the purple button once, you see "CH TEST"
    Press the top orange button once.

    Congratulations, your now in button/switch test mode. Each press of any button or switch will beep and display a number on the screen for each button or switch position. If you press a button or switch and it doesn't respond with a beep and number on the screen, then the switch or button is bad.

    To exit button/test mode, turn radio off and back on.

    On a model 1 radio, all you have is the beep to verify button/switch is working.

    Good luck.

    P.S. I think this also works on Astro series radios like XTS3000, Astro Saber.

  6. #6
    Alpha's Avatar
    Alpha is offline T S - Moderator
    CS Forums $upporter
    Join Date
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location
    Directly above the center of the earth.
    Posts
    2,780
    Thanks
    1,239
    Thanked 1,533 Times in 739 Posts
    Country: Christmas Island

    Default

    It works all the way back to the Systems Saber, but the method to put that radio into self-test is a bit different, you hold down all three orange buttons and power on.

    Anyway, all the high-tier portable radios have had this feature, APX, XTS, XTS3000, Astro Saber, MTS2000, and Systems Saber.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,748
    Thanks
    3,164
    Thanked 2,003 Times in 1,010 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    In control head test mode, the XTS5000 channel select should show 4/0 through 4/15 for the channel selector.
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 17, 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have done the button/switch test and it shows 4/0 through 4/15. In the programming it is set to Channel Select. Any ideas???

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 19, 2013
    Location
    In Your Network
    Posts
    2,748
    Thanks
    3,164
    Thanked 2,003 Times in 1,010 Posts
    Country: Holy See

    Default

    Post your codeplug. There has got to be some kind of config error.
    "God as my witness" - Jeremy Dewitte - Felon

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location
    Avalon
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    355
    Thanked 367 Times in 176 Posts
    Country: United States

    Default

    I wonder if it has been convinced it is a xts4000. Please do post your codeplug.
    "Don't worry about what I am, cause I'm a state agent so what you need to do is make sure your doing the right thing **** boy" -J. Dewitte